Interesting Mallu Name - O Maa Mariyam Tera Naam' date= Saare Jag Mein Dhanya Hai :hail:
Mariyam/Maryam/Miriam are all different variants of the name Mary. It isn't Malayali. It transcends regional and national boundaries. :om: I think the Malayali variant of the name would be Mariyamma or something on those lines. But I've come across that only among Christians. Whereas Maryam/Mariyam are common 'Muslim variants' of the name Mary.
LOL - I have 2 Mallu friends named Mariyam. :haha: Both are protestants.
That maybe. Still it doesn't make the name Malayali. John Adams was an American. Doesn't make the name 'John' American.etc etc
What does Malayali mean then? They are from Kerala, they speak Malayalam, they only follow the Chrisitian faith. They call themselves Malayali - I went on what they call themselves.
What does Malayali mean then? They are from Kerala' date=' they speak Malayalam, they only follow the Chrisitian faith. They call themselves Malayali - I went on what they call themselves.[/quote'] They may very well be Malayalis. My point is that the name isn't. Most (Indian) names, irrespective of region are religion based and hence derived from religious canon. Be it Sanskrit, Pali, Araimic, Gurmukhi, Hebrew or Arabic. We really can't say that a name is Malayali or Gujarati or Punjabi etc. Unless ofcourse a persons name is Jiju Joji Kodaikanal Liju Chandy Babu etc :cantstop:
They may very well be Malayalis. My point is that the name isn't. Most (Indian) names' date= irrespective of region are religion based and hence derived from religious canon. Be it Sanskrit, Pali, Araimic, Gurmukhi, Hebrew or Arabic. We really can't say that a name is Malayali or Gujarati or Punjabi etc. Unless ofcourse a persons name is Jiju Joji Kodaikanal Liju Chandy Babu etc :cantstop:
Oh fair enough. Btw, I know a Mallu person named Abhimaun. The "maun" stands for the same "maunne" (pardon my transliteration) in Mallu. :giggle:
Oh fair enough. Btw' date=' I know a Mallu person named Abhimaun. The "maun" stands for the same "maunne" (pardon my transliteration) in Mallu. :giggle:[/quote'] There was an intern working at my Aunt's law firm. His name, and I kid you not, was Johny John followed by the name of some village. Ok, if that weren't bad enough, he was engaged (and now married to a girl) called Jini who had a brother named Genie (WTH???). If you're not psyched out already, his dad's name was John John _name of village_. His mom was a Parsi whose first name was Minoo, but her maiden family name was Bottleopenerwala.
There was an intern working at my Aunt's law firm. His name, and I kid you not, was Johny John followed by the name of some village. Ok, if that weren't bad enough, he was engaged (and now married to a girl) called Jini who had a brother named Genie (WTH???). If you're not psyched out already, his dad's name was John John _name of village_. His mom was a Parsi whose first name was Minoo, but her maiden family name was Bottleopenerwala.
I have heard all those names and have some acquaintances with such names too. None of this will beat the name shared by a colleague .... wait for it till you fall out laughing from your chair .... James Bond Singh. Yes, that's right! James Bond Singh ... oh poor guy. Once we had a teleconference with some people in the UK and my manager started introducing each one of us - "Let me introduce you to my team. This is Nishant, Arjun, Somnath, Kavitha and ... James Bond". The reaction from the Brits was legendary! It was almost like if they were searching for James Bond all this years and they have suddenly found him in India over a teleconference. :cantstop: