akshayxyz Posted June 20, 2012 Author Posted June 20, 2012 BTW, just went to the PVR website. 1. Why do they have tickets only for Wednesday and Thursday? They don't book further out in advance? Usually they update the weekend Schedule on Thursdays. Perhaps they want to see, which of the movies they can be continued through the weekend. 2. The site is really slow. That is another point, for whatever extra they are charging, they are not providing any world class service. All other glossy stuff is also all *****y, no one is bothered to read/look at. Couple of years back, it was even worse, transactions dropping half way - not able to select the same seats, if txn dropped... and so on. 3. What are Classic, Star, and Premier? Last time I watched a movie at PVR (quite a few years back) don't think they had a balcony like the traditional theaters? Three different classes, Classic - slightly smaller screens, small chairs. Star ( earlier it used to be Europa) - bigger chair, more leg space, bigger screen. Premier (earlier Gold) - big sofas, small screen - kind of home theatre kind of experience. Luxury kind. More than double of other prices. BTW, in Delhi - Vasant Kunj Mall, they have another class - Director's Lounge or something. There they charge about 2k per ticket.
akshayxyz Posted June 20, 2012 Author Posted June 20, 2012 Try - http://movies.io/ Earlier I used to watch lots of movies at home - 5-10 % of what I used to download :) Now, I like to watch in only Cinema Hall - for better visuals and audio experience. BTW- PVR should learn something from ClearTrip, or this website. No one wants to look at their banners, media, reviews. Just make the interface clean and simple.. less maintenance and will do the job. Their website is accurate reflection of their leadership/online-user-experience-manager .
The Outsider Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 Usually they update the weekend Schedule on Thursdays. Perhaps they want to see, which of the movies they can be continued through the weekend. That is another point, for whatever extra they are charging, they are not providing any world class service. All other glossy stuff is also all *****y, no one is bothered to read/look at. Couple of years back, it was even worse, transactions dropping half way - not able to select the same seats, if txn dropped... and so on. They also seem to have lots of ads - for a website which is actually selling a product, the ads should be unobtrusive at the very least. Three different classes, Classic - slightly smaller screens, small chairs. Star ( earlier it used to be Europa) - bigger chair, more leg space, bigger screen. Premier (earlier Gold) - big sofas, small screen - kind of home theatre kind of experience. Luxury kind. More than double of other prices. Oh...so they actually run three simultaneous shows of the same movie? BTW, in Delhi - Vasant Kunj Mall, they have another class - Director's Lounge or something. There they charge about 2k per ticket. LOL! What! Rs. 2000? Do they serve dinner and cocktails complimentary!
akshayxyz Posted June 20, 2012 Author Posted June 20, 2012 They also seem to have lots of ads - for a website which is actually selling a product, the ads should be unobtrusive at the very least. Oh...so they actually run three simultaneous shows of the same movie? No. Different schedules for different classes., but yes, some movies are common - esp new releases. LOL! What! Rs. 2000? Do they serve dinner and cocktails complimentary! I returned from the counter, as the movie (Ek mein aur ek tu) was no where worth 2k (even with a bottle of free wine). But looks like that's what it is (couple of free drinks/food - limited). @Aaku must be knowing better.
yoda Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 Convenience fee is BS. It is not limited to India. If you book a movie ticket online, yon can get charged the same BS here in the US as well. Regarding talk about convenience of online purchase vs standing in line, wonder if Amazon would have been successful if they had gone that route. They make it easier to buy books (ofc now a lot more than books), yet you pay less than retain typically, tax free in most states and to top it all free shipping if order is more than $25. Talk about convenience without any fecking fees.
Desi Cartman Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 at least these websites work for you. I cant even use my international credit card for ANY online transaction in India. Believe it or not, Indian railways and even Indian airlines REFUSE international credit cards online. How the F are the tourists supposed to book tickets ?
Mariyam Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 BTW, just went to the PVR website. 1. Why do they have tickets only for Wednesday and Thursday? They don't book further out in advance? That might be because Friday is the day the movies change. The theatre management may have not yet decided if they want to take off some of the movies running currently ( Ferrari ki Sawari) in favour of those which are to release on Friday ( Gangs of Wasseypur). I think by tomorrow (Thursday), they'll have made up their minds and you can see the schedule till next Thursday.
veer Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 Here is my logic... they charge you convenience fee for not standing in line compare to those poor folks who dont have internet access.. it makes sense in India as lot of ppl do not have that luxury.. if you keep the same rate then 'internet folks' will keep reailway seats reserved JUST IN CASE if they do need to travel within 10 minutes..
veer Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 at least these websites work for you. I cant even use my international credit card for ANY online transaction in India. Believe it or not' date=' Indian railways and even Indian airlines REFUSE international credit cards online. How the F are the tourists supposed to book tickets ?[/quote'] Open a NRE account... worked well for me.
