Sachin=GOD Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 there are rumors that LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi will be going to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat and C'garh respectively. The names may be announced tonight. So, is Modi going to contest from Gandhinagar???
FischerTal Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 there are rumors that LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi will be going to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat and C'garh respectively. The names may be announced tonight. So, is Modi going to contest from Gandhinagar??? he'll contest most likely from Ahmedabad West. safest seat.
bulbul Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 ^LoL, Modi dont have to worry about safest seat in Gujarat
G_B_ Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 IMO Modi needs to contest from Varanasi it will send a message. The margin of Modi's win regardless of where he contests from does not matter IMO. Most likely Modi is going to keep campaigning in UP/Bihar/Maharashtra. Makes sense he contests in the political powerful UP. Considering that Murali Manohar Joshi is the sitting MP for Varanasi , the fact that he will be sent to the rajya sabha is indicative that Modi will indeed contest from Varanasi
G_B_ Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 and speaking of Rajya Sabha, what are the new tallies looking like? Ie whats the party wise break up.
Asim Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 How long does indian elections process take? From start of polling to final results?
randomGuy Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 How long does indian elections process take? From start of polling to final results? About a month I guess. Will happen in 5 phases, starting sometime in mid-April.
BeautifulGame Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 How long does indian elections process take? From start of polling to final results? Usually carried out in 5 phases spread across 45 days . Usually safer states (in terms of local law and order like TN Guj) will go for polling in single phase. iIn some other states (Like bihar UP) Polling will take place in all five stages
Asim Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 ^ & do they start Counting simultaneously after each phase polling gets completed? or results from each region keep coming?
Sachin=GOD Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 ^ & do they start Counting simultaneously after each phase polling gets completed? or results from each region keep coming? Counting happens after all phases are over.
Asim Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 ^ & wait, I heard Ind use digital voting process... is it? If so, does'nt that get automatically compiled in no time? or they just keep it secret?
Sachin=GOD Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 ^ & wait' date=' I heard Ind use digital voting process... is it? If so, does'nt that get automatically compiled in no time? or they just keep it secret?[/quote'] yes. We use EVMs - Electronic Voting Machines. But the votes are kept secret and counting usually begins 2-3 days after the Final phase is over.
Asim Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 Counting happens after all phases are over. yes. We use EVMs - Electronic Voting Machines. But the votes are kept secret and counting usually begins 2-3 days after the Final phase is over. That's very interesting (and bit strange too) keeping our Elections 'culture' in view and I wonder how candidates, their 'supporters' n even voters might b passing all that silent phase since here it gets such electrifying environment that candidates and their representatives/supporters at each polling stations don't even get back their homes till they don't get or see results themselves. Here counting gets started just 5:15pm same day, if polling ends 5:00pm. Interestingly, Whole of Provincial+National Elections Process (start of polling till unofficial result declaration) for all country takes just around 18-24 hours. Comparing both countries, mainly its scale diff obviously and ind probably have no other choice but a huge credit to them for satisfying all stakeholders and making the whole process including results, acceptable to everyone because suppose if we somehow adopt that process; I am sure not even a single losing candidate will accept the result, blaming 'manipulations' and for kind of similar reasons, I don't see us adopting any digital polling methods too anytime soon.
G_B_ Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 Asim makes a very valid point or raises one. I am sure the bookies will know which way the trends and winds are blowing. Especially in UP and Bihar . They will conduct their own exit polls outside the EVMs and compile the data. It wont come out in the print media but with twitter and facebook me things that having it in phases is not such a good idea. Bookies were pretty accurate last time and even with the results in December for the 4 states. They did predict a hung house in Delhi and were the closest to getting Delhi right. Much better than surveys
BeautifulGame Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 @GB Which bookies ? In England? @Asim The main credit for that i think goes to our Election commision which is an independent body and conducts election process in a transparent process
G_B_ Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 ^ dude local bookies. Last i read some 2000 crore will be bet in Indian general elections. Though technically i can bet on the outcome of the indian general election Its all illegal in India but they still operate.
BeautifulGame Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 We conduct elections in phases because of logistical issues.We dont have enough security forces to conduct in single phase .
G_B_ Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 ^ "alleged" even in the article. otherwise there would not be a counter FIR i mean seriously, who the hell threatens a mill owner for 5 lakhs?
bulbul Posted January 25, 2014 Posted January 25, 2014 ^when Secular bogey not working people has to find some way right :giggle: