Desi Cartman Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 I have been seeing the headlines about the riots in Assam but no article clearly explains what the issue is, reporting is so pathetic that I had no idea that these clashes were between Muslims and Bodos till 4-5 days ago. There are no details Please post links or information that you have
DomainK Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 As far as I understand it, the problem is two fold: Bodos, the natives are not getting the recognition they think they deserve, they have been using violence to make their protest against aliens (anyone who is not bodo). On the other hand there has been a continuous inflow of illegal Bangladeshi immigrants who are making matters much worse.
Crookbond Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 [1] Already a thread on this http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=285652 [2] It seems to be an "ethnic" issue and not a religious issue
Khalpat Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 [1] Already a thread on this http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=285652 [2] It seems to be an "ethnic" issue and not a religious issue Sir, you have not heard the minority leaders what they are saying. Yesterday on TimesNow the Minority Association leader was saying this "you people (Indians) have lead us to live in refugee camp in Gujarat and now in Assam". No body and I am really glad that even BJP has not made it communal issue only the Muslim LEaders have made it. This was inevitable and was bound to happen as the illegal immigrants have changed the demography of the area. Muslim leaders have raised this issue as communal. Even thought the CM/State Govs are unable to control the riot and bloodshed, Tarun Gogoi will never be called as Maut Ka Saudagar and Butcher by Sonia. To be frank there is no voilence in India which can not be controlled by CM or State Gov the state machinery and administration have so much power that they can control any kind of voilence you need guts to act which unfortunately 90% of CM in India do not have. Waiting for Lurker or Outsider comment in this thread.
Crookbond Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 Sir' date=' you have not heard the minority leaders what they are saying. Yesterday on TimesNow the Minority Association leader was saying this "you people (Indians) have lead us to live in refugee camp in Gujarat and now in Assam". [b']No body and I am really glad that even BJP has not made it communal issue only the Muslim LEaders have made it. This was inevitable and was bound to happen as the illegal immigrants have changed the demography of the area. Muslim leaders have raised this issue as communal. Even thought the CM/State Govs are unable to control the riot and bloodshed, Tarun Gogoi will never be called as Maut Ka Saudagar and Butcher by Sonia. To be frank there is no voilence in India which can not be controlled by CM or State Gov the state machinery and administration have so much power that they can control any kind of voilence you need guts to act which unfortunately 90% of CM in India do not have. Waiting for Lurker or Outsider comment in this thread. http://www.firstpost.com/india/assam-riots-live-riots-to-divert-attention-from-guwahati-molestation-says-akhil-gogoi-388945.html 5.19pm BJP spokesperson Nirmala Sitharaman on Assam violence The violence in Assam is completely communal. The prime minister being a MP from Assam should immediately issue a statement. It is a problem of illegal migrants. No minister has reached the affected areas. The ministers are being biased to a particular community. Congress should bury its communal agenda. Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi is trying hard not to call the violence communal but we know it is so as informed by our team vising the state today, Sitharaman told a press conference in New Delhi. Ramu Kaka - The reason you hear less is because no one cares if it's the North East. If it was Delhi, there would be semen all over the place. But North "Chinki" East, Apne ko kya farak padhta hai?
Khalpat Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 http://www.firstpost.com/india/assam-riots-live-riots-to-divert-attention-from-guwahati-molestation-says-akhil-gogoi-388945.html Ramu Kaka - The reason you hear less is because no one cares if it's the North East. If it was Delhi, there would be semen all over the place. But North "Chinki" East, Apne ko kya farak padhta hai? The violence is communal that's a sad truth. I have heard Nirmala Sitharaman, she comes daily in Newshour and she has said that the problem is due to illegal immigrants who have changed the demography of that place. Can you beleive the percentage of Muslims in those areas have changed from 18% to 35% in 15 years. Due to no natural process this can be possible. The best reply was form Bangladesh Minister who said "No body from New Delhi or Assam has ever complained to us. What are we suppose to do?" My question is still same, is it so tough for a CM to act and stop this, if its tough then was it not tough during 2002 for a particular CM who is called as mass murderer ?
Tiger80 Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 I have been seeing the headlines about the riots in Assam but no article clearly explains what the issue is, reporting is so pathetic that I had no idea that these clashes were between Muslims and Bodos till 4-5 days ago. There are no details Please post links or information that you have Assam riots: Clashes continue for 7th day; toll rises to 44 Clashes between Bodos and minority immigrants in four Assam districts continued for the seventh day today, leaving 44 people dead even as Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi insisted the situation was "improving" and rapped the media for portraying the state as "burning". Prime Minister Manmohan Singh would visit Assam on Saturday to take stock of the situation and the steps being taken to control the unrest. Indefinite curfew and shoot-at-sight orders were in force in worst-affected Kokrajhar district, while night curfew was on in Chirang and Dhubri districts. Nearly two lakh people are taking shelter in 150 relief camps while 11 persons are missing. Train services, which came to a complete halt for two days, have resumed with three special trains - one each to New Delhi, Kolkata and Bangalore - being run from Guwahati to take passengers who were stranded at different places along the route. Gogoi, who arrived here this morning, said the toll had risen to 44 with three more deaths reported from Chirang district and one from Dhubri while 11 were still missing. He said more than two lakh people were rendered homeless due to the violence. IGP (Law and Order) L R Bishnoi said Kokrajhar district executive magistrate Bipul Saikia was injured in an attack by unidentified miscreants and his vehicle damaged while he was on his way to visit a relief camp in Bhotgaon Kanchipara area of the district. Claiming that "Assam is not burning," Gogoi admitted initial security lapse and said the situation was gradually improving with the deployment of adequate security forces, including the army. http://www.indianexpress.com/news/assam-riots-clashes-continue-for-7th-day;-toll-rises-to-44/979685/
asterix Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 Bangladeshi immigrants are going to play important role in 2014 elections for many parties.. It's a sensitive issue.. Congress should ensure 'easy passage' for these readymade voters till 2014 elections.. :hatsoff: Indian Democracy... Khalpat ji, Gogoi will never be blamed. He's a Kangressi.. For them Saat Khoon Maaf Hain..
