Posters/Placards for Indian Team

Yoda-esque

I am sorry I cannot accept that as a reson. Giving it your all and losing is one thing. Playing the way we are, total lack of fitness and intent and getting paid crores to do such a shoddy job is another. If they were employees, they would all be let go.
It's not easy to compare them with an 'employee' situation. It's probably not so difficult to replace a good employee with another one (as they are dime a dozen), but you cannot replace 5-6 top level/proven international cricketers so easily. India does not have such a strong reserve bench and no team anyway replaces their top 5-6 cricketers like that. And even if you replace them, there is no guarantee that the replacements would do any better.

Wrote a song for them Stars of with a drum beat and chants of Csk ku Whistle Podu Csk ku Whistle Podu Followed by a huge shout of HALLA BOL Song starts Mukhda Panga na lo panga no lo, aami Korbo Larbo Jeetbo re Chorus-Go Go Go Go Go Antara Duniya Hila denge him....transition to Mukhda Karbo Larbo Jeetbo re Chorus-Go Go Go Song fades away with Korbo Lorbo Jeetbo re....Go Go Go Go

India is not the same anymore' date='Its for the better.You get Olympic Association suspension debate on every english even most hindi news channels.Football Is getting more popular among kids .[/quote'] Cricket will still remain the No.1 sport for the next 20 years. Ever seen an I-league match? (India's highest level league)
Right. Our players are mediocre. Let's just accept this. It's not mind boggling though. All this was predicted once the fabulous four started retiring.
If the fans are feeling disappointed, it's also because they didn't have realistic expectations. They are also to be blamed. A series draw against a top team would be a good result for a team which is in poor form and going through a transition phase.

Only best method to send a message is not following/watching/attending the limited overs stuff from ODIs to IPL. If that translates to fall in TRP ratings and empty ground then I can see some serious introspection done of Indian cricket. But as long ODIs and IPL remain king then fundamental changes are unlikely.

