Struggles of Indian Test Team and Realism on ICF.

Utalk

problem is transition has not even started players are not performing and now rahane has sat on bench for how long ? its one thing if young players take time to settle i dont care abt losing but way we have lost witout any accountability with same team playimg here which played in australia...only changes are the replacements of two retired greats otherwise losers have just been shuffled in and out of team we could have planned this and these loses could have been reduced but now i fear most young players will debut in south africa and take time to settle in so this is gonna continue for 2 years more i think :sad:
Agreed with everything. All those people who were against me when I suggested Yuvi is a proven failure at test level and Sachin/ Dhoni needs to go NOW (this was before the Eng series btw), fanboys were quick to bring up stats and weird logics. This is what I was afraid. Now only the Aus series is remaining before our next batch of away tours. With things as it is today, I don't even see new inclusions against Aus as well :((
Agreed with everything. All those people who were against me when I suggested Yuvi is a proven failure at test level and Sachin/ Dhoni needs to go NOW (this was before the Eng series btw)' date=' fanboys were quick to bring up stats and weird logics. This is what I was afraid. Now only the Aus series is remaining before our next batch of away tours. With things as it is today, I don't even see new inclusions against Aus as well :(([/quote'] i just hope who so ever the next captain is backed properly with players but case will be more like if rahane fails 2 times raina will come in:hysterical: and even i was against inclusion of yuvi i wanted tiwary...:--D

Looks like the "I hate IPL" club is growing... Welcome. :--D IPL should have never been inclusive of national team players.. from any country.. It should have been purely local players playing in ranji level or below.. much like College Football in the US. I've been berating about this for years.. now it's time to bear the fruition of IPL.

i just hope who so ever the next captain is backed properly with players but case will be more like if rahane fails 2 times raina will come in:hysterical: and even i was against inclusion of yuvi i wanted tiwary...:--D
That is the problwm. Why is this hypocracy with others then? Gauti failed for 2168367 times still we persisted with him. Same with Dhoni with the bat. Why should Rahane be given only 2 chances? Either play him a whole series or go along with getting pummeled left, right and centre
well i honestly stopped caring abt this team after 2nd whitewash when no player was booted.. who wants to bet a series win against pakistan in odis where gambhir might score runs will save him again ? utalk i will be back7ng pakiatan this time around even against india plz play properly :mad: anyway im gonna study bye :p exam hai aaj:giggle:
Tera hamesha hi exams rehta hai kya re? I wonder match ke din tu online kaise rehta hai pura time :winky:
Is it better then India's record in tests? I think so. We've won more then we've lost.:yay:
In the 2000s, India and England have an identical win-loss ratio in Tests (1:48). And that is supposed to be your best decade ever, huh?

Blame BCCI for having a packed schedule-Yes Blame BCCI for giving players a longer rope than they deserve-Yes But how can you blame BCCI for making money...that's the most idiotic statement ever,If IPL is a money spinning venture-then what's wrong with BCCI or the players prioritizing it. These statements make no sense whatsoever. If a certain player doesn't care about test cricket and wants to focus on IPL,that's his problem...he is a professional and he is not answerable to anyone....if he is capable enough to screw up his technique to adjust his style to IPL,then he should be capable enough to unscrew it to play test cricket also...if you can't adjust your technique to play accordingly,then sorry you are not good enough. IPL is a legitimate cricket league,like it or not. Yes I love test cricket and it's sad to see us s*** at it but to equate our failures to IPL is stupid.....Yuvraj was not cut for Test cricket even before the IPL...Raina struggled against short pitch bowling even in T20 which he is really good at...Undakat,Mithu etc would s*** regardless. So why do we jump the gun to blame IPL at every first chance we get. This current team would have struggled regardless,blaming it on IPL is stupid...yes selectors have made some blunders but we are unfortunate that we don't have a lot of talent coming out from the ranks...it was our fortune that some of pool of 6-7 players who emerged and hit peak in the last 15 years also happen to easily make it to the top 25 Indian cricketers of all time...the % will be very high. It's time we stop pointing fingers at individuals and hope that our next generation of talent pool will come good.

