Horrible Post World Cup season ends finally!!!!!!

Sid

Reminiscent of 83 WC post season ...we lost to WI 3-0 in Test series and 5-0 in ODI ( though just one series )and Kapil was sacked within 6 months of winning world cup but heck who remembers that...we all used to go back to that Golden World cup summer before start of any world cup tournament !!!

But we gotta look at better teams and not compete with Pakis. Even their WC was courtesy rain where they got a point after being bowled out for 74!!! Anyways Fletcher has got to go. I can't think of anything he brings to the table other than fried chicken, shahi paneer and samosas at the team meetings.
You had to take a dig. You remembered that one point from the Eng game but forgot SA game where rain meant a target of 212 in 50 was turned into 194 in 36 overs. At one stage we were 130/2 after 30 and had it not for that stupid rule we would have coasted to a win. After the WC win we were rubbish in ODIs but won the test series in Eng in 92 and one off test in NZ.
Abhi bhi kuch baki hai humiliation ke liye :dontknow: Now all we will do the next couple of years is play at home. Is BCCI waiting for us to lose to kiwis at home to ring in the change :omg:
I guess that is when the BCCI Babus will finally wake up :(

Sacking someone who doesn't even enter the cricket field will not solve anything. The problems are far too deep rooted: 1. The openers have proved useless in away conditions. There is still hope with Gambhir as he is younger and showed the fighting ability in a few knocks, but Sehwag has to be replaced at the top of the order. Bring in Mukund at the top of the order to partner Gambhir. 2. With Dravid gone, Rohit Sharma is next in line and given Tendulkar will not be retiring or be dropped despite his useless role in the side in the long run, he should move up the order to number 3. Batting at number 3 in India is not going to be a challenge and will give the newcomers time to settle in lower down the order. 3. Sehwag should bat at number 4 - yeah he can still be effective as an opener in the subcontinent, but we know he is useless away from home now. Hopefully, by the time of the next away tour he can be accustomed to his new role in the middle order after playing in familiar conditions. 4. Kohli and Rohit Sharma should bat at 5 and 6 - Laxman should be dropped if does not retire. Unlike Tendulkar, the selectors might show some common sense here and drop him. 5. Keep Rahane and Pujara as the back up batsmen - Rahane can open if needed. 6. Dhoni's on field captaincy and stupid team selections should be scrutinized more, but with Gambhir and Sehwag hardly filling themselves up with any glory, he should get another year as captain, though I feel he is past his best as captain. If he still can't make an impact with the bat or as a captain, at least replace him with a better wicket keeper like Saha. 7. Play Ashwin and Ojha for a continuous season at home - it will give a clear picture of who is the better spinner when we play just one away from the subcontinent. Harbhajan might come into the reckoning if he does something worthwhile in First Class cricket - don't base selection of spinners on IPL. Spin bowling in T20 is a completely different sport from spin bowling in First Class cricket. Have Rahul Sharma play the entire domestic season instead of keeping him on the bench. 8. Zaheer will play as and when he can remain fit. Yadav should play all tests - the more he bowls the more he will learn and improve. Ishant should be dropped till he can pick up wickets in First Class cricket. Praveen Kumar should be in the side - he offers amazing control even when the ball is not doing much and would not let the opposition run away with the game. Aaron should be in the mix. Nothing is going to come out of changing Fletcher - the team is carrying too many under performing players for the coach to make any difference to a scoreline similar to 0-8 we are currently looking at next time we tour to Australia, South Africa, or England.

Mukund is sitting duck international level,He hangs on the backfoot as if life depends on it ,still cant play the short ball.Rahane is the one who should be tried and praveen kumar Only offers amazing Pies,he should not be even in the u.p side,let alone odis,he is the worst odi bowler in the bowler and in indian conditions he avergaes 67 and regarding tests he will get hammered to death on indian tracks bwoling at 120k.just ket him play gully cricket.

^Even Virat Kohli used to struggle against shot ball but ever since the Australian tour he's mastered it. If players don't get exposure they wont get better. Mukund has to be our first choice opener after Sehwag moves down. Rahane isn't even an opener, he is a middle order bat even for Mumbai.

With the bowling lineup we have a batting lineup consisting of Bradman' date=' Richards, Tendulkar, Ponting, Lara at the top of their game wouldn't be able to win much.[/quote'] Afghani's will be dreaming to butcher these gentle fast bowlers in T20 WC.
Fletcher has to go, he probably is not good enough to inspire our team. Probably its hard after WC win, but he has to go. To me it seems entire think tank has to go. Dhoni has to go as captain from Tests atleast. Make Gambhir Test Captain for now...
8. Zaheer will play as and when he can remain fit. Yadav should play all tests - the more he bowls the more he will learn and improve. Ishant should be dropped till he can pick up wickets in First Class cricket. Praveen Kumar should be in the side - he offers amazing control even when the ball is not doing much and would not let the opposition run away with the game. Aaron should be in the mix. Nothing is going to come out of changing Fletcher - the team is carrying too many under performing players for the coach to make any difference to a scoreline similar to 0-8 we are currently looking at next time we tour to Australia, South Africa, or England.
Praveen has lost that control if you have seen him recently and it is not like he bowled maidens after maidens. He too goes for runs when bowl does not do much. He is effective only when bowl moves around, but otherwise he is the worst. He bowls wide balls for 4s on both sides of the wicket at 125K. I have not seen as inaccurate bowler as PK bowling at 125K in recent times. Yadav at 145K hardly bowls any wides.

