I am no doctor, and it was just my opinion. People should not get depressed about anything. This term is often overused for small challenges that life posts on people. The mental toughness of a person is often tested by consequences and one who is not strong enough to face it should not get depressed but make himself strong enough to believe that the circumstances can be turned in one's favour soon, just gotta get past these nervy times and think about the positives coming their way ahead. A schoolboy feels depressed about studies - BULLSHIT A lover boy thinks its all over once he gets dumped by her girlfriend - BULLSHIT These things makes me wonder - What the **** is wrong with some people? How easy is life? If its not that easy to livem its definitely not that easy to lose in a nothing cause.
Abe gaurav, clinical depression is not the same as feeling down or sad because of momentary setbacks in life. Its a far more serious disorder and its not a matter of choice to just snap out of it.

I didn't know about clinical depression, if that is the case and if thats a serious disorder, I take my words back as I was totally unaware about it. All I knew was the artificial depression hole that people put themselves in, in the cases that I mentioned earlier. Yeah Ignorance is Bliss :(

I suggest you google depression causes and read about it instead of posting what you "think". Millions of people suffer from it and there can be many causes for it, from change in circumstances to shock to NOTHING AT ALL, yes it can happen without anything changing in anyone's life. It can be purely a chemical problem in the brain. For instance, I had it when I was having the best time in my career, my salary was going up, career was looking great, I had no pressure and yes I did have a GF. So what caused it ? I asked the doctor and he said its just chemical changes in your brain. I couldn't sleep for 2 years and sometimes I still can't, I wanted to kill myself, my body used to hurt so bad that I couldn't get out of bed half the days. So if you think it is caused by not being mentally strong or struggling or any of those, then the answer is not necessarily. So have some respect for millions of people who suffer and fight every night with their brain as it tells them to get up and plan suicide. It's not easy and no fault of patients. In fact patients of depression are more brave than aam janta as aam janta doesn't have to fight their brain everyday. Every day is a battle that they win but not always. You see a weak person who killed herself and I see a brave person who fought for so many years.
agree. to add to that my cousin I talked about was one of the most cheerful n befikra man before depression got him.so its not about sad events in ur life.
^ I'm happy no one you know has it' date='coz otherwise u'll know about it:icflove:[/quote'] What saved my life was the awareness that I had about the problem, I was able to figure out that something was wrong and even after diagnosis I knew that it was an illness so I didnt really panic. It took a few years but I got better, so being aware of these conditions is the first and the most important step. Thats why Im never shy when it comes to talking about it. Here is something I observed last month, a colleague of mine is moving to the east coast and she was looking for an apartment and came across one which is close to a shut down mental hospital, the way she explained the misery of these poor sick people got me to think how people really view mental paitent. Her reaction was " oh place with these crazy, scary people who were talking to themselves and some of them just kept staring down at the footpath" , she said all this while she was smiling. As a patient myself I wondered what is the correct way to state what she said, of course not calling mental people crazy would be a start but she wasnt really rude but just scared and has no clue about what mental patients suffer from.
What saved my life was the awareness that I had about the problem' date=' I was able to figure out that something was wrong and even after diagnosis I knew that it was an illness so I didnt really panic. It took a few years but I got better, [b']so being aware of these conditions is the first and the most important step. Thats why Im never shy when it comes to talking about it. Here is something I observed last month, a colleague of mine is moving to the east coast and she was looking for an apartment and came across one which is close to a shut down mental hospital, the way she explained the misery of these poor sick people got me to think how people really view mental paitent. Her reaction was " oh place with these crazy, scary people who were talking to themselves and some of them just kept staring down at the footpath" , she said all this while she was smiling. As a patient myself I wondered what is the correct way to state what she said, of course not calling mental people crazy would be a start but she wasnt really rude but just scared and has no clue about what mental patients suffer from.
well tbh,I'd react pretty much the same way,except the statement.maybe she cud just hv said,'' I dont wanna live in this place cause of danger of them hurting her or her family. oh,it was a shut down hospital,I take back all of that,pretty stupid statement then
There used to be a mental hospital in the neighborhood but they decided to close it down and bought few houses around and thats where some of the more stable patients went.
oh,in that case read my first statement

Dear Gaurav92, My nephew is suffering from depression since last 9 years, after giving CBSE class XII exams in 2003, a huge change came in his behavior. Most of it was due to the fact that majority of his friends in his 15 year school education decided to go to Australia for further studies. He scored 78% in Board exams. He started drinking at very young age, worst was he started dipping tobacco (one which you rub, then place between gums & lips). He found his best friend in Nicotine, he found sleep in Alcohol, he found his GF in PC (let me tell you he is THE most enthusiast techie I have ever seen in India). Guy is a genius but simply failed to graduate, he didn't even attempted further studies. Now he started to explore spiritual world, does Path Pooja every day. Has quit Tobacco addiction (Worst feeling). I send him to various classes like CCNA, IELTS etc just to let him gain confidence again. He has no interest in cars, don't even know how to drive and doesn't wanna learn too. Content with his Bike. He is nicest guy you can ever meet. He was model material, now he has gained almost 50kgs in those 9 years.

is he getting treated ? Its a massive change and BTW under depression people become very curious about the purpose of life as they see no point in living and can become VERY religious, problem is that smarter people even under depression are unable to convince themselves about god and become even more depressed while the ones who can believe become extremely religious and stay that way forever. I tried it too but didnt work for me and I have seen quite a few people who IMO have depression but they hide it by doing paath pooja 24/7 "when one person suffers from a delusion it is called insanity. When many people suffer from a delusion it is called religion"
is he getting treated ? Its a massive change and BTW under depression people become very curious about the purpose of life as they see no point in living and can become VERY religious' date=' problem is that smarter people even under depression are unable to convince themselves about god and become even more depressed while the ones who can believe become extremely religious and stay that way forever. I tried it too but didnt work for me and[b'] I have seen quite a few people who IMO have depression but they hide it by doing paath pooja 24/7 "when one person suffers from a delusion it is called insanity. When many people suffer from a delusion it is called religion"
true
Thats a complete change man. So depression is more than what I thought it is :ohmy:
abe dhakkan aisi extreme statements bolne se pehle thoda soch toh liya kar!! Having worked in the medical field I get really annoyed when lay men try to put dismissive statements about illnesses in the world