Indian deputy consul general arrested in US on visa fraud charges

> not to fall sick as a doctor was expensive. I have heard some horror stories about the healthcare system in the US.
I have heard some horror stories about the Indian healthcare system too.
What is this obsession these Americans have for strip searches and cavity searches?She was not caught for carrying drugs .Bloody perverts!!!!
:facepalm: Before you enter into a detention facility, it is a standard procedure for everyone to ensure that prisoners are not a harm to themselves or to others in the prison. It doesn't matter what you're caught for.
I have heard some horror stories about the Indian healthcare system too. :facepalm: Before you enter into a detention facility, it is a standard procedure for everyone to ensure that prisoners are not a harm to themselves or to others in the prison. It doesn't matter what you're caught for.
N o one ever gets hurt in prison there I guess? And if they do...it is by weapons that can hide in a body cavity.....:omg:
Another WTF and "Reductio Ad Absurdum". Since, some people get hurt let us ignore safety procedures and increase the probability of getting hurt. kya farak padhta hai? And yes, you can hide weapons in your body cavity and also indulge in smuggling. Someone recently .38 caliber, 6-inch revolver in his butt. You need to open up to the world of possibilities. concealedgunrelease.jpg And here, someone hiding a cell phone in his butt in Sri Lanka. Before another WTF comment is made, here is the X-ray. Enjoy the visuals! :two_thumbs_up: 7a2c666fea713a13a8c054a943a54152.jpg Also, before you say "phone doesn't hurt" remember that phones aren't allowed in inmate cells. If you want to know the reason, Google. Finally, The cavity search is performed in private by an officer of the same sex. So stop with the moral lectures of purity. Detention facility is not ones baap ki jaagir, you don't want to go there - stop doing the crime.

Wrong with me? You called a "Standard Operating Protocol for Prisoner Detention" as perverts. The when I said it is for prisoner safety, you argued on the line of "but even after doing that prisoners get hurt so we don't need to do follow protocol". In addition, you also found it incredulous that weapons could be held in body cavities. I posted two cases to prove otherwise.

even the americans felt strip searching a consular official arrested suddenly at her kid's school was overboard and unnecessary. What exactly could a handcuffed individual smuggle into a prison?

She was not arrested in front of her children, she wasn't handcuffed or restrained and neither was her phone seized according to SOP. She was fully searched in a private setting by a US Dy Marsall and part of the SOP.
She was not arrested in front of her children' date=' she wasn't handcuffed or restrained and neither was her phone seized according to SOP. She was fully searched in a private setting by a US Dy Marsall and part of the SOP.[/quote'] hmmm...ok whatever the americans say. I guess they either suspected that she carried weapons in her coochie everyday she went to drop her kids off at school or she used the time between the arrest and the time they took her to prison to do this deed of stuffing weapons or drugs. right.
The US Marshals' website says "strip searches on prisoners in custody are authorized when there is reasonable suspicion that the prisoner may be carrying contraband or weapons and is considered a security, escape or suicide risk."
^ Not it doesn't.
Page 2 of http://www.usmarshals.gov/foia/Directives-Policy/prisoner_ops/body_searches.pdf
Strip Search: A complete search of a prisoner's attire and a visual inspection of the prisoner's naked body, including body cavities. The following procedures are applicable to a strip search: a. Strip searches on prisoners in custody are authorized when there is reasonable suspicion that the prisoner may be (a) carrying contraband and/or weapons, or (b) considered to be a security, escape, and/or suicide risk. Reasonable suspicion may be based upon, but is not limited to, one or more of the following criteria: 1) Serious nature of the offense(s) charged, i.e., whether crime of violence or drugs; 2) Prisoner's appearance or demeanor; 3) Circumstances surrounding the prisoner's arrest or detention; i.e., whether the prisoner has been convicted or is a pretrial detainee; 4) Prisoner's criminal history; 5) Type and security level of institution in which the prisoner is detained; or 6) History of discovery of contraband and/or weapons, either on the prisoner individually or in the institution in which prisoners are detained
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Devyani-Khobragades-father-Uttam-to-contest-Lok-Sabha-election/articleshow/28840900.cms
Devyani Khobragade's father Uttam to contest Lok Sabha election PTI | Jan 15, 2014, 05.29 PM IST MUMBAI: Uttam Khobragade, a retired IAS officer and father of diplomat Devyani Khobragade, said on Wednesday that he would contest the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. Khobragade told PTI that post his retirement, there was speculation about his foray into politics. "There is nothing new in it (about joining politics). After I retired from the service talk started doing the rounds. Yes, I will contest the Lok Sabha election," he said. Refusing to disclose which political party he would join, Khobragade said, "talks are on with various parties. I will make an announcement about it at an appropriate time."
:yikes:

Ohh this is down right hilarious. Resident human rights crusader first tries to justify then tweak custodial rape. Thin line, I guess... between non-jaahilness and jaahilness.

Ok' date=' point accepted. But, I also want to note this - A strip search (visual examination) [b']should not involve touching the skin surface.
I think you are reaching here. First of all it was completely unnecessary as their own rule book shows which would have in itself shocked and scared any person. Secondly how is not invasive and humiliating when you stretch open every hole in your body(that's what not touching the skin surface means) while someone shines a light and peeks into it? I bet even patients are embarrassed of doing this in front of doctors, but with arrests it must be extremely scary and humiliating. It doesn't matter if the one shining the light and peeking is of the same sex.
I think you are reaching here. First of all it was completely unnecessary as their own rule book shows which would have in itself shocked and scared any person. Secondly how is not invasive and humiliating when you stretch open every hole in your body(that's what not touching the skin surface means) while someone shines a light and peeks into it? I bet even patients are embarrassed of doing this in front of doctors' date=' but with arrests it must be extremely scary and humiliating. It doesn't matter if the one shining the light and peeking is of the same sex.[/quote'] I think I agreed to your point that the strip search wasn't necessary.