Don't remember most of the beatings I got in school but I do remember one particular occasion. It was my first day in third grade and I had already missed my first two days of class due to an extended vacation at my village. We had this new class teacher who was disabled in one eye(later we gladly called him 'tera'), he came to take the first class of the day. He had given some homework the previous day which I had like usual jotted down from my friends for the fear of being punished. Now this teacher, he came from desk to desk and checked everyone's notebook and when it was my turn I extended my notebook to him with a big smile on my face thinking I would make a good impression to start with. What happened next is something I will never forget in my life. Before he even looked at my notebook or took it from my hands, he gave me a tight slap with his left hand on my left cheek. There was pin drop silence in the whole classroom and everyone's eyes were on me. It was so embarassing that I literally wanted to die. Then he asked me if I knew, why he had hit me. I slowly said NO, not realising what was happening and then he went on to ask the girl near sitting just near me the same question. She said that I gave my notebook with my left hand which was impolite. Since that day, I never ever give anything to anyone with my left hand ... Always use my right hand. That teacher went on to have a grudge on me till grade 7th but to my utter pleasure I always scored 90+ in his subject ... always being more determined to do well just to make a point to him but he never cared. :sad:
this is an actual WTF moment. Why/how is giving something with the left hand impolite?
It's a superstition. Carnish, I hope he doesn't teach yet. If he does please give the C some lesson. It wasn't your fault mate.
Its kind of offensive IMO - and even more so to me because I'm left handed. So whats next - not checking papers written by left hand :idea:

I used to fall asleep all the time while doing math hw....one time my mom banded my hair together and then tied that to a string attached to the ceiling so every time I fall asleep it would yank my hair and wake me up....:(( I was in a coed school. Our class monitor was super cute. One time I was carrying my water bottle without the cap on and kept walking while staring at her....of course didn't grow a pair to go talk to her so simple stare sufficed. While I was walking, I ended up bumping into my teacher and all the water splashed all over her blouse....she made me stand on the table while holding my ear all day....so embarrassing :((

Aww..poor innocent Texy spilled water on her blouse by mistake...:((
In my head it looked like this: 10477.rain-swence.jpg :giggle:
Bachpan se hi tharki.. :giggle:
Its kind of offensive IMO - and even more so to me because I'm left handed. So whats next - not checking papers written by left hand :idea:
It is indeed offensive & downright ridiculous. Have you watched the film Stanley Ka Dabba? There is a reference to this act. Just in case, even in medieval Europe left handers were not taken kindly to.
Haven't seen the film. Will do now.. Even now many people still look at left handers in an odd manner.
Read the main article Bias against left-handed people : the part about "forced conversions" is quite shocking.
Well, I know about it. I was going through etymology of words like gauche etc. and that's how I stumbled across these social stigma issues on left handers. Mind you, these were practiced widely across Europe as well.

2 incidents comes to my mind. From my 8th grade I used to stop crying whenever a teacher beat me for not doing my homework. I was in co-ed and I used to smile whenever a teacher punished me. It annoyed many teachers but the girls always smiled and liked me for that. I would pretend as if the punishment did not bother me a bit, but to be honest, it was brutal. It was painful. But, to impress girls, I would go to the end of the world. he he. I was in 11th grade. A Madarasi dude took physics classes for us and he used to beat boys to show off in front of girls. He was 24 -25 age dude, but he wasn't good looking.He thought he was some sort of hero and used to beat boys just to show off. We boys got extremely angry and annoyed with his attitude. During exams he used to threaten us that he would not us help in practical exams. He slapped my close friend in front of girls for not completing record note book on time. We boys decided enuf is enuf. He was staying with his wife, mom, and dad in one of our friend's colony. Me and my friends armed ourselves with Hockey bat and stumps went to his house. I took my uncle with me who had some good political connection. My uncle took charge and knocked the door. He came out and we forced him to go inside the house. I was just listening how the goondas and politicians dealt these issues. My uncle was calm but had a powerful voice and asked him to behave himself with our boys. He looked stunned and helpless. Although I was enjoying this, I did not want a teacher to be threatened in this manner. Later I consoled myself that he deserved it for showing off in front of girls. He left the job and later I heard that he joined a new school. Till date, I remember his terrified face when my uncle was speaking to him....:haha:

BP is back:yay: