surajmal Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 The UPA government has got the lay of the land. After the food security bill, it now plans to introduce a scheme to give away free land to 60% of 13.8 crore rural households in the country. This translates into free land for about 8.28 crore people. The package includes allotting 4,356sqft of land to each rural and landless family, and five acre of agricultural land to each household of nomads, notified tribes and small farmers with uneconomical land holdings. The proposal comes at a time when the election commission is seized with drafting guidelines for political parties to dissuade them from distributing freebies ahead of elections. Sources in the Congress believe that the national land reform policy, drafted by rural development minister Jairam Ramesh, holds the potential to reap a bumper electoral harvest in the Lok Sabha polls next year. The national food security bill is still awaiting parliamentary nod. According to a draft of the policy, circulated to states and other stakeholders, land reform — a major initiative in the 1950s — and measures like ceilings weren’t implemented in their true spirit, except in West Bengal, Kerala and J&K. “This policy will also delineate areas unfit for farm use and reserve them for industrial and other non-agricultural purposes. This will minimise the need for acquisition of land that gives rise to displacement of people and unrest,†explains an official involved in the drafting of the policy. The rural development ministry will soon convene a meeting of state revenue ministers before sending the draft policy to the cabinet for approval. As per available data, 41.63% of households in India don’t own land other than their homestead. Also, 31.12% are totally landless and those with minor land-holdings, which measure less than 1 hectare, make up a third. The government’s target is the 60% of rural households that owns just 5% of the country’s land. A staggering 55% of land is owned by just 10% population. Land as an imperishable asset is highly-valued in villages. It not only bestows economic independence, but also imparts a social status. Analysts say the Congress is banking on this psyche. But party leaders are not counting their chickens yet. They are worried about states’ involvement in implementing this policy. State Congress leaders have been complaining that CMs of Opposition-rules states tweak the Centre’s flagship schemes and sell them to the public as their own welfare programmes. http://www.dnaindia.com/india/1875465/report-dna-special-govt-plans-to-give-away-free-land-to-60pct-of-13-8-crore-rural-households :yay: Another term of Congis coming up. How prepared are you?
Ghost Buster Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 bullsht...congress fears modi, that's the truth. this is a gimmick to win next elections which they will not. people had enough of their ****
FischerTal Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 jeb mein 2 paise nahi hain, aur crores dene chale.... Jai Ho Sonia Mata
Clarke Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 I'm going slightly, not fully off topic but the point needs to be made: How is the kachchadhari party and its fascist leader supposed to compete with these tactics ? If you're giving ever increasing handouts every election year, any opposition leader would obviously have their **** handed to them in the elections. The scams in the farm loan waiver scheme aside, they didn't have any explanation on who was footing the bill. Five years later, we're in much deeper financial trouble and moving towards greater largesse measures. Take a wild guess which way the economy shall be heading.
FischerTal Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 I'm going slightly, not fully off topic but the point needs to be made: How is the kachchadhari party and its fascist leader supposed to compete with these tactics ? If you're giving ever increasing handouts every election year, any opposition leader would obviously have their **** handed to them in the elections. The scams in the farm loan waiver scheme aside, they didn't have any explanation on who was footing the bill. Five years later, we're in much deeper financial trouble and moving towards greater largesse measures. Take a wild guess which way the economy shall be heading. rupee at 62 against the dollar with chance of going above 65..... which way you think its going? B->
Clarke Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 rupee at 62 against the dollar with chance of going above 65..... which way you think its going? B-> That's the near-term projection, I was thinking 4-5 years later.
FischerTal Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 That's the near-term projection' date=' I was thinking 4-5 years later.[/quote'] i dunno about 4-5 years, but if this continues on for some decades.... :two_thumbs_up:
surajmal Posted August 17, 2013 Author Posted August 17, 2013 Lets for a second suppose one is being anti poor when they raise their voices against the dole culture and reading/speculating on the economy is something upper castes do. This policy is bad from a pure farming point of view as well. Because with the increasing population, India should be moving towards farmland consolidation. There should be more mechanization happening in the agricultural sector. But I guess Indians don't want more food. And WTF is one family going to do with 1/10th of an acre? I swear to god (if there is one), this party is intentionally setting up the country for a civil war.
Clarke Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 This is what Soniaji is capable of, turning a brilliant & dedicated minister like Ramesh into an election machine. He was making all the right noises with subsidised diesel consumption by the rich and focusing spending on suitable initiatives like toilets.
adi B Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 lets be clear,this might be possible. 1st u rule,u indulge in thousands of crore rupees scam then when months away from GE,just flash out a small percent of corruption earned money to make such lucrative offers so they can get votes and again get back to power , the cycle is carried for decades
saneindian Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 Brilliant from Congress. As expected, they have some very good tricks up their sleeve and we will see more such measures as get closer to the elections.
asterix Posted August 17, 2013 Posted August 17, 2013 Nobody can beat Congress in these games.... What a major feck up by ABV and team when they were in power... I mean you don't get chances to make your govt. and when you rarely get one just completely feck up and lose the elections... :facepalm: