I wonder what the people of Canada UK US have to say about migrants from Ludhiana and Jalandhar and how the Desis from that part have changed the Demographic of that part of the world. Its law of world people move fom one part to another in search of job search of good living. Beleive me dude no one wants to leave his home or hometown. Next time when you are moving in Toronto and see a Gora staring you or racially abusing you rememeber what you have said about migrant to your state before saying anything to him.
1. Where from in India are you from? 2. Canada and US are immigrant countries 3. Stating that some parts of these countries like NJ, Toronto, etc have a lot of desis... so what? 4. Goras are also migrants from Europe and so many migrants are coming from Europe even today...lol.. why do you assume that USA = owned by Goras 5. What did I say about the migrants that it equals racism? That's actually the reality in many parts of Ludhiana. Secondly, Biharis and Punjabis are different races? Don't assume.. Point is have you ever been to Punjab and Ludhiana? That's pretty much the truth as the migrants find it hard to get proper housing in a crowded city which eventually leads to settlements of jhuggis/slums. i.e Bombay slums. Is that healthy for a city? No, the issue isn't really the Bhaiyaas in Punjab but rather the emergence of jhuggis/slums and whether the infrastructure of the city can still support and keep up with the rising population. What comes out of this and to mitigate such issues as overcrowding, jhuggis/slums in a city is to either build the proper infrastructure or to distribute the so called bigger cities with satellite cities that will also distribute the populations resulting in controlled populations, better infrastructures, and a better quality of life for its citizens.
Point is have you ever been to Punjab and Ludhiana? That's pretty much the truth as the migrants find it hard to get proper housing in a crowded city which eventually leads to settlements of jhuggis/slums. i.e Bombay slums. Is that healthy for a city? No' date=' the issue isn't really the Bhaiyaas in Punjab but rather the emergence of jhuggis/slums and whether the infrastructure of the city can still support and keep up with the rising population. What comes out of this and to mitigate such issues as overcrowding, jhuggis/slums in a city is to either build the proper infrastructure or to distribute the so called bigger cities with satellite cities that will also distribute the populations resulting in controlled populations, better infrastructures, and a better quality of life for its citizens.[/quote'] All the points you have made is also true of immigration to western countries. You might be one of the previlaged ones but not every one who immigrates is similarly lucky. I also agree that people who immigrate themselves to other country has no right to question others Let me also narrate a personal experience. When I was in Kolkata a bihari bhaiya was on a road selling choles. He accidently bumped into a well dressed bengali gentlemen who started abusing him. Soon the abuses turned into topics of slums and biharis coming and spoiling the city. the poor guy was speechless. But he was later muttering, "My grandfather was a well known freeedom fighter who fought for this country and went to jail many times. Kya woh sirf bihar ke liye lade the, bengal ke liye nahi? Its because of people like him the desh is azaad today but now we discriminate when people from one state try to live in another. Desh to ek saath azaad hua tha phir ye bhed bhav kyon?"

read a few comments, the path of this thread is deviated..anyway bihar is growing decently on economic terms..i hope bihar develops nd the fellow biharis have enough opportunity in their native state.. i hope biharis dont overflow in the capital city

There's a study conducted by some alana falana commission set up by the GoI whose aim was to study the relationship between human development index in the BiMaRu states and correlate them with new migration from the state. I think the migration they counted was only economic migration, i.e they left behind migration due to social upheavals/floods/ any other directly non economic factor. Surprisingly, the findings were that net migration rate had almost no correlation with human development parameters in these states. Even with an increase on some of the parameters, the rate of migration didn't change. That, came as a surprise to me. A lot of the talk here, is from the P.O.V of those who are 'original' inhabitants of a given city and how migration has 'ruined' or adversely affected a city. Leave aside the economics behind the migration and how a city can benefit, just thinking of it from a humanistic angle; if these guys prefer living in slums next to stinky naalas over living in their hometowns, one can only imagine how bad/ untenable the situation must be back in their hometowns.

read a few comments' date=' the path of this thread is deviated..anyway bihar is growing decently on economic terms..i hope bihar develops nd the fellow biharis have enough opportunity in their native state.. i hope biharis dont overflow in the capital city[/quote'] Progress of Bihar will benefit all of India
chup be- chal bhaag jaa yahan se
Abbe tu badi insaniyaat dikha raha hai is thread pe. Seriously indians like ou are the reason why we will never be uited as a country
Bihar is country's fastest growing state to Is Bihari migration in Ludhiana/Punjab justified? :hatsoff:
Because that is inherent human trait - focus on the negative. Because if only Bihari migrant would move back to Bihar, all Punjabi migrants would make a beeline to jump on next Air India flight to get back to Ludhiana! :giggle:
Abbe tu badi insaniyaat dikha raha hai is thread pe. Seriously indians like ou are the reason why we will never be uited as a country
Refer to post #51
Because that is inherent human trait - focus on the negative. Because if only Bihari migrant would move back to Bihar, all Punjabi migrants would make a beeline to jump on next Air India flight to get back to Ludhiana! :giggle:
in case you haven't noticed in the thread ..Bihar's rising economy is seen as a positive... I personally congratulated the Bhaiyaas of Bihar :dontknow:
in case you haven't noticed in the thread ..Bihar's rising economy is seen as a positive... I personally congratulated the Bhaiyaas of Bihar
Good to hear.:winky::winky:

However, here's my summary 1. Punjab already has high population density.. 2. The larger cities like Ludhiana which attract the largest migrants (1 in 5) don't have the infrastructure (i.e proper housing, amenities,etc) to support an increasing population especially a migrant one i.e Bhaiyaas. Thus the poor though hardworking migrants setup in jhuggis/slums...which in turn are a breeding ground for future bigger slums. 3. Does Punjab want an increasing economy at the cost of decreasing quality of life? In my opinion, no. 4. What's the solution? To mitigate huge jhuggis and slums, the power from the bigger cities needs to be distributed to smaller centres which can act as satellite towns thereby mitigating the overall issues of the infrastructure keeping up with the rising population/slum . Does Punjab want its cites to be another emulate the slums of other places like Bombay? I hope not. And thus proper planning needs to be done. Personally, I don't see an issue with stating the above.

btw, note to the bhaiyaas if they looking for a less populated area, Kashmir has the lowest population densities of the country :winky: I wonder what the reaction will be then :winky::winky:

You clearly havent understood the whole migration discussion...but carry on :winky:

Jind, you seems to have massive chips up your shoulders..is some sort of fake poonjabi bravado, which you've displayed many a times using your other alter-egos?