G_B_ Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 I have been following Erdogen's fortunes for the few months and I most certainly do not want Modi to go his way. Just have a closer look and you will see how big an autocrat he is. Absolutely intolerant of criticism and does not believe in debate over any major issue. There were massive protests against him last year, there were corruption charges against many of his ministers, media is severely restricted from criticizing him and those who do, are fired and/or jailed, judges have been fired for upholding the law. He passed laws to gave intelligence agencies unprecedented power to monitor the people. Here's something he said in 2012: "one nation, one flag, one religion, one state". Read these : http://www.al-monitor.com/pulse/originals/2014/05/turkey-erdogan-elections-corruption-protests-unlawful-gezi.html https://www.aei.org/publication/in-turkey-a-transformation-to-populist-autocracy/ http://m.clarionproject.org/analysis/erdogan%E2%80%99s-autocratic-rule-terror-ties-spark-criticism There are many, many more articles on the topic. Read more and you will realize that he is about the worst example to look up to for Modi. point is not how right or wrong Erdogan is. The point is he is in power for how long now? Atleast the first two times he was voted into power on the basis of handling the economy. Take care of the economy and inflation and the rest will take care of itself.
Sachin=GOD Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 point is not how right or wrong Erdogan is. The point is he is in power for how long now? Atleast the first two times he was voted into power on the basis of handling the economy. Take care of the economy and inflation and the rest will take care of itself. Jyoti Basu was voted to power 5 times - didn't mean that he made the lives of people better. Also, in his initial years in power Erdogen was a moderate while Modi is autocratic even now at the start of his first term.
bulbul Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 Jyoti Basu was voted to power 5 times - didn't mean that he made the lives of people better. Also' date=' in his initial years in power Erdogen was a moderate while Modi is autocratic even now at the start of his first term.[/quote'] Modi is in power for more than 15 years if you include state Govt.
Sachin=GOD Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 Modi is in power for more than 15 years if you include state Govt. And he was an autocratic leader for those 15 years. That's something even you won't/can't deny.
hhunaeh Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 The emperor's new clothes has been played on live tv with people like nihalani and bjp followers as the wah, wahing, courtiers and modi as the emperor.
G_B_ Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 And he was an autocratic leader for those 15 years. That's something even you won't/can't deny. And its worked.... It worked for basu as well. He too never lost an electiob
Precambrian Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 Loving how desperate opposition has become, that his choice of clothes is what is irking them. Burnnnn! And still waiting for an answer on personal branding of bats by Tendulkar.
Sachin=GOD Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 And its worked.... It worked for basu as well. He too never lost an electiob Winning elections is not equal to doing well for the people. Just ask MMS - he won 2.
Desi Cartman Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 Loving how desperate opposition has become, that his choice of clothes is what is irking them. Burnnnn! And still waiting for an answer on personal branding of bats by Tendulkar. From my POV and I am not really the opposition, its amusing and at the same time worrying that our neta has so much time to think about clothing and change clothing. Its also one of the traits of dictators, who are self obsessed.
bulbul Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 Winning elections is not equal to doing well for the people. Just ask MMS - he won 2. How Modi beieng a autocrat not doing well for people?
bulbul Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 From my POV and I am not really the opposition' date=' its amusing and at the same time worrying that our neta has [b']so much time to think about clothing and change clothing. Its also one of the traits of dictators, who are self obsessed. What? how do you know he spends so much time on clothing? except wok Modi doesn't involve in any other leisure activities so what's wrong in pursuing some hobby?
Desi Cartman Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 What? how do you know he spends so much time on clothing? except wok Modi doesn't involve in any other leisure activities so what's wrong in pursuing some hobby? because tax payers pay for it and secondly because it appears stupid, for a country which still has widespread poverty, the PM is playing fancy dress all day. There is nothing illegal but its unnecessary and the behavior looks weird. Its not illegal and doesnt make him a bad PM but he certainly doesnt need it.
bulbul Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 because tax payers pay for it and secondly because it appears stupid, for a country which still has widespread poverty, the PM is playing fancy dress all day. There is nothing illegal but its unnecessary and the behavior looks weird. Its not illegal and doesnt make him a bad PM but he certainly doesnt need it. He doesn't live in palace,doesn't allow kins to get powerful position,doesnt have big bank balance. All he fancies is nice dress what is the problem? As a tax payer I don't have problem with PM's one fancy while paying tax for so many years which went to politicians bank account :winky:
dial_100 Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 He doesn't live in palace,doesn't allow kins to get powerful position,doesnt have big bank balance. All he fancies is nice dress what is the problem? As a tax payer I don't have problem with PM's one fancy while paying tax for so many years which went to politicians bank account :winky: +++++++ I totally agree with it. Its very unnecessary to even discuss this.
jalebi_bhai Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 I will write a letter to NaMo asking him to wear boxer-banyan from now on. I guess that will make people happy.
Desi Cartman Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 He doesn't live in palace' date='doesn't allow kins to get powerful position,doesnt have big bank balance.[b'] All he fancies is nice dress what is the problem? As a tax payer I don't have problem with PM's one fancy while paying tax for so many years which went to politicians bank account :winky: I just explained the problem. Im not saying he is doing anything illegal, all Im saying is that it seems weird BTW why is everything compared to the corrupt sarkars before, is the laxman rekha now that level of corruption and incompetence, anything slightly above is acceptable?
Raghav_12 Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 I'll say this for Modi - he has done an incredible job of brainwashing his bhakts in such a way that they can see absolutely nothing wrong or weird in anything he does. Seriously. One of them yesterday was claiming that Saraswati Puja is not a hindu ritual :-)
jalebi_bhai Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 Ok, S!=G, Desi Cartman ji........I have created an account and started writing this letter to the PMO. Please PM your real names to me, so that I can include your names in my letter. Thanks in advance. Anyone else who wants to be included, please PM me. I have included my real name and will reveal all the contents of the letter once I'm finished with the letter.
G_B_ Posted January 26, 2015 Posted January 26, 2015 because tax payers pay for it and secondly because it appears stupid' date= for a country which still has widespread poverty, the PM is playing fancy dress all day. There is nothing illegal but its unnecessary and the behavior looks weird. Its not illegal and doesnt make him a bad PM but he certainly doesnt need it. how do you know that? Maybe the BJP as a party pays for it or it has been gifted to him by some well wishers. If i was in the textile business i would pay Modi to wear what my fabric. You cant buy such publicity. In the UK for eg many designers give away dresses to the dutchess of cambridge for free to advance their names in the field of fashion. The same goes for the name on the suit. How do you know Modi has picked it out? Maybe again it was gifted to him by some well wishers and Modi did not want to disappoint somebody who had given him an item with love and honest intentions. Secondly the poverty metric is also redundant in logic. I can buy 5 suits from JC penny (0r Primark) and one suit from Giorgio Armani. Which one is going to cost the tax payer in a country with widespread poverty more damage? Does anybody know how much these outfits cost to purchase? From what I can tell they look run of the mill. Ie average. This is typical ICF, people are talking as if they know the inside track about everything. This is not about being a bhakt or not but the level of assumptions and inference drawn upon is just mind boggling.