yoda Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 There is no law being broken here and Kapil and other cricketers werent under contract when the payments were made. Secondly, BCCI is not bound by law to distribute these amounts. That they are doing so is entirely on their own volition. It was a one-off goodwill gesture that the BCCI chose to distribute only to those cricketers who were in their good books. This is just like benefit matches, some cricketers got it, many didnt. Yet the ones who didnt dont have any legal ground to challenge the choice of cricketers. If a contracted cricketer is not paid the bonus that others got, then he is entitled to sue the employer (BCCI), but the employment of the cricketers got over long ago. One can appeal to the moral sense of BCCI that it owes these payments to Kapil and others as well, but its not a case that will stand in a court of law You are missing the point. The list of people here is not randomly selected. They have laid down the criteria - > 100 tests, etc. It is unlike the benefits where the criteria is arbitrary and no deliberate attempt to discriminate.
The Outsider Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 ganeshran, if the BCCI decided and announced that it would hold benefit matches for cricketers meeting X criteria and held benefit matches for all but one cricketer meeting that criteria and also for cricketers below that criteria it would be a legitimate case for a law suit.
ganeshran Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 You are missing the point. The list of people here is not randomly selected. They have laid down the criteria - > 100 tests' date=' etc. It is unlike the benefits where the criteria is arbitrary and no deliberate attempt to discriminate.[/quote'] The point that you are missing here is that cricketers are no longer under the employment of the BCCI and these payments are not owed to them, hence its completely the prerogative of BCCI whom they chose to pay and whom they dont. The criteria being laid down is irrelevant when the payment itself is arbitrary. Kapil can sue on his pension being denied to him, which he is entitled to by contract but not this payment. From BCCI's point of view it looks this way - An employee went to work for an competitor company and hence they want to deny any benefits they are rewarding to employees who stuck with them. From a fan's point of view, this is wrong because the payments are made for the cricketer's contribution to cricket and hence Kapil is equally entitled to the money as the other cricketers are. I saw this article a few days ago where the videogame publisher Blizzard was not giving out beta keys for new games to game sites which were critical of them. Morally and ethically, its wrong to do that, but can a gaming site sue them for not handing out beta keys? No, because its their prerogative to whom the keys go and to whom they dont.
Lurker Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 ohh yeah ... http://www.hindu.com/2005/05/10/stories/2005051010280400.htm thats the Delhi High Court ordering him to live by the law and not indulge in petty activities like using residential property for commercial purposes ... :cantstop: Yes, because he would be the first affluent person who has done that. I suppose you also think Doctors and Lawyers who make lakhs and crores working out of their home, without commercial licenses, as poor. :giggle: You need a bit of reality check dude, grow up Kapil-is-the-greatest-player turned I-hate-Kapil :facepalm: Aage aapki marzi, aaj Shukrwaar hai, tumhare uppar Sanichar aaj se hi lag gaya it seems
GautiMaan Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 @ganesh Of course if the BCCI is considered to be the absolute owner of the game by the court,then what u said will happen. On another note:finger: to blizzard for not making a single player version of diablo its impossible to have a fail proof 24*7 net connection here unless ur Ambani's son
kabira Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 If Kapil went the legal route, and I doubt he ever will, it would not be because of money. He had made millions in his own cricketing times and does not really need the money. In fact I am reminded of a comment I once read from Ian Botham that perhaps the reason why Kapil was so fearless and cavalier was because he did not really had to worry much about money. I may have misread it a bit but I suppose that was kind of a dig on why Kapil often flummoxed his supporters with half-hearted attempts, specially in county circuit where he didnt exactly set the world on fire. Back to issue at hand though. He doesnt need it for money, and clealy BCCI has a certain agenda here namely to buy goodwill. Kapil's act would be more about principles. And how does one contest that? But of course in India everybody can knock a great, Jagdale, Srinivasan and Rajeev Shukla have all reasons to feel bigger than Kapil. :winky::winky: Exactly, he should have take legal route not for money but for morality. He is greatest indian cricketer ever...and if all other cricketers are there, why not him. I am also shocked that no other cricketer has raised this issue except Kirti Azad. Guess they need money more than anything else.
The Outsider Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 ^ Why should Kapil care about morality from certified scumbags?
