Consider this,we recently purchased a flat in TN and were all set to move in but the entire apartment was yet to receive sanction from the electricity board.When i queried the builder he told me it was because some babus at the muncipal office were demanding a bribe of Rs20000 per connection :omg: and he didnt have enough money with him. I asked him why he didnt report this to some authority and he said it was because he bribed these same guys for evading some norms/taxes etc.He now wants the residents to pay extra to get the connections. Ever since i returned to India,i've had run-ins with officials,cops and traffic constables who all wanted bribes and the sad part is everyone other than me is willing to give them what they want.The sad truth is i cant wait to get out of this country.I dont understand how the rest of you are managing

I am going to break the :(( chain. Anyway, about the last part, the question, I will answer "aadat si padh gayi hai." NOT that I have EVER bribed anybody. :proud:
You will have to in the future and then u will remember me:((

No one in that country gives a sh1t...chalta hai attitude prevails. No one wants to deal with corruption...just let it be...O riots happening? let it be...someone beating some woman..let it be...someone just stole someone's wallet? let it be...eve teasing happening? let it be How else do you explain people throwing garbage on the street, in the park, on the beach, in the river without an ounce of care, however they're very careful to clean and keep the inside of their house neat & clean. No one gives a damn as long it's public property. Everyone just looking for momentary solution hence willing to bribe these people.

There are ways to address this if you are serious about taking this particular problem.
How do you address it when the whole system is corrupt. Everyone from clerk to management is corrupt & greedy and this is not just the case of someone with meager salary trying to earn on the side to keep the food on the table for their families.. How else do you explain our ministers looting 70 lakh crores till date? WE talk about British looting over a period of time...our politicians have managed to pull out a heist on a grand scale at 1/3 of the time... a nation of billion people and everyone is deaf, dumb & blind or at least pretend to be.
There are ways to address this if you are serious about taking this particular problem.
Bro im helpless in this paricular situation because the builder will not validate my claim as he will be found out.My own parents(on whose name the property is registered)will not support me as they fear for their investment. The problem is corruption is not limited to one or two such instances,and how can i keep going to courts?
No one in that country gives a sh1t...chalta hai attitude prevails. No one wants to deal with corruption...just let it be...O riots happening? let it be...someone beating some woman..let it be...someone just stole someone's wallet? let it be...eve teasing happening? let it be How else do you explain people throwing garbage on the street, in the park, on the beach, in the river without an ounce of care, however they're very careful to clean and keep the inside of their house neat & clean. No one gives a damn as long it's public property. Everyone just looking for momentary solution hence willing to bribe these people.
Every single word you have written is the truth.
And they laugh at the few of us who get angry at these things
No one in that country gives a sh1t...chalta hai attitude prevails. No one wants to deal with corruption...just let it be...O riots happening? let it be...someone beating some woman..let it be...someone just stole someone's wallet? let it be...eve teasing happening? let it be How else do you explain people throwing garbage on the street, in the park, on the beach, in the river without an ounce of care, however they're very careful to clean and keep the inside of their house neat & clean. No one gives a damn as long it's public property. Everyone just looking for momentary solution hence willing to bribe these people. How do you address it when the whole system is corrupt. Everyone from clerk to management is corrupt & greedy and this is not just the case of someone with meager salary trying to earn on the side to keep the food on the table for their families.. How else do you explain our ministers looting 70 lakh crores till date? WE talk about British looting over a period of time...our politicians have managed to pull out a heist on a grand scale at 1/3 of the time... a nation of billion people and everyone is deaf, dumb & blind or at least pretend to be.
You start from within. To see the change, be the change. Stop ogling at women in IPL, or in real life like they're some kind of sex objects and find something else to do something productive. Your rant in this thread is useless especially when you're living in phoreign land.

well right now you are in tricky situation because of the builder and you have no choice but to pay him the money else it can become long legal battle for you. What are you saying is terrible and truth of our country. Country were 80% believe in "Karma" and still do unethical thing day in and day out, guess what these are same ppl who want their Kids to read "Ramayan", Mahabharata, etc. and understand that Good always wins against Bad. Biggest Irony of your country. Unfortunately it will take time for us to change. The babudom (started by Great Jawaharlal Nehru) has been intrinsic part of our system. I know a Public Servant (used to work in Collector's Office), very honest guy, became mentally unstable, as his corrupt colleagues and bosses kept torturing him mentally. Ofcourse you can fight this, but unfortunately you need to work on this full time. You need to use your RTI in this case. I think if you want to fight, use RTI and ask them why they can't give your connection. These Babus are scared of RTI..

Dude, if you are complaining for paying bribe to getting the connection (and rightly so), what will you do when they do regular power cuts? When I visited Chennai in Dec-Jan, it was an hour a day, I hear it is now about 4-5 hours/day. That would be unlivable IMO, but people put up with even that.

well right now you are in tricky situation because of the builder and you have no choice but to pay him the money else it can become long legal battle for you. What are you saying is terrible and truth of our country. Country were 80% believe in "Karma" and still do unethical thing day in and day out, guess what these are same ppl who want their Kids to read "Ramayan", Mahabharata, etc. and understand that Good always wins against Bad. Biggest Irony of your country. Unfortunately it will take time for us to change. The babudom (started by Great Jawaharlal Nehru) has been intrinsic part of our system. I know a Public Servant (used to work in Collector's Office), very honest guy, became mentally unstable, as his corrupt colleagues and bosses kept torturing him mentally. Sad and terrible state when even an honest man is prevented from doing his job dutifully. Ofcourse you can fight this, but unfortunately you need to work on this full time. You need to use your RTI in this case. I think if you want to fight, use RTI and ask them why they can't give your connection. These Babus are scared of RTI..
Sad and terrible state when even an honest man is prevented from doing his job dutifully. I will try and see if i can find atleast one guy with backbone among the residents to combat this with RTI.
Dude, if you are complaining for paying bribe to getting the connection (and rightly so), what will you do when they do regular power cuts? When I visited Chennai in Dec-Jan, it was an hour a day, I hear it is now about 4-5 hours/day. That would be unlivable IMO, but people put up with even that.
Chennai has 2hrs official power cuts now.In towns and smaller cities its 4-5hrs and villages its 8 hrs.I dont think i need to tell u abt the heat here,feel sad for the poor.The Koodankulam plant could solve some of the problem but politics as always is holding sway

If anyone wants to stop this vicious cycle -- start doing their bit. First step, cut the middlemen who are roots of corruption in your daily life. How? Apply your passport, book railway tickets, apply for PAN card, apply for driving license ... in person viz. individually. There are host of other things which you can do without paying a bribe. I understand it's difficult but the least we can do is not make it easy for the corrupt officials. :isalute: PS - Before the fingers turn to me YES I have done all of the above without paying a single rupee as bribe and one can do it. I have also pulled up a consumer court case for a shop keeper asking to pay Re.1/- extra for a cold juice than the MRP and yes, I got a decent compensation. Be Indian, be smart.

Admirable But still there are situations where the babus just wont budge,we've been feeding them for past 60+ yrs. People like you are the only hope for this country