CC1981 Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Wtf is wrong with this chauvinistic approach towards infanticide ? IMO, a culture where infanticide is so entrenched on gender basis loses any claim to be a civilization. This was a pretty anger-arousing read. Indian people should be ashamed and these people should be flogged in public.
Gaurav Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Yes it's very sad. Specially in a culture where we have so many female goddesses. Two things that really piss me off about our culture- - obsession with "fair" colour - sex of the child. Obviously not everyone in India is like that but it's not uncommon either. First thing people used to say to my mum was "bada chikna and fair hai apka bachha".
beetle Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 It is worse than it looks. What is worse is that it is very common among the educated people.Lesser girls coming from educated families ...... The very poor ,uneducated probably can't afford the ultrasound, but the girls when born are no better off.
King Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Sad... there is no place for this kind of practice in the current age.
CC1981 Posted August 20, 2007 Author Posted August 20, 2007 "Bhai, baat hee baat mein aap apni tareef kar-rahe hai:giggle:". Did you realize this??Thats the problem with your thinking- you instinctively assume that it means tareef. It could just be a simple observation. I am fair enough to be confused for a mediterranean dood sometimes and i dont think it has any advantages, really. If anything, i consider fair skin to be a disadvantage, not an advantage or something to 'covet'. Just to give you an example, last weekend i went camping, the weather was pretty sunny and hot and my caucasian friends were burning up in the sun- scurrying around for sun-tan lotion. I sat around with my back to the sun the whole afternoon and did not even 'feel' anything more than the sunny warmth on my skin. Really, consider yourself lucky you are not 'mr/miss white complexion' or else you'd go up in a puff of smoke sitting in the sun in Germany,nevermind in India/Pakistan, in no time.
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 It is worse than it looks. What is worse is that it is very common among the educated people.Lesser girls coming from educated families ...... The very poor ,uneducated probably can't afford the ultrasound, but the girls when born are no better off. To add it's the women folks who share bigger portion of the blame.. unko beta ki jyada rahti hai....
Predator_05 Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Yes it's very sad. Specially in a culture where we have so many female goddesses. Two things that really piss me off about our cultures- - obsession with "fair" colour - sex of the child. Obviously not everyone in India is like that but it's not uncommon either. First thing people used to say to my mum was "bada chikna and fair hai apka bachha". So true. I'll even stick my neck out and say Indians are the most racist people i have ever seen.
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 It's conspiracy: You see the word black is seldom used in positive sense. ( I can think of only one; the phrase "in the black" in matters of financial book-keeping.
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Fair means so much to us Indians that we give preference to firangi or anyone with fairer color over our own.. Apparently even Chinese get preference over our own..
beetle Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Predator.....your avatar looks very painful. Give the poor woman a rest man!:confused_smile:
Predator_05 Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Fair means so much to us Indians that we give preference to firangi or anyone with fairer color over our own.. Apparently even Chinese get preference over our own.. I wouldn't be surprised. What is with the "Fair and Lovely" and "Fair and Handsome" creams' advertisements ? They are so implicitly racist. I remember the "Fair and Handsome" ad - it features some guy who has dark(er) skin standing in front of a mirror, moping at how dark he looks. He puts on the "Fair and Handsome" cream and suddenly his complexion becomes whiter. The superiority of his new found racial identity is acknowledged by some weird looking (but white) flat chested Indian chicks who suddenly start oogling him for no particular reason but his white skin. I know the "Fair and Lovely" ads aren't any better.
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 I wouldn't be surprised. What is with the "Fair and Lovely" and "Fair and Handsome" creams' advertisements ? They are so implicitly racist. I remember the "Fair and Handsome" ad - it features some guy who has dark(er) skin standing in front of a mirror, moping at how dark he looks. He puts on the "Fair and Handsome" cream and suddenly his complexion becomes whiter. The superiority of his new found racial identity is acknowledged by some weird looking (but white) flat chested Indian chicks who suddenly start oogling him for no particular reason but his white skin. I know the "Fair and Lovely" ads aren't any better. Come on no ad shows flat-chested girls in India.. they all look voluptuous and sumptuous.. ( btw we got another disciminatory tool at our disposal here: size of uroj :haha: ) Am not sure I shared this anecodte with u guys: Sometime back I took cab from a nearby Mall... for a change taxi-driver was white canadian.. I invariably always indulge them in some conversation so in course of chitchat when he comes to know that I am from India he quips "indian girls look most beautiful with that natural tanned skin-color".. they have actually got what white gals covet.. Then I disclosed the fact that actually Indian girls go out of their way to look white and those whitening creams do roaring business in India... he was so surprised and says guess noone is happy with what he/she has got..
Aditi Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Those Fair & Lovely/Handsome ads are downright nauseating!
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Those Fair & Lovely/Handsome ads are downright nauseating! Ganwar mode ON " u must be very fair and thereby not need those creams that's why u are saying those ads are nauseating":haha: This is exactly what I heard when I chastised someone for using unfair means in exam.. His rejoinder was: " You are smart hence don't need to cheat that's why u are saying cheating is wrong" I was speechless, what cud have I said:hysterical:
coffee_rules Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 One of my friends who were planning to shift back to India after their child was born, decided to stay back here in US, because of the general attitude towards girl child. In one of their visits, all the relatives and friends made a special note of the girl's not-so-fair complexion. People from cities are no exception, this is not a small-town mentality. To know how racist Indian crowd is, just go to any cricket match played in India againct WI. You can hear all kinds of taunts (made in Hindi, ofcourse) with a special mention of their skin color. This reminds of a line from "Missisippi Masala' when Denzel Washignton ridicules, "You guys (Indians) are only a few shades whiter than us (Blacks)". But the worst sin that this attitude is the "Infanticide". There was a radio program in NPR about new medical technology developed in LA Hospital where parents could choose the gender of their child. I sincerly hope that technology is banned in India and other countries. I have heard from my Chinese collegues, that even in China the same attitude exists (Girls getting inferior treatment in society) to the same intensity as in India.
kumble_rocks Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Our religion and culture are also to be blamed for this malice. I guess we are not much better than these backward thinking folks in Islamic countries.So , Hindutva folks in this message board should quit their chest thumping about how great our religion and culture is compared to Islamic countries. I guess we are marginally better considering the fact that 70% India is rural where this kind of sh.it is rampant.And I may add this is not meant to be a personal insult to anybody and my apologizes in advance.
Aditi Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 It's not just India that treats not-so-fair girls like this...my Filipino friends told me the same attitude exists even in their country. Maybe it's an Asian thing in general?
Lurker Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 It's not just India that treats not-so-fair girls like this...my Filipino friends told me the same attitude exists even in their country. Maybe it's an Asian thing in general? It is actually global in a way. Remember the Godfather II scene where Al Pacino's wife had an abortion as she doesnt want to have her kid be raised in a crime family? Pacino's first reaction is "Was it a boy?". And yes in Asian socities this is a very prevalent situation. I have seen pregnant women look twice as happy when they get to know their unborn child is a boy. xxx
yoda Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 when you have two things which are different, it is not surprising that one is considered more desirable than the other.