f.b.m Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 Ok having not posted for a while because I thought/think that the state of the forum is quite dire, here's my take on things. As I see it there are two problems which are affecting this forum. The most important problem is that many threads are merely personal slanging matches dressed up as 'debates'. With the level of maturity that's shown they might as well be on Yo Mamma rather than discussing Jack Hobbs' technique or Sachin. It wouldn't be much of a problem if these didn't go on for months or years on end while I'm sure, putting off curious onlookers who might have something valuable to add. I think that a touch of selfishness would be helpful here: How exactly do these 'discussions' bring you any enjoyment or even an understanding of the game? It seems to me that engaging in month long battles of one upmanship is a terrible way of spending ones time and needless to say, detracts from the enjoyment of watching the game. Also there's a ridiculous amount of inane babble floating around the forum. I think it comes with the territory of being a cricket forum. If you picture a joint family watching cricket, there'll always be the kids/teenagers who are always chirping about whether Farveez Maharoof looks like a cartoon character that they know or why every time they go to the toilet, a wicket falls. Maybe I'm being paternalistic here but I think its important that they enjoy the game more than whether they are discussing anything thats remotely worth reading. Having said that, I find the threads and posts on jinxing (and antijinxing, etc) to be extremely annoying. If there was an option of banning/deleting these, I would support that. For the obvious attention seeking trolls who always want to know what their favorite bowler would have done or why everything is a conspiracy involving Dhoni's friendships and business deals, I have found that the ignore button does wonders.
Serani Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 What do they know of trolling, who only trolling know? - CLR James
King Tendulkar Posted March 30, 2012 Posted March 30, 2012 Agree. Case in point Bossbhai. He should have been history long back for getting too personal and abusive. When such guys are allowed to roam free it sends wrong signals and everyone takes a cue out of it and the next thing you know it is a free for all melee. From the guy with the user name that all Sachin fans suck:hysterical::hysterical: Frigging unbeliavable this user name has been allowed to stay. No doubt resident mob members in the mods bullied other sane mods in to allowing it:giggle:
King Tendulkar Posted March 30, 2012 Posted March 30, 2012 The most important problem is that many threads are merely personal slinging matches dressed up as 'debates'. This
mishra Posted March 30, 2012 Posted March 30, 2012 This From my own experience on this site I think its unfair to a newcomers who comes with some honest opinions of his own but then gets blown in all this
Desi Cartman Posted March 30, 2012 Posted March 30, 2012 Arey yaar its a forum .. have funz .. why take it so seriously..
chainsmoker1985 Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 Have to say though, ICF is a great place to communicate with cricket crazy people, but in recent times, some of the most dumbest threads have come out, e.g.- 1. Bade acche lagte hain sex scene(actually that scene was not capable of giving horny feelings to even a school boy) 2. Lets predict the name of bacchan family's new member. I mean what the feck. Seriously WHAT THE FECK :WTF:
Needforspeed Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 I seriously think, its got a lot to do with the Indian Team's performance. People on the forum are so depressed and frustrated, that they have resorted to large-scale trolling as a defence mechanism. It is like a person facing depressiong, getting drunk and going crazy. Look at the large number of active threads on Chit chat section. I think people are contributing more there, compared to the cricket section. I dont think IPL is the solution...Maybe if the Indian team starts playing better cricket, we will come back to serious cricket discussion. Also, we have to cut down discussions on Tendulkar-both negative and positive.
chainsmoker1985 Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 I seriously think' date=' its got a lot to do with the Indian Team's performance. [b']People on the forum are so depressed and frustrated, that they have resorted to large-scale trolling as a defence mechanism. It is like a person facing depressiong, getting drunk and going crazy. Look at the large number of active threads on Chit chat section. I think people are contributing more there, compared to the cricket section. I dont think IPL is the solution...Maybe if the Indian team starts playing better cricket, we will come back to serious cricket discussion. Also, we have to cut down discussions on Tendulkar-both negative and positive. :hysterical: U have hit the Nail on the head bro :two_thumbs_up:
Old guy Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 I seriously think, its got a lot to do with the Indian Team's performance. People on the forum are so depressed and frustrated, that they have resorted to large-scale trolling as a defence mechanism. It is like a person facing depressiong, getting drunk and going crazy. Look at the large number of active threads on Chit chat section. I think people are contributing more there, compared to the cricket section. I dont think IPL is the solution...Maybe if the Indian team starts playing better cricket, we will come back to serious cricket discussion. Also, we have to cut down discussions on Tendulkar-both negative and positive. again totally agree,. i used to post like u before...talking abt matches with hope of winning thinking team compositions..now :wall: idk wht to discuss..bowlers think they are unlucky...whole team thinks losing is normal selection committee thinks itsj ust bad form and players like vk will prevail people are so tired of vk that they made a legend joke out of him :cantstop: anyway i think many peopl come here for fun.. cmon u cant be serious abt sport.. its for fun
Old guy Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 will add to my last post..unless its personal attack against some body i dont think any one should have problem with any one's post thats wht i like abt this site.. mods understand wht this site is all about.. and some fun banter is allowed ( sorry for too much trolling some times but cant control it when ur team is so shyte :(( )
J P K Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 1. Bade acche lagte hain sex scene(actually that scene was not capable of giving horny feelings to even a school boy) 2. Lets predict the name of bacchan family's new member. I mean what the feck. Seriously WHAT THE FECK :WTF: :hysterical::hysterical: I seriously think' date= its got a lot to do with the Indian Team's performance. People on the forum are so depressed and frustrated, that they have resorted to large-scale trolling as a defence mechanism. It is like a person facing depressiong, getting drunk and going crazy. Look at the large number of active threads on Chit chat section. I think people are contributing more there, compared to the cricket section. I dont think IPL is the solution...Maybe if the Indian team starts playing better cricket, we will come back to serious cricket discussion. Also, we have to cut down discussions on Tendulkar-both negative and positive. u r spot on :sniffle:
Old guy Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 Have to say though, ICF is a great place to communicate with cricket crazy people, but in recent times, some of the most dumbest threads have come out, e.g.- 1. Bade acche lagte hain sex scene(actually that scene was not capable of giving horny feelings to even a school boy) 2. Lets predict the name of bacchan family's new member. I mean what the feck. Seriously WHAT THE FECK :WTF: oh there are many others! but thats the whole point of chit chat..:winky: just have fun and dont take naything seriously
J P K Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 india performance has been quite bad but many foreign trolls have disappeared because when they see vinay shreesanth called as legend they come to know that we cannot argue with indian fans anymore :cantstop: so trolling at this time is good
Old guy Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 india performance has been quite bad but many foreign trolls have disappeared because when they see vinay shreesanth called as legend they come to know that we cannot argue with indian fans anymore :cantstop: so trolling at this time is good bro they are scared of u :giggle:
anotherhawkeye Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 Have to say though, ICF is a great place to communicate with cricket crazy people, but in recent times, some of the most dumbest threads have come out, e.g.- 1. Bade acche lagte hain sex scene(actually that scene was not capable of giving horny feelings to even a school boy) 2. Lets predict the name of bacchan family's new member. I mean what the feck. Seriously WHAT THE FECK :WTF: You want to have serious cricket discussion in the chit chat section? :hysterical:
chainsmoker1985 Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 You want to have serious cricket discussion in the chit chat section? :hysterical: Wah wah! Ek aur dumbo jamura :facepalm:
Prakat Posted March 31, 2012 Posted March 31, 2012 @cs the bade achche lagte hain thread was about poking fun at what passes for sex in indian soaps. too bad you came to it expecting to find aasra. :facepalm: