Man, it is hard keeping up with this board. It's like taking on machine-gun fire! On one side, we have vvvs, p_k, Ram, Ramu Kaka, Outsider, Lurker, yoda, triam, Texy .... and on the other there's just me! I am surprised that there are no other "desis" who are pro-life, debt-hawk, spending-cut, balanced-budget libertarian minded conservatives. Indulge me as I wallow in a bit of self-pity.

Man, it is hard keeping up with this board. It's like taking on machine-gun fire! On one side, we have vvvs, p_k, Ram, Ramu Kaka, Outsider, Lurker, yoda, triam, Texy .... and on the other there's just me! I am surprised that there are no other "desis" who are pro-life, debt-hawk, spending-cut, balanced-budget libertarian minded conservatives.
lol man .. Im very new here, for the first couple of months I was kinda scared listening to Hannity and Mark on the radio... coming from Aus these maharathis sounded like taliban and then there was Rick Santorum :cantstop: BTW if I had right to vote then I would probably vote for Ron but uski to koi baat he nahi sunta :((
You must go look up who the people are that I mentioned .. it's like a who's who of the Dem party --> one (former) Speaker of the House' date=' one current VP, a Congressman and the current Attorney General, along with a Rev Sharpton, who is a pretty big deal in Democratic politics. Not to forget Al Gore (washed up as he is), John Edwards (a former VP candidate), Howard Dean (who came within a whisker of getting the Dem nomination) and that's a Hall of Shame you can barely match.[/quote'] I know about some people but will look up others , thanks
Man, it is hard keeping up with this board. It's like taking on machine-gun fire! On one side, we have vvvs, p_k, Ram, Ramu Kaka, Outsider, Lurker, yoda, triam, Texy .... and on the other there's just me! I am surprised that there are no other "desis" who are pro-life, debt-hawk, spending-cut, balanced-budget libertarian minded conservatives. Indulge me as I wallow in a bit of self-pity.
Well in my defence I have been trying to recruit you since Kingdom come.. But you only show me :headshake: and :headshake:
You listen to the wrong people. Mitch Daniels' date=' Paul Ryan, Marco Rubio, Bobby Jindal. It will be like me trying to base my opinion of all liberals on what I hear from Nancy Pelosi (all BS all the time), Al Sharpton, Charles Rangel, Joe Biden and Eric Holder. And for every Hannity, there is a Chris Mathews.[/quote'] Except Biden they are all ass-whole of highest order. Doubt anybody likes Pelosi or reid or Rangle. And do remember that it is yours truly who has been castigating Eric Holder and Bill maher in this thread :winky:
Lol CA, I feel you man, I am fiscally conservative and I tend to agree with some of your thoughts. But health care dont know man, maybe the health care act is not the best solution but something needs to be done too many people i know have no insurance and/or pre existing conditions that it is scary.
And the verdict 4:4:1' date=' what does that even mean lol[/quote'] The fours are liberal and conservative with 1 swing vote. Out of those nine, seven were appointed by earlier administrations including Bush ...so this is hardly Obama's court
The fours are liberal and conservative with 1 swing vote. Out of those nine' date=' seven were appointed by earlier administrations including Bush ...so this is hardly Obama's court[/quote'] Darn it! I had Ramu Kaka beleiving it was a soccer thing :bumsmack:
The fours are liberal and conservative with 1 swing vote. Out of those nine' date=' seven were appointed by earlier administrations including Bush ...so this is hardly Obama's court[/quote'] i know but it was 5:4 .. needed some imagination to term verdict 4:4:1 :cantstop:
lol man .. Im very new here' date=' for the first couple of months I was kinda scared l[b']istening to Hannity and Mark on the radio... coming from Aus these maharathis sounded like taliban and then there was Rick Santorum :cantstop: BTW if I had right to vote then I would probably vote for Ron but uski to koi baat he nahi sunta :((
Why would you listen to them? I absolutely detest Chris "Obama gives me tingles up my leg" Mathews on MSNBC, so I don't watch him. Am not sure why you'd want to subject yourself to that.
Why would you listen to them? I absolutely detest Chris "Obama gives me tingles up my leg" Mathews on MSNBC' date=' so I don't watch him. Am not sure why you'd want to subject yourself to that.[/quote'] cuz I wanted to hear Republican point of view.. everybody makes fun of them so I decided to learn about them from their own media outlets but its been disappointing. I didnt know till a few weeks ago that MSNBC is pro Democrats, I will start watching it for the lulz and then I will end up hating everybody :(( Btw I still watch NDTV debates, its always interesting to see people fight :hehe:
cuz I wanted to hear Republican point of view.. everybody makes fun of them so I decided to learn about them from their own media outlets but its been disappointing. I didnt know till a few weeks ago that MSNBC is pro Democrats, I will start watching it for the lulz and then I will end up hating everybody :(( Btw I still watch NDTV debates, its always interesting to see people fight :hehe:
Therein lies the problem - most of my desi friends use Rush/Hannity/Beck as examples of conservative thought. They don't have a clue who Paul Ryan is. What Bobby Jindal stands for. Who Mitch Daniels is (Gov of Indiana ... balanced state budget). They think all conservatives are evangelical bible-thumping doomsdayers. It's no different than me calling all liberals "baby-killers" or "crack-mommies" or "welfare freeloaders."
I know Bobby Jindal... have good values. but why wasn't he running? Fact is majority of the conservatives toe the line of Hannity, Rush, Beck not the line of Jindal. Most of them are bunch of jokers. Paul Ryan's proposal was pretty bad in the sense most of his proposal for cuts come from prgorams that help poor.. he lowers tax for rich. There is no cuts on defense spendings. He probably is brighter among bunch of idiots. Still not good enough.
CA, I am not as upto date about all the details as I would like to be, so correct any of my statements. IF a religious entity gets a tax break or federal funding then the federal government should have the right to enforce certain policies, I dont see how this has got anything to do with Separation of State and Church. The Church can always go about it as a private institution and refuse all govt funding/tax breaks and have their own policies. Seems fair enough to me.
On principle, if a Catholic institution accepts federal monies, they must abide by federal law. I am in complete agreement. The problem is that the federal law itself was thrown in their face with no vote or anything (at least AFAIK). One day, the administration said "all health plans must cover BCPs under all circumstances). And the Sharia law argument is bogus, as Sharia law is draconian. Refusing to pay for BCPs is not. That argument would only hold good if the church is banning all its employees from using BCPs. As it stands, they are just refusing to pay for it. If one wants to use them, they can buy them at WalMart for $9 a month.
Do you know that some religious groups are against vaccine for kids, what if they start saying that we wont pay for it ? I have spoken to a priest and he says that as per bible, organ transplants shouldnÃÕ happen even from dyeing or dead people as we are supposed to preserve our bodies. So what if they want to stop paying for kidney transplant ?
Bobby Jindal thumps bible than most white people, just saying. The ****er doesn't believe in evolution, and you take him seriously ? :wall: http://www.nytimes.com/2008/06/21/opinion/21sat4.html?_r=1
Of course, he is wrong about that. Just like Obama is completely wrong in his support of partial-birth abortions. Since when is that an acid test for a President, and how does that detract from his ability to govern, his economic principles?