GautiMaan Posted April 18, 2012 Author Posted April 18, 2012 ^ Im only 22,having to deal with all this because father is abroad.And of course our babus have special rates for NRI's
akshayxyz Posted April 18, 2012 Posted April 18, 2012 ^ Im only 22,having to deal with all this because father is abroad.And of course our babus have special rates for NRI's If you plan to stay long, you really need to 'become' a localite asap. Or at least accompany some trustworthy localite(s) on such dealings with babus.
GautiMaan Posted April 18, 2012 Author Posted April 18, 2012 ^ Yep,learning new things abt the indian way of life daily.One positive i think is that if u learn to live in india,u can survive anywhere in the world:D
akshayxyz Posted April 18, 2012 Posted April 18, 2012 ^ not necessarily. Every land has its local laws, which one takes time to learn - for the best experience.
GautiMaan Posted April 18, 2012 Author Posted April 18, 2012 Of course,i was talking abt things in general.
maniac Posted April 18, 2012 Posted April 18, 2012 What is wrong with the country????Most of its people.... 1)If you drive with your lisence,vehicle papers,Pollution check,follow traffic rules....90% chance No cop will ever stop you or try to ask money from you. 2)If you are willing to brave it out and stand in the line all sweaty in the heat in a passport or RTO office and have all the paperwork ready ,beleive me the process is as simple as it gets and you wouldn't have to bribe anyone. 3)How many of us were desperate enough or lazy enough not to book tickets in advance and buy them in black....can't we just wait a few days or even better can't we try to book things in advance??? There are 100's of examples were not the babus but the people who are breeding corruption
akshayxyz Posted April 18, 2012 Posted April 18, 2012 What is wrong with the country????Most of its people.... 1)If you drive with your lisence,vehicle papers,Pollution check,follow traffic rules....90% chance No cop will ever stop you or try to ask money from you. 2)If you are willing to brave it out and stand in the line all sweaty in the heat in a passport or RTO office and have all the paperwork ready ,beleive me the process is as simple as it gets and you wouldn't have to bribe anyone. 3)How many of us were desperate enough or lazy enough not to book tickets in advance and buy them in black....can't we just wait a few days or even better can't we try to book things in advance??? There are 100's of examples were not the babus but the people who are breeding corruption The examples you have listed are of small-time crooks/babus/middlemen only. Passport, pan card, small time RTO work etc. have become trivial these days (still not for all). Also, when you are paying someone (non-govt official)) to get your RTO/Passport work done - it is not exactly bribe (though they might be sharing cut with babus). Besides, some people are simply not educated enough(its not about just being literate) or do not have right 'advisers'/support-system - they have no option but to go through middle-men. And when it comes to organized mafia working with support of govt officials - the official (non-bribe) way is not an (practical) option or just a bit too painful for common man. e.g. I have yet to hear of any friend who got their house registration kind of activities done w/o paying convenience fee. There are examples of every kind, you have to live in the system, experience and then do root cause analysis and suggest remedies. Edit. and some states are tougher than others (e.g. UP, Bihar, Haryana...)
GautiMaan Posted April 19, 2012 Author Posted April 19, 2012 Move to Pakistan. Sarcasm :fail: ps:plz don't insult our country by comparing it to a failed state
yoda Posted April 19, 2012 Posted April 19, 2012 Sarcasm :fail: ps:plz don't insult our country by comparing it to a failed state I think he was responding to our dear troll, nballa.
jairamesh Posted April 19, 2012 Posted April 19, 2012 If just getting a flat up and running is such a nightmare, bloody hell, must be an absolute hell for foreign/NRI investors wanting to set-up companies in India.
CG Posted April 19, 2012 Posted April 19, 2012 Consider this,we recently purchased a flat in TN and were all set to move in but the entire apartment was yet to receive sanction from the electricity board.When i queried the builder he told me it was because some babus at the muncipal office were demanding a bribe of Rs20000 per connection :omg: and he didnt have enough money with him. I asked him why he didnt report this to some authority and he said it was because he bribed these same guys for evading some norms/taxes etc.He now wants the residents to pay extra to get the connections. Ever since i returned to India,i've had run-ins with officials,cops and traffic constables who all wanted bribes and the sad part is everyone other than me is willing to give them what they want.The sad truth is i cant wait to get out of this country.I dont understand how the rest of you are managing Its very good you did not pay ,Regarding traffic and police its lazy attitude of some people which increases corruption.for ex -3 years back it became mandatory to wear helmets while riding two wheelers but not many followed it and got caught and payed a some money to the constable instead of fines.The change should happen within.
nballa Posted April 20, 2012 Posted April 20, 2012 ps:plz don't insult our country by comparing it to a failed state agreed man tamil nadu is a failed state, i mean you couldn't get an electric connection to your house in a major metropolis in india? damn.