No one is blaming BCCI for making money. Afterall they are a profit making organisation. But what about some responsibilities as they sole contoller of cricket in the nation? What about some ethics, accountability? You and me both knows how cricket in this country today stands at the mercy of a few powerful individuals, whether outside the team or inside. This nexus is not only detrimental to any improvement in our cricketing culture, but also is slowly but surely eroding our status internationally as a respected cricketing nation. The list is endless: 1) Recent spat with the journalists 2) UDRS fiasco 3) Team selection 4) Eden curator issu etc, etc, etc........
Indian team was ranked #1 eighteen months ago and there was this talk of domination. Fast forward to today and team is ranked 5th with serious danger of losing a series at home after getting humiliated in Eng and AUS. There is one thing I could not help but notice that majority of the fans have become very realistic and know they are in trouble and things need to change. Every team goes through this period where golden generation is on the way out and results suffer. Next step is to introduce young blood but they won't change results overnight. This is the phase where you need to lower expectations and hope that transition is smooth. But in my 25 years as a follower of the game I have seen fans fail to come to terms with reality and despair at the situation. We were a decent side in 90s and did relatively well overseas barring AUS. Then we lost half of the team after a disastrous 03 world cup. Team started to struggle and it was hard for fans to accept. Every new player was hailed the next Sachin, Anwar and Waqar. We did not win a single test match for nearly three years. It was only after the fixing saga expectations came down and guess what results improved. Our test team is very settled and steadily improving. Kudos to Indian fans for recognising the whole situation and lowering their expectations. On odd occasion you see a KT but mostly ICF has handled this with dignity and maturity. This is how it should be.
Your problem was/is much more related to your political situation.You cannot expect a country to dominate sport when no foreign country wants to tour them.I beileive that Pakistan could had dominated or could be very good team if you situation was better
People are blaming BCCI for putting money before their primary interest i.e. welfare and health of cricket in India.

A nice thread U_Talk bhai. Yes, most of us here agree that it's a transition period and we'll have to swallow a few bitter pills to eventually get to a particular stage. BTW, lowring the expectations wasn't that tough for us coz if go back a decade, we sucked the same way as we now :winky:. Just saying.

Special K my friend how are you. I have a quiz question for you. Your world beating Eng team could not win a test series against a certain team at your home ground for 24 years over 5 test series in 80s and 90s. Can you name that team? Hint it's not AUS.
Another one for you Special K, against which team could you never win against either home or away for a 15-year period between 1996 and 2011? Hint, it's not Australia. England are a historical disgrace.
india has never been a great test paying side ' date=' as much as it hurts but its a fact ,even in 2003-04 i remember expectations were not very high form the team yet we won in pakistan and drew in aus. england have always been a better test playing side than india ,other teams may have been better than england but india on average wasn't[/quote'] Nonsense. We've pulverized them at home nine series out of ten, and in 2002 they couldn't beat us at their home, ditto 2007. In living memory, the Poms are an uncompetitive bunch of sooks. And guess who their coach was in this generation? FLETCHER!
india has never been a great test paying side ' date=' as much as it hurts but its a fact ,even in 2003-04 i remember expectations were not very high form the team yet we won in pakistan and drew in aus. england have always been a better test playing side than india ,other teams may have been better than england but india on average wasn't
:finger:
:finger:
only australia has been consistent and after them south africa they always feild a decent side england were bad enough to lose many series even at home and we all know how they played in subcontinent until now west indies were gr8 side before and are shyte now england come in middle tier along with india :P
india vs england in india- ind won 15 eng won 13 india vs england in eng- ind won 5 eng won 27
Are you including stats played by some dukes against the parsees from the late 1800s into those? Be realistic, the England of 1996-2011 couldn't beat us either at home nor away. And from an overall picture, the England in living memory in all formats are a walking disgrace. They haven't even won their last tours to the West Indies, and get thrashed every six months by a superior team (Pak, SA, etc.). Rubbish unit.