Desi Cartman Posted July 26, 2012 Author Posted July 26, 2012 Im listening to the discussion on NDTV regarding the same issue and they are not even stressing or even mentioning illegal immigration more than once http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/the-buck-stops-here/communal-violence-india-s-deepest-faultline/240722?pfrom=home-lateststories
Andrew Peter Posted July 26, 2012 Posted July 26, 2012 The Bangladeshi migrants are more likely to vote for either the congress or communists in W.B/ Assam so its not surprising why the current ruling government isnt too worried about them while BJP is the only party raising their voice against this problem for which they are often labelled as communal in the end .
Desi Cartman Posted July 26, 2012 Author Posted July 26, 2012 The Bangladeshi migrants are more likely to vote for either the congress or communists in W.B/ Assam so its not surprising why the current ruling government isnt too worried about them while BJP is the only party raising their voice against this problem for which they are often labelled as communal in the end . yea , just heard that 1.5 crore have moved into India with 50 lakhs in Assam. I am not against immigration or refugees but there has to be a system and something needs to be done about people who came illegally. BTW I guess BJP is going to pick this issue and run with it, well they can. This way they can at least do well in the West of India
Guest Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 its not right time to comment like this...still i guess this is the time is ripe for Modi to move out of Godhra shadow [so for the counter attack was Killing of Sikhs after Indira murder]
Guest Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 Colonel (Dr) Anil Athale It is time we consider a residential permit system for economic migrants. With this the migrants will enjoy all benefits other than the right to vote. This single measure of regularising economic migrants will defeat the nefarious designs of the 'vote-bank' politicians. Else, we are storing trouble for the future, says Colonel (Dr) Anil Athale (retd). I was less than six months in charge of the operations branch at the Eastern Command headquarters in Kolkata when I was rudely awakened by an urgent telephone call from Tripura on the morning of June 8, 1980. The army unit in Agartala, the capital of Tripura, reported that tribals had surrounded a refugee camp at Mandai, 60 kms from the capital, and massacred over 300 Bengali men, women and children who had taken refuge there to escape violence unleashed by the tribals. As an officer dealing with internal security it came as a bolt from the blue as there was very little warning and most of the attention and resources of the Eastern Army were concentrated in dealing with the anti-foreigners agitation in Assam and separatist violence in Manipur. Tripura is a classic example of how a change in demography can lead to internal strife http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/slide-show-1-col-athale-why-we-must-take-note-of-the-warning-signs-in-assam/20120727.htm
Crookbond Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 yea ' date=' just heard that 1.5 crore have moved into India with 50 lakhs in Assam.[b'] I am not against immigration or refugees but there has to be a system and something needs to be done about people who came illegally. BTW I guess BJP is going to pick this issue and run with it, well they can. This way they can at least do well in the West of India :phehehe: We have routes through which terrorists attack the country twice - yes same mofo route and we can't do anything about it. You think we can build a system which can will be maintained without irregularities over time? Sorry! Before 1947, English divided and ruled India. After 1947, Indians are dividing and ruling India.
diga Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 hard to believe Sagarika ghose's public tweet - "Those ranting about illegal migrants shd think about millions of Indians who migrated abroad (legally and illegally) in search of better life" But we Indians migrate & integrate with the host country, not create trouble.
Crookbond Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 hard to believe Sagarika ghose's public tweet - "Those ranting about illegal migrants shd think about millions of Indians who migrated abroad (legally and illegally) in search of better life" But we Indians migrate & integrate with the host country, not create trouble. Plus the host country doesn't allow us to create trouble even if we want to!
Desi Cartman Posted July 27, 2012 Author Posted July 27, 2012 hard to believe Sagarika ghose's public tweet - "Those ranting about illegal migrants shd think about millions of Indians who migrated abroad (legally and illegally) in search of better life" But we Indians migrate & integrate with the host country, not create trouble. Yea and does she know how other countries treat illegal immigrants ? Most of countries don't even accept refugees . It's ok to help refugee or to allow people to migrate but u can't allow illegal immigration and that too when the numbers are so high and it's not like there is a war going on in Bangladesh
Texy Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 I heard somewhere all these illegal bangladeshis get direct funding from Wahabi Saudi Arabia to quickly build mosques and create strong communities that will be impossible to remove later. I have spoken to few Assamese friends here and it's quite apparent how much dislike they have for the illegals whom they claim fails to integrate within India and creates their own ghetto.
diga Posted July 27, 2012 Posted July 27, 2012 I heard somewhere all these illegal bangladeshis get direct funding from Wahabi Saudi Arabia to quickly build mosques and create strong communities that will be impossible to remove later. I have spoken to few Assamese friends here and it's quite apparent how much dislike they have for the illegals whom they claim fails to integrate within India and creates their own ghetto. true that... first hand seen this.My relatives had to sell their house which was quite near to this ghetto, unable to tolerate the dirty surroundings. No politician/public officer was able to clear the garbage strewn near their house