jind Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 lol...horrible day with the bat tonite...from the scorecard it looks like a t20 score and even that it would have been a mediocre one
saneindian Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 Should step down from captaincy voluntarily. Not sure why he is still clinging onto it. There is absolute lack of intensity and an air of casualness. Till the time the team was doing well, it was still ok but with the team going through choppy waters, need a more alert and pro-active captain who wishes to raise the bar for himself and the team. Hopefully when the new selection committee takes over in a few months, we will see him getting the boot. Can't quite see the team rebuilding under him. We play so many series in Asia in next 18 months, should use that to groom a new leader rathr than give MSD tose months and then see us continue to struggle like 0-8 again.
The Outsider Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 Should step down from captaincy voluntarily. Not sure why he is still clinging onto it. There is absolute lack of intensity and an air of casualness. Till the time the team was doing well' date=' it was still ok but with the team going through choppy waters,[b'] need a more alert and pro-active captain who wishes to raise the bar for himself and the team. That's an issue I have alluded to many times with regards to test cricket specifically. At times when the team is down the captain can raise the spirits of the team through a spectacular individual performance - cricket is full of captains like Kapil, Imran, Waugh taking on the challenge and setting an example for the team. Dhoni is simply incapable of doing that in test cricket. On the two disastrous tours a captain capable with the bat could have made a defining century like Ganguly at Brisbane and things could have turned around for the team. And this has nothing to do with a Dhoni and Ganguly debate but purely with regards to Dhoni's limitations as a test cricketer. In fact as the two tours went on even his keeping started to go down with many chances going through wicket keeper and slip.
saneindian Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 We have had such collapses in nearly every ODI series in SL. Thankfully this has happened early in the series and we still have chance to recover. Have to say though that the top order has got blown away on too many occasions. Happened regularly in SA, WI, Aus and now this track with just a tinge of grass.
Old guy Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 ya right...have people already forgotten how sehwag was getting out on full tosses in australia ? its just green grass effect people :P
CG Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 yes we can console ourselves by saying that,but truth is on every pitch with a little bit of grass our batsman make it look as minefield.the casual attitude has eroded this team.it seems loses are not cared for even against bangladesh.
saneindian Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 That's an issue I have alluded to many times with regards to test cricket specifically. At times when the team is down the captain can raise the spirits of the team through a spectacular individual performance - cricket is full of captains like Kapil, Imran, Waugh taking on the challenge and setting an example for the team. Dhoni is simply incapable of doing that in test cricket. On the two disastrous tours a captain capable with the bat could have made a defining century like Ganguly at Brisbane and things could have turned around for the team. And this has nothing to do with a Dhoni and Ganguly debate but purely with regards to Dhoni's limitations as a test cricketer. In fact as the two tours went on even his keeping started to go down with many chances going through wicket keeper and slip. I am more concerned with the general attitude of the team which obviously takes the cue from the leader of the side. Every youngster after a failure just repeats the same things "it was a bad day in the office, we were a little unlucky..". Why not accept your mistakes and work hard to correct those. And even the coaching staff seem to be carrying the similar attitude. Less said about the BCCI and the selection committee, the better. And to top it all some of the most weird decisions a captain would make..playing with the same side despite being 3-0 down in the last two away series, not picking Aaron in England, not giving Tiwary a go in Australia, Jadeja playing as a specialist fielder in Aus, some mindless bowling changes and field placements, even Ojha not getting a bowl till the match was nearly lost today 9not that it would have made a difference)..baffling and illogical. Truth be told, MSD is past his sell by date as a skipper. he may go onto lead us to 3 series wins vs NZ
CG Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 i have been saying this after the sa tour itself .when dhoni did that press conference and blasted sreesanth,in team sports its a unwritten rule which he broke.favouritism has become one of his worst enemies.Sad that a guy who seemed to change the system has become the system.
Ultimate_Game Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 ^^^^ That was unaccaptable and uncalled for. No matter what you never throw your guys under te bus, especially as a captain. If you don't like someone or pissed at someone, have a word with him in private or drop him but don't call him out infront of the whole world. The golden rule "applaud in public but reprimand in private" should not have been broken. That was very un-Dhoni like along with the media conference during 2009 T20 Cup where the whole team appeared for the conference.
Dravid_TheWall Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 I think it should be the opposite.. we should have 3 captains for each format.. better yet.. scrap T20 format all together and go back to the good old days of cricket. England have that and I don't agree. Good players are capable of adapting to all 3 formats and there are many of them. One captain!
