DomainK Posted July 18, 2012 Posted July 18, 2012 So since Tv is such a powerful medium' date=' whats the harm if its used for such shows and charity? Useless soaps can be used to play with our emotions, so why not use the same emotions for a good cause? Yet when someone wants to do exactly that, they draw flak from all sides. If thas not crab mentality, what is?[/quote'] Well said. True, no good deed goes unpunished in India.
Lurker Posted July 18, 2012 Posted July 18, 2012 So since Tv is such a powerful medium' date= whats the harm if its used for such shows and charity? Useless soaps can be used to play with our emotions, so why not use the same emotions for a good cause? Yet when someone wants to do exactly that, they draw flak from all sides. If thas not crab mentality, what is? No harm at all. As a nation, and society, we suffer from what Amartya Sen called "Argumentative Indian" syndrome. We never seem to agree, as a society, completely with anything. Forget Aamir Khan, if you questioned Mahatma Gandhi's legacy you will get a resounding support in say West but in India you will get a mixed response, and frankly the negative tone against the Mahatma grows every year. Hamare yehan to dhobi bhi Sita-ji ko ghar se nikalwa de sakta hai janaab, Aamir saab kis aukaat kya?.
achilles Posted July 18, 2012 Posted July 18, 2012 Look, the problem is, the rowdy's have got exposed. Their racket is now open to debate. Unfortunately, our country is such that people of this ilk have always been in the majority. So all that tamasha that is being done on FB is utter nonsense. Chaddi sambhalni aati nahi aur chale Jockey kharidne. On the other hand, Aamir is doing something for our country. Sure, this is the age of commercialization and I hate the promo he does for Reliance. But I look at the bigger picture, and so should everyone else. Aamir is no saint but his show absolves him of any wrong he may have ever done. He's got people talking about things there used to be whispers about. Hatsoff to the guy for his audacity :hatsoff:
Khalpat Posted July 18, 2012 Posted July 18, 2012 I guess we take this line very seriously, "Pahla Pathar wo maare jisne kabhi paap na kiya ho."
The Outsider Posted July 18, 2012 Posted July 18, 2012 I haven't watched any episode of the show, so my post reflects only what I have garnered from some discussions on the show and the ICF threads on it. 1) Professionals shouldn't be paid a lot for charity work Without getting into what Aamir Khan or the show is making, isn't charity defined by the notion that people who are doing charity are not doing it for major monetary gains? There is a problem if Aamir Khan is making huge profits from the show and the idea is being marketed as charity. On the other hand, if the show is just another show making money then there is nothing wrong - the problem is calling it charity if it is a profit seeking venture. 2) Charity ventures should not be entertaining and dramatic This is completely based on the ICF discussion. There was a group of posters who were imposing that "you have to appreciate the show" on people who did not find it engaging enough by saying that things along the lines that all you are capable of watching is Don. If an individual does not find the show engaging and criticizes it for not being engaging, is it wrong? 3) Everyone knows these things already Agree with you on this count. Any effort to increase awareness on social ills should be welcomed from the perspective of making people aware, but again let's not be naive and call it charity. 4) Why do people need a celeb to see the obvious truth and act on it I agree that the role of celebs in spreading awareness on social issues is important specially in the Indian society where a lot of what you say is weighed up with who you are. 5) No actionable Can't really comment on this since I have not seen the show, but it would be nice if future episodes of the show present the tangible impact made by previous editions. No good deed in India goes unpunished That's dramatization, but a nice read overall.