Desi Cartman Posted April 21, 2012 Posted April 21, 2012 What is wrong with the country????Most of its people.... 1)If you drive with your lisence,vehicle papers,Pollution check,follow traffic rules....90% chance No cop will ever stop you or try to ask money from you. 2)If you are willing to brave it out and stand in the line all sweaty in the heat in a passport or RTO office and have all the paperwork ready ,beleive me the process is as simple as it gets and you wouldn't have to bribe anyone. 3)How many of us were desperate enough or lazy enough not to book tickets in advance and buy them in black....can't we just wait a few days or even better can't we try to book things in advance??? There are 100's of examples were not the babus but the people who are breeding corruption I know what you mean but it's governments job to make sure that the lines are not in Kms, there is at least a roof for people who are waiting in queue. The traffic policeman can stop you for anything. I was 19 yrs old and was on my scooter when a policewoman stopped me and threw away my license as it was not from Delhi. Her exact words were "iska main dahi jamaun". Maybe I shouldn't have bribed her and stayed there for 3 hrs or let her take my scooter and walk home but I was a scared 19 yr old boy who just wanted to go and play cricket with his friends.
achilles Posted April 21, 2012 Posted April 21, 2012 I've actually got an unbelievable incident to share going forward with what Daisy said. A new signal has come up around my area and during the red, the left is open until the last 30secs of the countdown. So as soon as the countdown hit 30, I stopped. The cops generally ask people to take the left either way to avoid crowding but being a good samaritan, I stopped, EVEN BEFORE THE ZEBRA CROSSING. To my surprise, I saw the cop waving to me to take the left. I didn't move but he kept waving frantically. As soon as I took it, he stopped and asked me, "Why did you jump the signal?" I was like, "wtf! You asked me to take the left". He said, "1000Rs. You jumped the light, crossed the Zebra crossing". I was stunned. While I was arguing with him there, 2 cars and 2 bikes literally jumped the signal. I was like, "moron, go catch them". And he's like, "Main kya sab logon ko pakadne ke liye baitha hu kya?" This is the level of haramkhori in our country. Ask someone to take a turn and then fine him for it. The most unfortunate thing was I was with my sister and the arsehole of a cop was eyeing her. That day, I sweared to myself that I'm going to leave this shithole of a country and move to a place where they atleast have basic respect for laws and don't treat women as objects. My respect for the police ceased from that day.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 21, 2012 Posted April 21, 2012 No one in that country gives a sh1t...chalta hai attitude prevails. No one wants to deal with corruption...just let it be...O riots happening? let it be...someone beating some woman..let it be...someone just stole someone's wallet? let it be...eve teasing happening? let it be How else do you explain people throwing garbage on the street, in the park, on the beach, in the river without an ounce of care, however they're very careful to clean and keep the inside of their house neat & clean. No one gives a damn as long it's public property. Everyone just looking for momentary solution hence willing to bribe these people. Spot on. People just don't give a sh!t and on top of that they have a ready excuse for anything and everything thats bad with the country - "sarkar kuch kaam nahi karti hai". Even if they themselves throw garbage on the road, they will still blame the Govt if the roads are unclean. Sure, the Govt should be blamed but its not as if the people don't contribute towards the increase in corruption.
CSK Fanatic Posted April 21, 2012 Posted April 21, 2012 Biggest contributing factor to corruption today is minority appeasement, my father is govt. employee. He is a honest guy, whenever he tries to curb this menace they (Dalits n such) warn him of grave results like police case alleging my father called them by degrading nicknames. Yes it happens openly, govt is suddenly reqruiting huge manforce just on basis of their caste etc not on eligibility. I dont oppose Dalit PM or anything, but it should be justified not forced on us. Take eg. of our President Prabhita Patil, on what merits she was elected for job? Worthless person got alloted 8 Acres of expensive land in Maharashtra, spent huge sum of tax payers money on foreign trips with her family. She will go down in history as most dumb stupid President in history of India. I switch off TV whenever she comes on. People will change, we same Indians follow rules in foreign countries, we have shown to be much more responsible than other migrant races in abroad countries. Indians are flourishing in Canada. Key is govt willpower.....