You can't make it in Bombay with these flaws, and especially not in the TV, film and media industry. The problem is nobody thinks he is being ironic when he is interacting with big name stars. In Bombay, complimenting someone on their fairness means you are fecking with them and taking their trip. And Kapil was definitely paying her a backhanded compliment by going ott about her glowing. But his mistake is that he plays up his small-town image so much that it sounds sincere to his audience. Just imagine Russell Peters doing the same bit and you will get what I am saying.
To me, it seemed he genuinely believes, n displays his belief in that act that fairer = more desirable. He says - aaj mujhe complex aa raha hai, waise main itna kala nahi hoon. I think you are giving him benefit of doubt even when there isnt much doubt. Although yes, in young Indians, the fairness obsession is (thankfully) far less than whats there in their parents' generation. But its not completely gone. I happen to have fairer face skin, I was with a 2 friends(a girl and a guy). The girl said - you are quite fair. I said oh, Ok. Guy said - abey thankyou to bol de, compliment de rahi hai..:cantstop:
432 million dollar market for skin whitening product lol That is just wow. Don't think any country will come anywhere close to that.
:hysterical: You only have avatars of very fair skinned models and you are talking about fair skin obsession.
Displaying too much jatt-ness (by siddhu, mikka etc) and punjabiyat - quite lame and immature. Tells about flaws in their upbringing and mindset actually. I dont mind making fun of physical appearances (thin-ness, fatness, shortness, tallness etc) . Edit: I am sorry, I thought you were talking abt it all episodes not just yesterday's episode. I didnt watch yesterday's one in full(may have watched for 10 mins only I guess).
I am just talking abt yesterday's episode.. that too a part of it. I don't watch that program in general. It was very over the top and I don't think it was very respectable treatment to Kareena. But of course she seemed to appreciate that and it is just my perspective.
To me, it seemed he genuinely believes, n displays his belief in that act that fairer = more desirable. He says - aaj mujhe complex aa raha hai, waise main itna kala nahi hoon. I think you are giving him benefit of doubt even when there isnt much doubt. Although yes, in young Indians, the fairness obsession is (thankfully) far less than whats there in their parents' generation. But its not completely gone. I happen to have fairer face skin, I was with a 2 friends(a girl and a guy). The girl said - you are quite fair. I said oh, Ok. Guy said - abey thankyou to bol de, compliment de rahi hai..:cantstop:
I don't think young indians have less fair skin obsession.Look at Tv commercials most women their which are shown as wives or Gfs are very fair skinned when in reality very few any of common Indian will have wife like this
Lol I am not giving him the benefit of doubt or anything. This city is not kind to *******s. If he had these kinds of issues he would never make it this far. And do you seriously think he is going to openly talk about his complexes?
I don't think young indians have less fair skin obsession.Look at Tv commercials most women their which are shown as wives or Gfs are very fair skinned when in reality very few any of common Indian will have wife like this
you dont think its relatively less? I think otherwise. Its far less in younger people on average than what I find in people of my dadi, nani and parents' generation.
Lol I am not giving him the benefit of doubt or anything. This city is not kind to *******s. If he had these kinds of issues he would never make it this far. And do you seriously think he is going to openly talk about his complexes?
I am surprised you think this way. I mean you've already got people like srk etc doing male fairness cream ads openly suggesting fair = more desirable. And like mentioned above , people seeking fair skinned spouses/gfs for themselves, their children etc... But like I said, this tendency is less than what it was in earlier generations which is a good thing.
you dont think its relatively less? I think otherwise. Its far less in younger people on average than what I find in people of my dadi' date=' nani and parents' generation.[/quote'] In 70s we had Rekha and Hema mailini as our top heroines in bollywood.Now we have Karina and Katrina, fairest of the bollywood heroines ever dominating .Not much of indicator that fair skin preference changed May be younger generation has more of double standard. They are not as vocal about their choice of fair skin but keep it as secret. :winky:
In 70s we had Rekha and Hema mailini as our top heroines in bollywood.Now we have Karina and Katrina, fairest of the bollywood heroines ever dominating .Not much of indicator that fair skin preference changed May be younger generation has more of double standard. They are not as vocal about their choice of fair skin but keep it as secret. :winky:
I do not consider bollywood as the only or the best indicator of indian society, but since you've mentioned it, check out this post by domaink
Check out the fairness obsession displayed by Kapil Sharma from 26:50 to 27:50 in the following video:sick: :D - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOADiLb-_uU
Actually I happened to be sitting infront of TV when this thing came up. I clearly felt it to be over the top. In fact it was not the only thing which I found to be a bit offensive on the show.
How is it offensive? If he had made fun of anyone else being dark coloured then yes it would have been offensive but he was just praising Kareena and Imran. Infact he made fun of himself saying he would look darker.
I am just talking abt yesterday's episode.. that too a part of it. I don't watch that program in general. It was very over the top and I don't think it was very respectable treatment to Kareena. But of course she seemed to appreciate that and it is just my perspective.
:confused:
I do not consider bollywood as the only or the best indicator of indian society' date=' but since you've mentioned it, check out this post by domaink
Bipasha basu was known to be exception because of her brown skin. I didn't even knew that Priyanka and Rani are are not fair skinned. they always presented themselves much fairer what they are Hrithik-Roshan-and-Priyanka-Chopra-in-Krrish-3-Movie-Stills-Pic-1.jpg
If you want to make it up the corporate ladder in the West' date= you better be handsome guy or gal. If you have below average looks, you have NO chance in the West
this is utter BS. i work with people who rose up the chains becoming directors and vp's because they knew what they were doing and commanded utmost respect from everyone on their knowledge and their abilities.
:hysterical: You only have avatars of very fair skinned models and you are talking about fair skin obsession.
I still don't see connection. Tendulkar was neither model nor fair skinned. I had his avtar lol George harrison was neither model nor a female :)
Whats wrong with having that obsession. Don't people have obsession for hair on head ? White teeth ?.......selectivity is everywhere. Just get over it.
Having skin fairness obsession is being slightly narrow minded, in my view. But yeah, everyone is free to have preferences and I am nobody to tell them but people should not propagate them thru mediums like TV etc like done by kapil sharma.
I still don't see connection. Tendulkar was neither model nor fair skinned. I had his avtar lol George harrison was neither model nor a female :)
How is their no connection? Tendulkar , we all have his avatar out of respect.And I don't remember when you have George Harrison's Avatar. 90%+ time you have Avatars of very fair skinned beauties ,is it not an indicator that your instinct tell that these girls are hot and beautiful. O/W I don't see any other reason you them in your Avatar Now if people want to see fair skinned beauties then of course modelling industries will pick girls that are fair skinned and it adds to fair skin obsession
Most of the girls i use are either CNN anchors or some actresses. What is wrong in using Actress pictures. Stop reading mind. Clearly you don't seem to be good at it.
:--D. It leads to mother of all debates. Is it natural for people to get attracted towards fair skin or is it because they are nurtured to do so by the environment in which they grow?