CSK Fan Posted July 25, 2012 Author Posted July 25, 2012 I haven't watched any episode of the show, so my post reflects only what I have garnered from some discussions on the show and the ICF threads on it. Without getting into what Aamir Khan or the show is making, isn't charity defined by the notion that people who are doing charity are not doing it for major monetary gains? There is a problem if Aamir Khan is making huge profits from the show and the idea is being marketed as charity. On the other hand, if the show is just another show making money then there is nothing wrong - the problem is calling it charity if it is a profit seeking venture. Amir is the star face of the show. I dont see anything wrong in charities paying celebrities to represent them. Celebrities usually do not work for free and if they do, they do not do work of the same quality as when they are paid. Plus dont forget the payment of all the other people who help in making a show quality, like the editors, the writers, directors, etc. There is a reason most shows based on charity are so shoddy and boring. No one wants to spend on getting the message across because, hey, the whole thing is charity. Like any good business, you have to spend some to attract investors. As for the business itself trying to make money out of it and milking it (which reliance clearly is) as long as the general public is aware to what extent their money goes to charity and to what extent reliance profits, and there is no underhand stuff, I think its fair. The charity organisation will still get something they wouldnt have got if not for the show This is completely based on the ICF discussion. There was a group of posters who were imposing that "you have to appreciate the show" on people who did not find it engaging enough by saying that things along the lines that all you are capable of watching is Don. If an individual does not find the show engaging and criticizes it for not being engaging' date=' is it wrong?[/quote'] Of course not. People always take the moral high ground and imply that people who do not worry about social issues are shallow. But even these people usually only do the cursory stuff, like pay a small amount as donation, volunteer for small charity work without any prior experience in situations like floods, etc (this actually causes a huge chaos and causes more problem than it resolves and doctors and other experts end up looking after these 'volunteers' more than the victims who are more than capable of looking after themselves ) . This is why I also insist that charity based shows should be entertaining without being biased or emblishing facts. That will get the message across better. People take interests in things which are close to their heart
Mariyam Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 Without getting into what Aamir Khan or the show is making, isn't charity defined by the notion that people who are doing charity are not doing it for major monetary gains? There is a problem if Aamir Khan is making huge profits from the show and the idea is being marketed as charity. On the other hand, if the show is just another show making money then there is nothing wrong - the problem is calling it charity if it is a profit seeking venture. From what I've read, the producers of the show claim that profit making was not the motive for the show. For instance, the charge for a call to Aamir is Re1, as against Re6 in KBC. Also, the bulk of the proceeds from the calls are directed to various GoI charities and some NGOs. Aamir is making huge profits, but is the show as a whole making profits? I don't know. And I'm inclined to believe their claim. Even the ads during the show aren't your regular mango slice aamsutra, pepsi change the game ads. The ad-space is used to generate awareness about organizations that help alleviate the problem that is being discussed in that days program. Besides its Sunday morning non prime time. Ads would be cheaper for that time slot. You could say that the show is a form of charity, which uses Aamir to pass on the message. Is Aamir doing charity? No, he isn't. And the show does provide some actionable outputs. The episode on the malpractices of the MCI, for instance, provided us with several alternate numbers to register complaints against (whom we think to be) fleecing doctors and/or get qualified second opinion and generic medicines. These are tangibles that me and you can avail to. At the end of the day, it is an institutionalized mafia or a mindset that the show is taking on. Providing alternatives is a way ahead. @ MTC: Great post, not just here but in the other threads as well. :hatsoff: If you're going to contest the next election, you've my vote.
Vijay.Sharma Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 :hatsoff: Beautiful post, M2C! I should have read this much earlier but I am glad I read it...very well articulated and kinda resonates with my own thinking about the show. Although I do not watch the show for various reasons, after reading your post I might actually watch one of the upcoming episodes. I do my own charity - it is more of enabling rather than charity. One of the reasons I haven't gathered the interest to watch these shows is that I know I will feel disturbed when I watch it and would itch to do something about it. However, one part of me doesn't want to dedicate time and effort towards any more of these things at this point in time so in a way I prefer the "comfortably numb" option. I do not believe in just sending money to charitable trusts unless it is a situation like a flood or some other sudden event. I believe in actually "doing" my "enabling" and hence I am doing what I can in a small way. On a side note and in all seriousness, what is the significance of using the term "crab mentality". Does crab mentality signify something - I didn't quite understand your usage. Or did you want to say crap mentality?
nikred Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 ^^^Crab in a barrel. When you put crabs in a barrel you need not cover it with a lid. When one of the crabs tries to escape the others pull it down.
Vijay.Sharma Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 ^^^Crab in a barrel. When you put crabs in a barrel you need not cover it with a lid. When one of the crabs tries to escape the others pull it down. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crab_mentalityThanks for that info
Old guy Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 its gr8 show and its achieving wht it was supposed to achieve and is not boring too but i really hate some ott reactions by aamir in this last episode he was better other then tht gr8 show !
Crookbond Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 The Prohibition of Employment as Manual Scavengers and their Rehabilitation Bil tabled in September 2012, passed today in Lok Sabha. I'm not sure how much the show played a role but I guess it would be something. It can consider