On a positive note..

Mohanti and Kuruvilla kya jodi thi yaar. We have fair share of jokers over the years but these two were legends.
Yup along with the likes of Dodda Ganesh, David Johnson, T Kumaran etc. 90s were the low point for India where finding 11 decent players was a chore in itself. On top of that we had likes of Robin Singh and Mongia batting 6 and 7. Essentially our tail started when we lost 4 wkts and we didn't have any bowling either other than Srinath, Kumble and to lesser extent Prasad.
Yup along with the likes of Dodda Ganesh' date=' David Johnson, T Kumaran etc. 90s were the low point for India where finding 11 decent players was a chore in itself. On top of that we had likes of Robin Singh and Mongia batting 6 and 7. Essentially our tail started when we lost 4 wkts and we didn't have any bowling either other than Srinath, Kumble and to lesser extent Prasad.[/quote'] You tail use start with Sachin getting out in them days.
You tail use start with Sachin getting out in them days.
Sachin was a big factor in ODIs for us. Sachin played in 90s where Pakistan dominated ,still in the games he played we have 31 won 36 lost. Mainly because nobody was there to play quality pace and see off new ball in his absence.
My point exactly. 31-36 is not domination, it's edging it and that too against one of the weakest sides we had. It's just luck/coincidence Ind-Pak played a lot of games in late 80s & early 90s when our odi team was pretty poor. If we had as many matches say in the recent past the shoe would be on the other foot. Plus we always managed to come out on top in big games :yay:
Before Dravid & Ganguly came on the scene in late 90s it was indeed the case.
Not really. There was a period b/w 1994 and 1996 where that could be the case but to say that the entire period before late 90s wouldn't be fair to team India 1990-1993 Nothing exceptional from Ten. Azhar and Sidhu were in good form 1994-1996 Here he was amazing but again had some decent support 1997-1999 As you can see there is plenty of support
Allah does not take sides' date=' how dare you think one side's prayers will take precedence over other's ?[/quote'] now the brain dead expert brings religion in to a simple thread :hail:
:sad:
Don't be such a sore loser, you call yourself askhay :hysterical: your kicked ass got so swollen that you had to band-aid it with that ....
bechara, can't even keep track of threads. :sad:
bechara' date=' can't even keep track of threads. :sad:[/quote'] but you can keep the track of your loses .... :hysterical:
Revenge is something pakis have talked about since ages, probably after losing to India in WC in 92 for the 1st time... Since then they have waited for revenge in 96, 99, 2003, 2007 T20 Cup (twice) and in WC semi in 2011. Every time they have to shelve heir plans and now the wait continues till 2015 :giggle: I started watching cricket since 93 (Eng's tour to India) and since then I haven't seen India lose any big match. Pakis claim their team was great in 90s but we had the Toronto Sahara Cup in 90s and there were 15 Ind-Pak games and Pakis edged it 8-7 over 3 series/years. That's not what i would term domination or Pakis being so much better than India when clearly india were at their wakest in odis and Pakis at the top with Wasim, Waqar, Saqlain etc. in their teams. And even then we owned pakis in the big games. Seriously, i don't really know what Pak fans crow about coz if there's a must win game, say in a WC, I would back any Indian team to beat pakis who somehow can't handle pressure against Indians. If we bat 1st Pakis can't chaase even though we have a moderate total on board and if we bat 2nd I will back our batsmen to chase anything pakis have as our batsmen don't buckle under pressure and I expect aki bowlers to lose their head. This Asia Cup was the best chance for Pakis to beat India with our 2nd string bowling with Zak, Umesh etc. not around and if we have our first XI in with the bowlers and batsmen like Sehwag & Yuvi it would be an embarrassment for Pakis. That's the fact and it has been backed up by our record in the big games where all Pakis have to shout about is the Miandad 6 that happened 30 years back. Since then it has all been one way traffic in matches that count, highlights being the WC games, T20 Cup final and WC 2011 semi-final.
:hatsoff: to your post.. Really, in big games, India have always had upper hand and will always have

With or Without Tendulkar the Team India in most part of 90s was weak not only with respect to Pak but I would say most test playing sides. heck we struggled to even beat Zim,NZ and Eng (in their home ground) the worst teams of that era. I would say trend of beating good teams of that time (Aus,SA,Pak) started after 1998 and after 2003 India was more consistent performer.

Well as per stats we didn't struggle against Pakis as much which I highlighted in one of my earlier posts.
May be in stats but I watched too much cricket in 90s to make that statement and again not only in ODI but in test too India would have struggled to dominate Pakistan...they clearly had edge with a bowling attack better than India's.
I have been following cricket since 90s as well and as my earlier post shows we didn't do that badly against Pakis even though we were weak and pakis supposedly so much better.
UG tu Hamara record in Ind bhool gya hai yaar. What's our odi record in your own backyard yaar?
Only because Pak team was stronger than India's. When we became stronger you guys did Mumbai 2008 and Sri Lanka in Pakistan 2009 the yearly tours would still continue and we'd still keep defeating you. H2H would have been reversed by then (At least in tests and plenty close in ODIs). Even you know this.

In 90s when we were the better side we won 26 ODIs against Ind and lost 17. Now that's win ratio of 60%. Now in 2000s Ind were suppose to be the better side but we still edged them 22-18 in 2000s. Now thats a real surprise. Another thing that really surprised me was the fact that both team did better in oppositions home then at their home in 2000s. Is this down to pressure playing at home?