Mukund was harshly dealt with. He had the most successful outing during the English tour than the two other openers. Pujara should have been ushered straight into team after coming back from injury for the Australia tour. The point remains, Laxman and Dravid should have retired before the West Indies tour. And Yadav and Aaron should have been drafted before the West Indies tour. There was no sense of forward planning from anyone, not sure how Flectcher justifies his 2million dollar salary. BCCI took the easy route and the fans have paid dearly for it. BCCI saw two big away tours, so appointed Fletcher based on his insight into the Egland set-up and his one off success vs Aussies an eternity ago :facepalm:

Fletcher has to go' date=' he probably is not good enough to inspire our team. Probably its hard after WC win, but he has to go. To me it seems entire think tank has to go. Dhoni has to go as captain from Tests atleast. Make Gambhir Test Captain for now...[/quote'] Well just plunge for for it, do a Graeme Smith, and appoint Kohli captain for all three formats. It's not like he hasn't got credentials, he has been captain at the U19 and Emerging Players' Team, both in limited overs and the longer format.
Very well put :hatsoff: but I will disagree on the captaincy part,I think Dhoni should be stripped of captaincy in all formats now only .And Fletcher needs to be kicked out at the earliest.Neither has he brought anything to the table as far as cricketing matters are concerned,rather in his tenure we got see many rifts developing and so called team infighting.He has failed as a coach on every account. Same goes for Dhoni ,I dont think his tactics and ideology is working any more ,especially the rigidness in team selection is gettiing irritating now.I hope he follows Dravid's footsteps and resigns from the captaincy on his own,he will still leave the job as our finest captain but his time is over.
Praveen has lost that control if you have seen him recently and it is not like he bowled maidens after maidens. He too goes for runs when bowl does not do much. He is effective only when bowl moves around' date=' but otherwise he is the worst. He bowls wide balls for 4s on both sides of the wicket at 125K. I have not seen as inaccurate bowler as PK bowling at 125K in recent times. Yadav at 145K hardly bowls any wides.[/quote'] To be honest, I am hardly able to watch any matches live over the past several months, so I would have no option but to agree with you if you have seen him in action and say he has lost it. But from the WI and England series (talking strictly about tests here, so was my post about - can't be arseed to write such a long post on ODIs or T20) he showed very good control even when the ball was old and not swinging. He can't be the strike bowler the team needs, but is the perfect fit for the third bowling option, IMO.

PK has lost his swing and accuracy, two assets which made him successful at the international level. Looks like he rushed his comeback from the rib injury. There's no way he's good enough to play international cricket right now. A county stint would be a godsend for him if he willing to put in some hard yards to get his international career back on track.

To be honest' date=' I am hardly able to watch any matches live over the past several months, so I would have no option but to agree with you if you have seen him in action and say he has lost it. But from the WI and England series (talking strictly about tests here, so was my post about - can't be arseed to write such a long post on ODIs or T20) he showed very good control even when the ball was old and not swinging. He can't be the strike bowler the team needs, but is the perfect fit for the third bowling option, IMO.[/quote'] Yes, since then he has regressed depressingly, he hasn't come to anything close to those two tours. That's why so many posters are in disbelief and calling for him to chucked out. That control of swing and wobbly line has just disappeared since his come back from injury.
To be honest' date=' I am hardly able to watch any matches live over the past several months, so I would have no option but to agree with you if you have seen him in action and say he has lost it. But from the WI and England series (talking strictly about tests here, so was my post about - can't be arseed to write such a long post on ODIs or T20) he showed very good control even when the ball was old and not swinging. He can't be the strike bowler the team needs, but is the perfect fit for the third bowling option, IMO.[/quote'] He has not played tests since England, so we may give him test to see how he does, but he has been the most clueless bowler among Vinay, Pathan, Yadav, Dinda, etc. in ODIs. I doubt he would have much impact in test as well, because even in WI and Engalnd, whenever he did not get swing, he looked ordinary and went for runs. Take an example of WI, he bowled well in first test at Sabina park, got movement, but there was not much movement at Barbados and St. Lucia and he was ineffective, especially in St. Lucia. It was Ishant who stood out in WI, but he has been bowling hot and cold too.
He has not played tests since England, so we may give him test to see how he does, but he has been the most clueless bowler among Vinay, Pathan, Yadav, Dinda, etc. in ODIs. I doubt he would have much impact in test as well, because even in WI and Engalnd, whenever he did not get swing, he looked ordinary and went for runs. Take an example of WI, he bowled well in first test at Sabina park, got movement, but there was not much movement at Barbados and St. Lucia and he was ineffective, especially in St. Lucia. It was Ishant who stood out in WI, but he has been bowling hot and cold too.
I won't argue with the rest of the post because I have not watched him bowl recently, but in England we played some matches on absolute pattas - don't let the miserable performance of our batsmen make you think those were typical English wickets and he never got hit by any batsman across an entire series. Surely, he deserves a run after that kind of performance where pace demons Ishant and Sreesanth were taking a hiding every spell.