Lurker Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 Here is my logic... they charge you convenience fee for not standing in line compare to those poor folks who dont have internet access.. it makes sense in India as lot of ppl do not have that luxury.. if you keep the same rate then 'internet folks' will keep reailway seats reserved JUST IN CASE if they do need to travel within 10 minutes.. Luxury? :hehe::hehe: Yaar jo aadmi first day first show maara-peeti karke black mein ticket khaareed ke front stall mein movie nahin dekha, he never really enjoyed cinema. Good thing small towns are still keeping that spirit still alive. Otherwise mega towns are all about multiplexes, parking garages and popcorns during interval. Popcorn for eff sake? Where is the crankling of bottle openers hitting the Fanta bottles during Interval :((
Sachin=GOD Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 And yet Cleartrip started charging Rs 100!!! for convenience fee. 20 was still fine, but when you start charging man-marzi ka amount, then you have to question the ethics side of it. On the other hand, FLipkart uses these savings to provide better pricing. In fact best pricing. if you are looking for books then check out Landmarkonthenet - it has even lower prices for many titles. On topic, the convenience for the customers (in that they can buy tickets without having to stand in line for a long time) is far more than the convenience for the companies so I don't think this fees is completely unjustified.
gaurav92 Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 This is just a way to pocket a few from customers who think they are pretty cool and up-to-date when they book tickets online. :yoyo:
veer Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 Luxury? :hehe::hehe: Yaar jo aadmi first day first show maara-peeti karke black mein ticket khaareed ke front stall mein movie nahin dekha, he never really enjoyed cinema. Good thing small towns are still keeping that spirit still alive. Otherwise mega towns are all about multiplexes, parking garages and popcorns during interval. Popcorn for eff sake? Where is the crankling of bottle openers hitting the Fanta bottles during Interval :(( luxury of internet access ... yeahh.. those bottle sodas with paav vada, samosa with chutney..
audioman Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 Sounds like a good way to reduce unemployment. Maybe the US should do it too. :P
akshayxyz Posted June 20, 2012 Author Posted June 20, 2012 if you are looking for books then check out Landmarkonthenet - it has even lower prices for many titles. Hmm, did not check landmarkonthenet for quite some time, since I figured Flipkart was giving best prices. Anyway, I do not buy books that often. On topic, the convenience for the customers (in that they can buy tickets without having to stand in line for a long time) is far more than the convenience for the companies so I don't think this fees is completely unjustified. Any numbers to back up? If you followed the discussion - customer already pay for their convenience by 'affording' such gadgets/internet and stuff. BTW today once again - even after online purchase I had to stand in the queue for getting the print out, as their vending machines were out of order - I haven't seen them working more than 1/2wice in last one year at least.
ganeshran Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 Flipkart is no longer a low cost seller. Its prices though still competitive, are higher than competitors for quite a few items. They bought Letsbuy just to reduce the pressure to keep things cheap. The advantage with Flipkart is their quick delivery and very reliable inventory management. Letsbuy used to often tell you that the product is out of stock only after 1 or 2 days or ordering it. FK sets expectations much better.
Desi Cartman Posted June 20, 2012 Posted June 20, 2012 I still cant find a decent website to send flowers/gifts to Delhi. Almost all of them have crappy websites where you cant track orders with ease, some of them deliver late in the evening and im talking about 9PM and on father's day they delivered Flowers day and then came back to deliver the cake next day lol If you guys have had good experience then please let me know
Crookbond Posted June 21, 2012 Posted June 21, 2012 Here is my logic... they charge you convenience fee for not standing in line compare to those poor folks who dont have internet access.. it makes sense in India as lot of ppl do not have that luxury.. if you keep the same rate then 'internet folks' will keep reailway seats reserved JUST IN CASE if they do need to travel within 10 minutes.. There's no quota for Internet seats on IRCTC if that's what you're implying.
The Outsider Posted June 21, 2012 Posted June 21, 2012 Convenience fee is BS. It is not limited to India. If you book a movie ticket online, yon can get charged the same BS here in the US as well. Regarding talk about convenience of online purchase vs standing in line, wonder if Amazon would have been successful if they had gone that route. They make it easier to buy books (ofc now a lot more than books), yet you pay less than retain typically, tax free in most states and to top it all free shipping if order is more than $25. Talk about convenience without any fecking fees. :hysterical::hysterical: @ comparing the business model of movie theaters with Amazon!