NareshK Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 Kapil Dev was a part of organizing a league like ICL which BCCI considers acting against their interests. There's no way that BCCI would share any revenue of IPL with Kapil or any critic of the league like Kirti Azad. It is a political issue.
The Outsider Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 ^why not?? Errr.....because they are scumbags? :dontknow:
The Outsider Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 Lot of ppl are scumbags so just leave them?? At least not go out of your way to make sure they recognize your performance? Kapil is way way above the BCCI - in fact one of the biggest reasons that BCCI is such a big thing.
Roshanrocks Posted May 25, 2012 Posted May 25, 2012 Kapil Dev is way above the BCCI, has enough money, and is recognized the world over as one of the greatest all rounders ever. It's the BCCI which continues to make itself more and more petty by such decisions. :two_thumbs_up: @ganesh Of course if the BCCI is considered to be the absolute owner of the game by the court,then what u said will happen. On another note:finger: to blizzard for not making a single player version of diablo its impossible to have a fail proof 24*7 net connection here unless ur Ambani's son This reminded me of an episode of "South Park"
superstar Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 If a company sends an xtra bonus check to all past employees except you' date=' I am sure you can sue them. Whether you will win or not is a different matter.[/quote'] Apparently you have not worked in a company. The employment contract clearly states what the company can do and what you can expect from them. Bonuses are at the will of the company. THe company can easily say the performance of the employee was not upto the standards expected. Definitely whoever sues the company will end up losing more money to layers http://www.hindustantimes.com/Specials/Cricket/IPL/Chunk-HT-UI-IPL2012-BestOfIPL/Usher-in-change-do-it-now/SP-Article10-862726.aspx Stupid stuff from Kapil. He may be the greatest cricketer but definitely not good in legal matters. Pension is not a right. BCCI implemented pension long after he retired. They can formulate whatever rules they want. BCCI owes him nothing. He has been paid for his services and he has had his days in the sun. Time to move on. Either suck up to BCCI or shut your mouth. BCCI has nothing to answer to the public (especially after they have been stripped of charitable status and pay for everything including security). He is contradicting himself here. Cricket is not above the law. Even though BCCI is doing distasteful stuff here, they are playing within the law. Lol. What has the board gotto to do with them? Fund their elections? And to all the above posters who keep bringing his achievements -- stop being emotional. This is very reason why the Indian team is so unprofessional and there is lack of accountability. IF there was any bit of professionalism in the team, grandpa sachin would have been kicked out and the Delhi mafia led by Gambir and Cement mafia led by Dhoni would have been taught a lesson for losing 8-0.
Swing_n_Speed Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 That is why i said other cricketers should have raised this issue.Absolutely no class from these morons. Well at the very least a few of them ought to have stood up and said something. Namely Gavaskar and Shastri! But then again the BCCI insists that Kapil's name was indeed on the list of beneficiaries. But to not invite Kapil to the public presentation is downright *****y.
bulbul Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 BCCI has nothing to answer to the public (especially after they have been stripped of charitable status and pay for everything including security). even BCCI's father will have to answer if public really wants...its not robots who watch matches..
Crookbond Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 Not all cricketers are answerable to BCCI - Kapil "It [the BCCI] should realise that only those cricketers -- present or former -- who are contracted to it and are paid salaries, like selectors or coaches, are accountable to it," Kapil wrote in the Hindustan Times. "Not all cricketers are answerable to the board. "You can't deny that player his due, which he is being given for the services rendered during his playing days. If you are taking money from the board -- like the late Tiger Pataudi and Sunil Gavaskar and Ravi Shastri, to be on the IPL board -- then the board or any organisation has a right to question you. But a Dilip Vengsarkar, [he] is not answerable because he is not holding any post today where he is drawing money from the board." "If they don't want to recognise my game, I would like to say thank you and move on. Yes, I was connected with the ICL - if someone gives me a job, I would love to do it, especially when it is for the promotion of the game and when I am not an employee of any other institution. "There is one common thing in what the board [the BCCI] does and what I did, and that is promoting the game. If by doing that I have hurt someone, what can I do? All I can say is that I have no intention of hurting anyone, but it is too bad if it has been taken that way." http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/current/story/566640.html
Sachinism Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 BCCI is petty. This money was as recognition for their contribution to the country and they just ignore that because a man tried to make a living