Anti-Modi appeal from Bollywood personalities leaves film industry divided Mumbai: An appeal from several Bollywood actors, directors and scriptwriters to Indian voters has split the film industry into two camps. The open letter addressed to fellow Indians says "The need of the hour is to protect our country's secular foundation. Undoubtedly, corruption and governance are important issues, but we will have to vigilantly work out ways of holding our government accountable to that. However, one thing is clear: India's secular character is not negotiable! Not now, not ever." The letter goes on to add, "As Indian citizens who love our motherland, we appeal to you to vote for the secular party, which is most likely to win in your constituency." Among the sixty signatories in the letter, which include well-known directors, actors, screenwriters, editors, producers and lyricists are Imtiaz Ali, Vishal Bhardwaj, Nandita Das, Govind Nihalani, Saeed Mirza, Zoya Akhtar, Nandita Das, Kabir Khan, Mahesh Bhatt, Shubha Mudgal, Aditi Rao Hydari, and many others. Actor Nandita Das told NDTV, "In many ways it is a call to vote against Mr Modi...not only him but all other parties that have in the past and continue to profess and divide people on communal lines." Scriptwriter Anjum Rajabali, who drafted the letter told NDTV, "Our sense of India comes from the fact that we are a secular country and if that notion is challenged...if that itself is vulnerable at this moment, that is what has compelled people to speak up. It is the right wing fundamentalist forces within the BJP that are making young people feel very insecure." But not everyone shares this view. Veteran scriptwriter Salim Khan, who inaugurated Narendra Modi's Urdu website today in Mumbai said, "My relation with Modi sahab is on the basis of my Urdu articles. When he had come to Mumbai, he expressed his desire to meet me. I met him. For me nobody is untouchable." Others call the appeal a conspiracy and unwarranted paranoia. Director Madhur Bhandarkar tweeted, "Shocking to see some colleagues, under garb of stopping so-called divisive forces, are themselves dividing a secular place like Bollywood. "Let's hope better sense prevails and our film industry elects Narendra Modi with a thumping majority. It's time India got a visionary leader," he added in another tweet. Actor Tusshar Kapoor tweeted "To cover up for corruption & bad governance, the 'secular' card is being stretched a bit too far! No party can claim the secular prize!". For an industry that has often been accused of being apathetic towards elections, this is unprecedented.
http://www.ndtv.com/elections/article/election-2014/anti-modi-appeal-from-bollywood-personalities-leaves-film-industry-divided-509616 This is going nuts... So appeasing = Secularism?? We have one crazy month ahead of us..
Watch this to understand why they are saying what they are saying- [ame=http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=f39eQS2TbKQ]Statements of Babu Bajrangi & other Godhra 2002 riots accused in mass muslim murders - YouTube[/ame]

'baat niklegi to duur talak jayegi....' Godhra riots can not be analysed as an only event.. Lot happened in background, lot of baggage comes with Godhra riots. If you want to complain about Godhra then don't complain about pandits being driven out of Kashmir.

India's next ruling party is also one of the world's worst Twitter spammers http://www.vox.com/2014/4/16/5621934/bjp-sucks-at-twitter BJP_spamming.gif

The Official Twitter Rules prohibit "large numbers of duplicate @replies or mentions" and " large numbers of unsolicited @replies or mentions in an aggressive attempt to bring attention to a service or link." Doing either, according to Twitter, can result in an account's "permanent suspension."
Praising certain aspects or policies of the BJP/NDA is now taken as Vote for BJP/NDA ahead of Congress/UPA!!!
Of course if you read a book, you feel the author is credible and unbiased, and is praising one party/leader's policies,vision and governance model and criticizing other's then you as a voter are bound to get influenced.
'baat niklegi to duur talak jayegi....'
You started it by implying that everyone who criticizes Modi for being communal is doing appeasement. BJP thrives on polarization. 2 people in Pakistan were burnt alive by a mob for desecrating Quran. These days, BJP is circulating pics of the burning bodies and the mob, saying this happened in India. Their people used mob-lynching video(again from Pakistan) to instigate riots in Muffazarnagar. BJP now has rewarded the accused by giving him LS ticket. In the video I shared, Convicted VHP rioters and their lawyers have been caught on tape saying that Modi Ji ne aur police ne kaafi sehyog kiya. BJP rather than limiting such a person in one state, makes him the PM candidate. Its cadre propagates that 2002 main jo hua uske kaaran shaanti hai. Justifying 1000 murders in a way...
Of course if you read a book' date=' you feel the author is credible and unbiased, [b']and is praising one party/leader's policies,vision and governance model and criticizing other's then you as a voter are bound to get influenced.
He has praised UPA too for its policies and governance. These passages are cherry picked for confirmation bias. On the contrary, the way to look at this is that Nilekani is advocating - free markets, urban development etc. Read what you may, even these hand picked lines from his book looks more an advocacy of Vajpayee government than Modi. Just two 4 mentions about Modi and two of those in the title in contrast to 14 mentions of Vajpayee. The author of the blog has conveniently piggybacked on NDA under Vajpayee's leadership to turn it into a Modi "wave".
You started it by implying that everyone who criticizes Modi for being communal is doing appeasement. BJP thrives on polarization. 2 people in Pakistan were burnt alive by a mob for desecrating Quran. These days, BJP is circulating pics of the burning bodies and the mob, saying this happened in India. Their people used mob-lynching video(again from Pakistan) to instigate riots in Muffazarnagar. BJP now has rewarded the accused by giving him LS ticket. In the video I shared, Convicted VHP rioters and their lawyers have been caught on tape saying that Modi Ji ne aur police ne kaafi sehyog kiya. BJP rather than limiting such a person in one state, makes him the PM candidate. Its cadre propagates that 2002 main jo hua uske kaaran shaanti hai. Justifying 1000 murders in a way...
Put up the evidence before a court and prosecute Modi then. :nice: And weren't you going to vote for BJP initially?
He has praised UPA too for its policies and governance. These passages are cherry picked for confirmation bias. On the contrary' date= the way to look at this is that Nilekani is advocating - free markets, urban development etc. Read what you may, even these hand picked lines from his book looks more an advocacy of Vajpayee government than Modi. Just two 4 mentions about Modi and two of those in the title in contrast to 14 mentions of Vajpayee. The author of the blog has conveniently piggybacked on NDA under Vajpayee's leadership to turn it into a Modi "wave".
To each their own. Different people can look at it in different ways.
then yeddy and reddy woke him up. :giggle:
Wouldn't have been possible without Aadhar. :giggle:
then yeddy and reddy woke him up. :giggle:
Wow Pawan Bansal, Chidambaram, Virbhadra Singh, Salman Khurshid, Ajeet Pawar, Suresh Kalmadi, A. Raja, Robert Vadhra were not able to wake him.