I was ecstatic to be able to get an interview for this position. I had been preparing for over a week now and went through at least a 100 questions. In the interview, they didn't ask me any questions. They gave me an idea of what their group does etc in about 15 minutes. After that they sent me into a room where their director sort of asked me about my current position. I was done in like 25 minutes. The guy before me spent an hour interviewing. I think they had made up their mind already and had no interest in me. They seemed to just rush through. Not even "tell me about yourself" question. The most unusual interview ever. They had a bunch of papers with questions written on them but the papers were placed facing down. Some of them even record the interview. In all the other interviews I've ever sat through, they would ask questions and write down the answers. This was weird. :((

How should I feel about my chances? I am feeling extremely low right now. There was nothing I could have done. I tried to sort of chip in with "Oh I can relate with that" etc...but i had no way to tell them about myself. It was weird.

i think u might get selected ,maybe the interviewer was/were pissed off after interviewing the guys b4 you..he/they thought it might be better to keep the interview as simple(too simple in ur case though :P) as possible

Two ways to think about it depending on the result - You get the position - Your credentials were a perfect fit and hence they didn't quite need to interview you. You had enough on your resumé which made them hire you without much fuss. You do not get the position - You shouldn't really fret about it. Why would you like to work for a team/manager/company where they judge a book by the cover without giving a fair opportunity? I would say, it's a win-win situation for you. :nice:

i think u might get selected ' date='maybe the interviewer was/were pissed off after interviewing the guys b4 you..he/they thought it might be better to keep the interview as simple(too simple in ur case though :P) as possible[/quote'] ya man, I don't know. It was weird. I was almost at a point of asking "are you not going to ask me any questions?" Never know man. I applied for two more jobs right after getting out of that interview b/c I was pi$$ed. I had applied for 15 different job openings but only got this one interview.

Anyone on this forum actually interviews candidates? I am sure there are some Managers, Directors on this forum. Has such a case ever occurred before? Also, if there are any interviewers on this forum, could you tell the rest of us what you look for in a candidate.

How experienced are you for the job, sometimes they give up after you tell a little bit about what you are currently doing as they know that the candidate is too experienced or inexperienced for the role. BTW I went for a ****ing 5 hrs of interviews yesterday for a role (and I have 12+ years of exp) and after ****ing 4.5 hrs they gave me an excel and SQL test. Kya chutias hain, I was talking about strategies and vision and they in the end told me they want Analyst .. chutiye salay .. wasted my day off

I am fairly knowledgeable in the field. I have been in my current position for about 14 months full time and 12 months before that as an Intern. The job I was interviewing for was an entry level job. This position is very similar to what I am doing right now as far as work type, the challenges and the work routine. I obviously want to up my game from where I am right now. I felt fit for this position b/c I had the right combination of education and related work experience in the same company. Bloody h3ll ... it was depressing. I suited up, did some speaking practice, prepared for different interview type questions but to no avail. man, 5 hour interview! that must be insane. Do you still want that job? if they offered it. I usually try to be friendly with the interviewers. That helps me be confident and responsive.
hmm if its entry level then maybe they already got the # of candidates that they needed. Is there any recruiter involved, if so then email him and find out WTF happened ? I took a day off, the job was Managerial and I was trying to push it Director level aur un saalon ne mujhe Analyst ka test de dala :hysterical: . No way Im doing the job unless I clear out what I want to do matches what they want me to do. I have done few all day interviews, for my current role I met with the SVP for an hour, VP for 4 ****ing hrs and then the team for 5 hrs. All these were on different days so it wasnt really bad :P
Ya, since I work at the same company, I looked up the hiring manager's calendar (since it was open to all). He had nine slots marked as "Private Meeting" and one of them was my interview time. I am not very positive about this one. Let's see where life takes me! I'll keep trying. It sucks when I do interviews within my company and then meet one of the managers in the cafeteria or in an elevator. Either he/she will ignore me or it will be an awkward silent. On one hand I would have a grudge for not getting the job and on the other It's just extremely weird. :haha: managerial interview mai analyst ka test :gossip: what the hel| were they thinking? how old are you? sounds like you've been to places and done some real sh!t that everyone hopes to do some day.

