Health Risks Associated with Living Near High-Voltage Power Lines

Im thinking of moving into a house which is quite near the big electric pole , the one which is 10s of feet high with many high powered cables. I have done some study and see that there is no relation between health issues and proximity of these High voltage lines but I want opinion from the profs and researchers on this board. Also, any input from realtors would be appreciated :icflove: Please help !

No risk, if they are passing via your property then beware, resale value will take a HUGE hit. Also never park your vehicle under some transformer etc.
It's behind the house and the cables go next to the house. And no, no one can park there
Unless you get drunk and decide to show the power-line who is the boss' date=' I don't see many other risks.[/quote'] Yaar no one had any issues with it till someone in 1979 came up with a study where kids were shown to be more likely to get leukemia if they lived close to the high powered lines. Later the theory was proven wrong but no study have ever been able to prove that it's all a myth nor that it doesn't have any affect. That's why I'm so confused. We love the house, the schools are great in the neighborhood so it's just those damn high powered cables :wall:

You can purchase one of those big a$s kites that use metallic cables, and fly them into this cable tower. Bach gaya to ghar khareedo, warna begum ko bol dena sue karne ke liye. Either way your family would be happy.

You can purchase one of those big a kites that use metallic cables' date=' and fly them into this cable tower. [i']Bach gaya to ghar khareedo, warna begum ko bol dena sue karne ke liye. Either way your family would be happy.
:hysterical::hysterical:

Go ahead paaji... If there were indeed any health hazards arising out of people living near electric cables, you can damn well be sure the state wouldnt have put it there in the first place.. Not because they care for the people of course.. but because they'd get their behinds sued to bankruptcy. :giggle:

Go ahead paaji... If there were indeed any health hazards arising out of people living near electric cables' date=' you can damn well be sure the state wouldnt have put it there in the first place.. Not because they care for the people of course.. but because they'd get their behinds sued to bankruptcy. :giggle:[/quote'] That's what my wife said 30 seconds ago but when it comes to health of kids, even people like me get scared.
That's what my wife said 30 seconds ago but when it comes to health of kids' date=' even people like me get scared.[/quote'] Unless of course the whole damn thing explodes in a huge ball of fire and lands directly in the middle of your living room, I doubt if there are any other imminent health risks associated with living next to a electric pole. There will be some arcing that is generally linked to electrical joints/connections, but that shouldnt worry you too much. Consider this - whenever you travel in a train, there's a huge electric pole less than 20 feet from your head, that has even more higher voltage and more friction. Still, everyone's pretty fine.
Unless of course the whole damn thing explodes in a huge ball of fire and lands directly in the middle of your living room' date=' I doubt if there are any other imminent health risks associated with living next to a electric pole. There will be some arcing that is generally linked to electrical joints/connections, but that shouldnt worry you too much. Consider this - whenever you travel in a train, there's a huge electric pole less than 20 feet from your head, that has even more higher voltage and more friction. Still, everyone's pretty fine.[/quote'] ur scaring him more:hysterical:
Unless of course the whole damn thing explodes in a huge ball of fire and lands directly in the middle of your living room' date=' I doubt if there are any other imminent health risks associated with living next to a electric pole. There will be some arcing that is generally linked to electrical joints/connections, but that shouldnt worry you too much. Consider this - whenever you travel in a train, there's a huge electric pole less than 20 feet from your head, that has even more higher voltage and more friction. Still, everyone's pretty fine.[/quote'] well thats also something I should consider that its in bay area and its an earthquake prone area :giggle:

Look at the bright side Desi. Easier to put a long danda and do bijli ki chori. :secret: A big baans ka danda is on your way....:girl_harrypotter:

Here is what sarkari research concludes Health Risks Associated with Living Near High-Voltage Power Lines

In conclusion, there are no known health risks that have been conclusively demonstrated to be caused by living near high-voltage power lines. But science is unable to prove a negative, including whether low-level EMFs are completely risk free. Most scientists believe that exposure to the low-level EMFs near power lines is safe, but some scientists continue research to look for possible health risks associated with these fields. If there are any risks such as cancer associated with living near power lines, then it is clear that those risks are small.