Dravid_TheWall Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 i have been saying this after the sa tour itself .when dhoni did that press conference and blasted sreesanth' date='in team sports its a unwritten rule which he broke.favouritism has become one of his worst enemies.Sad that a guy who seemed to change the system has become the system.[/quote'] Now Viru is insulting MS too. Frustration. What happened to Santh in SA was disgusting. He is one of our best bowlers and he was openly criticised.
Rajiv Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 Any team can have a bad day but their body lingo was "yea, whatever, another game" but again we need a "g**nd pe laat" as usual
Lurker Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 All in jest. I doubt our bowlers in last decade other than Kumble have impressed me so much that I will ever knight them with words like Cheetahs or Legend or Jordan. By the way, you seem to have gone easy on Legendz 'tics. What happened?? :blink:
Ultimate_Game Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 Law of average i guess. Law of averages is for losers to make them feel better. It's for folks like Paki fans after getting thrashed every WC they come back with "our time will come as per law of averages". In sports it doesn't matter that way. India can't beat Brazil at footie even if they play 100 games. Law of averages won't help them out there. We didn't see "law of averages" in Eng & Aus while we were pounded 0-8 so no reason why this should suddenly be brought up after we folded for 138 in SL of all places.
Lurker Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 Law of averages is for losers to make them feel better. It's for folks like Paki fans after getting thrashed every WC they come back with "our time will come as per law of averages". In sports it doesn't matter that way. India can't beat Brazil at footie even if they play 100 games. Law of averages won't help them out there. We didn't see "law of averages" in Eng & Aus while we were pounded 0-8 so no reason why this should suddenly be brought up after we folded for 138 in SL of all places. :hysterical: man that is so tragic, but so very true :agree:
Ultimate_Game Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 :hysterical: man that is so tragic' date=' but so very true :agree:[/quote'] And I kid you not but "law of averages" is only brought out by losers. You wouldn't have seen Aussies saying since we won 3 WCs on the trot as per law of averages we expected to lose :giggle:
Cricketics Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 By the way' date=' you seem to have gone easy on [i']Legendz 'tics. What happened?? :blink: Bhai time ke saad hum bhi badal jaatein hai. "_"
Cricket Tragic Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 But we've had several batting collapses in SL recently. :dontknow: Win the series and no one really cares. How many of the following games do people remember? 146 all out http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/343732.html 103 all out http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/343736.html 88 all out http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/456662.html 103 all out http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/456666.html
The Outsider Posted July 24, 2012 Posted July 24, 2012 I am more concerned with the general attitude of the team which obviously takes the cue from the leader of the side. Every youngster after a failure just repeats the same things "it was a bad day in the office, we were a little unlucky..". Why not accept your mistakes and work hard to correct those. And even the coaching staff seem to be carrying the similar attitude. Less said about the BCCI and the selection committee, the better. That's really baffling. Right from the BCCI administrators, to selectors, to the players no one saw anything wrong with the 0-8 pounding. Perhaps the only one who came out with dignity from the losses was Dravid with his retirement. BCCI kept towing the line that we won 0-5 in ODIs and against the West Indies, the selectors still do not have a transition plan, and none of the players has made any effort to go and rectify the mistakes. It's been frustrating to watch as a follower of the game when we can see so many glaring flaws why can't they? And to top it all some of the most weird decisions a captain would make..playing with the same side despite being 3-0 down in the last two away series, not picking Aaron in England, not giving Tiwary a go in Australia, Jadeja playing as a specialist fielder in Aus, some mindless bowling changes and field placements, even Ojha not getting a bowl till the match was nearly lost today 9not that it would have made a difference)..baffling and illogical. Honestly, I can't understand his fascination with Jadeja. Just a couple of days back he mentioned Yuvraj and Jadeja as playing similar roles in the team - is he trolling us or does he really believe that? Another one is Rahane who after two decent series - one of them away from home is being sat out despite the team doing nothing great even in ODIs now. Truth be told, MSD is past his sell by date as a skipper. he may go onto lead us to 3 series wins vs NZ I have my doubts over winning against England and Australia - the manner in which our batsmen have played over the last year gives me little confidence that we will be able to come out of the next home season with a continuing unbeaten home record. Specially against Australia, I think we are in with a real chance to lose the series.