That will never ever happen. You need to understand that the TRP of the ODIs/IPL comes from the bulk of casual viewers who are not hardcore cricket fans and give a damn about Tests.
If the fans are feeling disappointed, it's also because they didn't have realistic expectations. They are also to be blamed. A series draw against a top team would be a good result for a team which is in poor form and going through a transition phase.
Does a team going through transition warrant Viru ,Ashwin ,Zak,Yuvraj to have potbellies?
Does a team going through transition warrant Viru ' date='Ashwin ,Zak,Yuvraj to have potbellies?[/quote'] Viru and Ashwin had potbellies when India won the WC and we beat NZ and WI at home (because of which the Ashwin-hype started). These people surely need to improve their fitness, but fitness is NOT the only reason why the 0-8 happened and why this is happening. I can assure you and even if Ashwin was fit and slim he'll probably not be an Ajmal, and a slim physique would not help Yuvraj be temperamentally and technically sound in Test cricket.
Viru and Ashwin had potbellies when India won the WC and we beat NZ and WI at home (because of which the Ashwin-hype started). These people surely need to improve their fitness, but fitness is NOT the only reason why the 0-8 happened and why this is happening. I can assure you and even if Ashwin was fit and slim he'll probably not be an Ajmal, and a slim physique would not help Yuvraj be temperamentally and technically sound in Test cricket.
OK - Did you see how long Sehwag took to stop,turn around and get back. It was like stopping a freight train. Perhaps a dive could have saved him, but he just gave up. Don't you see how listeless and unenergetic we are on the field? How can you say that fitness has no bearing on the results? Even I, being much elder in age to most of these jokers, have better fitness levels and its not even my primary job. This is not acceptable at all
That will never ever happen. You need to understand that the TRP of the ODIs/IPL comes from the bulk of casual viewers who are not hardcore cricket fans and give a damn about Tests.
Yup, and that was what I was alluding towards. The casual viewers drives BCCI's policies towards development of the game. If ODIs continue to remain popular, BCCI will just cancel Tests matches to solve the Test debacle. So hoping India get a hammering in ODIs vs Pakistan and England might help change BCCI's thinking.
I can see how much Yoda-esque is hurt. :sad:
Yes, I am.Am not one to vent my feelings that easily. But theres a limit to everything. I hope the selectors show some spine and sack this entire team. Kohli,Pujara,Ojha and Yadav are the only exceptions here
Viru and Ashwin had potbellies when India won the WC and we beat NZ and WI at home (because of which the Ashwin-hype started). These people surely need to improve their fitness, but fitness is NOT the only reason why the 0-8 happened and why this is happening. I can assure you and even if Ashwin was fit and slim he'll probably not be an Ajmal, and a slim physique would not help Yuvraj be temperamentally and technically sound in Test cricket.
have to slightly disagree there....Zak injured on the first day of an important test match,set precedent of things to come.....Sreeshanth was half fit,He looked good in short spells but then just fizzled out...PK our best bowler in tests during this period fizzled out after 3 tests due to injury,Sehwag and Gambhir were off and on during this time due to injuries...Bhajji was 'injured half way'.....Yuvi,well this is obviously not in anyones hands but had an unfortunate diagnosis,Ishant was playing through an injury RP Singh looked out of Shape,Being Muscular and toned and being Match-fit are 2 different things here.Munaf our back-up bowler was never fitness personified to begin with but he was out with an injury in the ODI series. Constant chop and change does f with the team composition and rhythm...so yes fitness was the major cause for our downfall
These people surely need to improve their fitness, but fitness is NOT the only reason why the 0-8 happened and why this is happening.
Are you saying this is the worst team in terms of capability we had in last 30 years. We never had such poor phase in 90s even when pure talentless hacks used to play for India. Sure it has a lot to do with the commitment of the players.
OK - Did you see how long Sehwag took to stop,turn around and get back. It was like stopping a freight train. Perhaps a dive could have saved him, but he just gave up. Don't you see how listeless and unenergetic we are on the field? How can you say that fitness has no bearing on the results?
Sloppy fitness of a few players are a minor part of the big problem. There are far more bigger problems that cannot be solved just by gaining fitness. If your batsmen cannot bat and your bowlers cannot take wickets, you'll lose games. Better fielding will help you convert some half chances (the way Kohli got Cook today), save a few runs, but will not eventually help you save your skin in a spinning/seaming track. Regarding Viru, I never expected him to DIVE at all for anything. That's his package - take it or leave it.
You point is taken, but at least try yaar! These people walk around without any energy.What message does that send to the opposition? My point is in trying to make the effort which I am sorry to say is severely lacking.
Are you saying this is the worst team in terms of capability we had in last 30 years. We never had such poor phase in 90s even when pure talentless hacks used to play for India. Sure it has a lot to do with the commitment of the players.
Probably. A lot of talentless hacks can perform better than talented out-of-form/aging cricketers in given scenarios. A lot of things are going wrong together - just picking one or two would be missing the forest for the trees.

I guess what Yoda is implying, by improved fielding, is that he want our players to show some fight and be energetic in the field. The body language is not there... you see. edit: and he said that in post #36

You point is taken, but at least try yaar! These people walk around without any energy.What message does that send to the opposition? My point is in trying to make the effort which I am sorry to say is severely lacking.
You are right about certain players of the team being complacent. See this is a vicious circle in a way - an opener like Gambhir is secure in a way because he knows that his alternatives (Mukund/Vijay/Dhawan whoever) have not done too well in limited opportunities and will not replace him in a hurry. The selectors would not give any new player a long rope either because the Indian fans/media wants quick results (which means, victories) all the time. This means a new player has very limited time to learn and prove himself, and the moment he fails, the old guy who was replaced gets his job back. That is one reason we have not been able to groom many new players. Finally, there is no quick fix solution to these problems. Indian cricket will continue to be in this phase unless a bunch of new cricketers come and establish themselves, and hopefully the fans would have realistic expectations and not expect India to 'thump' every team that visits its shores. I would be glad if we can manage three draws against Australia, and not suffer three innings defeats against South Africa.
I guess what Yoda is implying, by improved fielding, is that he want our players to show some fight and be energetic in the field. The body language is not there... you see. edit: and he said that in post #36
He is right. They probably need a new enthusiastic captain with fresh ideas as well.