Firstly, they haven't rejected you yet. Sometimes interviews can go weird ways. Since, it's an internal move I assume you would have had to inform your current manager. That might be an issue at times. Also, as Desi mentioned that given it's an entry level position, they might have already decided on someone. But even then in my experience they would have conducted the interview properly, because it's quite possible their first choice candidate might not accept the position. But always think of an interview as a two way process. You are going to spend half your waking hours with these guys for at least 2-3 years. You don't want to get stuck at a place just for the sake of it. It's not always easy to think of things from this perspective when you are actively looking for a job, and at times getting interviews can be tricky as well. As for what is looked for in interviews, well apart from being technically strong, it's usually very important to express interest in the position asking detailed questions about your role, the objectives of the group, growth prospects, and a career path. Another thing on which a lot of candidates miss out on is not being conversational enough in the interview and treating it as a question-answer session.

I took a day off, the job was Managerial and I was trying to push it Director level aur un saalon ne mujhe Analyst ka test de dala :hysterical: . No way Im doing the job unless I clear out what I want to do matches what they want me to do. I have done few all day interviews, for my current role I met with the SVP for an hour, VP for 4 ****ing hrs and then the team for 5 hrs. All these were on different days so it wasnt really bad :P
WTF! Job description mein nahin likha that level kya? Or did they write manager and then decided they want analyst? :hysterical:
How should I feel about my chances? I am feeling extremely low right now. There was nothing I could have done. I tried to sort of chip in with "Oh I can relate with that" etc...but i had no way to tell them about myself. It was weird.
Was in a similar predicament when I applied for an investment gig. Made idle chit-chat with the boss. Calls me a few days later and say's I'm selected. On one hand he was super polite and cheerful, but on the other hand, he didn't give me a clue about the interview. But I'm pushy by nature, I asked him if should call him back etc etc. He told me to be optimistic. So that kinda eased my worries. You stated that it's an entry level position so I would guess there is the possibility that they went easy on the interview. Cos I guess there is some sorta training process that will follow? So I'm presuming they saw ur credentials,liked what they saw, called you in, looked you over and voila I'd say you got the job!
WTF! Job description mein nahin likha that level kya? Or did they write manager and then decided they want analyst? :hysterical:
Considering that the market is hot and its almost impossible to find good BI candidates, they probably decided to give it a higher title to attract good candidates. On top of it I went for the Manager title trying to push it one level up so total kela ho gaya. :gossip:

BTW my interviewing ishtyle is very different, I just want to see if the candidate has the ability to learn, made an effort to prepare for the interview by learning about role and company and overall if they are soft spoken and easy to talk to. I might ask a very very basic technical question just to make sure that its not all chat only. Couple of candidates which I rejected but were eventually hired are now causing pain for everybody. I take a lot of satisfaction when people come to me and say that the new guy is a tool and I just smile as I dont want to say "told you so!".

The toughest interview I ever attended was when I was grilled by three senior (20+ years experience) engineers for 1.5 hours. Of that 1.5 hours, 90% of the time was spent asking really tough technical questions, they type of questions you'd only know if you were in that line of work If you lied on your resume, they'd find out about it straight away.

Firstly, they haven't rejected you yet. Sometimes interviews can go weird ways. Since, it's an internal move I assume you would have had to inform your current manager. That might be an issue at times. Also, as Desi mentioned that given it's an entry level position, they might have already decided on someone. But even then in my experience they would have conducted the interview properly, because it's quite possible their first choice candidate might not accept the position. But always think of an interview as a two way process. You are going to spend half your waking hours with these guys for at least 2-3 years. You don't want to get stuck at a place just for the sake of it. It's not always easy to think of things from this perspective when you are actively looking for a job, and at times getting interviews can be tricky as well. As for what is looked for in interviews, well apart from being technically strong, it's usually very important to express interest in the position asking detailed questions about your role, the objectives of the group, growth prospects, and a career path. Another thing on which a lot of candidates miss out on is not being conversational enough in the interview and treating it as a question-answer session.
I think this really really great advice. Something I ll bear in mind..
:hysterical: