maniac Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 Don't get the Hype.....Very good show with some of the best performances seen on TV but overall it is behind Breaking Bad,House of Cards,Mad Men in terms of Drama. I will be the first to admit that M.M's performance was one of the best ever and Woody Harrelson deserves credit too as a lesser actor wouldn't have been to hold his own against that especially as M.M's role was more author-backed but as an overall show it is just a very good show but all 3 I mentioned are head and shoulders above it.
bulbul Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 I don't think we can compare them..TD is only 8 episode searies & it was bit unusual story telling. still BB , fillowed by Wire are the 2 best series for me :two_thumbs_up:
maniac Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 I don't think we can compare them..TD is only 8 episode searies & it was bit unusual story telling. still BB , fillowed by Wire are the 2 best series for me :two_thumbs_up: You should watch House of Cards and Mad Men,I liked them more than Wire but i just started watching Wire recently (only completed S1) and obviously since it is more dated haven't found it that compelling.It might have been a path breaker for sure,I get it.
maniac Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 All I am saying is nothing Unique or ground breaking with TD except for the acting which was brilliant
hhunaeh Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 You should watch House of Cards and Mad Men' date='I liked them more than Wire but i just started watching Wire recently (only completed S1) and obviously since it is more dated haven't found it that compelling.It might have been a path breaker for sure,I get it.[/quote'] bulbul and other political junkies should watch House of Cards. Great series for you guys.
bulbul Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 Not evreyhting is about path breaking or graound breaking etc....in a drama series acting is what matters more than anything. Wire is more like a laidback story...but it really grows on anybody who watches it..too many interesting charecters. [last season is bit let off] BB is intense drama and visuals. TD mainly about 2 people,it's bit unusual because story is not about solving the case,i guess many people will dissapointed at the end [goig by how people dissected BB ending to bring out any loose ends] any way exch to their own :icflove:
bulbul Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 @hhuunn,right now we are enjoying real drama,will see later. how many episodes is that series [2 season so far i guess]..doesnt have too much time in hand.
maniac Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 yes' date=' 13episodes x 2 seasons.[/quote'] Kevin Spacey ....Did you see S2 e1 damn shocking but you still want to cheer for the fker,now that's called making you believe :hatsoff:
hhunaeh Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 Kevin Spacey ....Did you see S2 e1 damn shocking but you still want to cheer for the fker' date='now that's called making you believe :hatsoff:[/quote'] yes i saw that. It was like a shock to jolt you into binge watching the rest of the season. To a great season 2 :hatsoff:
Lurker Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 Don't get the Hype.....Very good show with some of the best performances seen on TV but overall it is behind Breaking Bad' date='House of Cards,Mad Men in terms of Drama.[/quote'] As everything else comparing is almost futile, except it makes for a fun exercise. Breaking Bad is a great watch. But one can easily criticize it too. A smart chemist bashing up a Mexican cartel? Makes for a rivetting view but almost sounds like a joke if you think about it. Wire is/was very earthy and gripping. I was in Baltimore last winter and was driving through the project and Tower area, it is every inch like that. People selling drugs, looking inside the cars, the cornerboys watching for cops etc. Great series but not great dailogue I thought. TD has great writing. To the point, dark and mysterious. The best scenes were MM and WH in the car. You would have to watch it a few times to really understand what was being said. I liked that aspect of it.
Desi Cartman Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 Is "True Detective" Greatest tv series of all time? Game of thrones is one of the best that I have ever seen. It might end up as the biggest KLPD if the winter is not handled as well as the rest of the series. BB was more what viewer was supposed to believe could happen to him. I think it was pretty good. Mad men, I'm not a huge fan but my wife is, so she watches it everyday and if I'm around then I'll watch with her. I don't mind it but it's been 3 seasons and NOTHING has happened. Walking dead: first 2 season were good. I don't usually like zombie genre but I liked walking dead. They ****ed up big time in season 3. True detective: it wasn't gripping. When I saw any of the above (except MM), I would want to continue watching and start the next episode even if it was 2 am. There was this interest but with TD, sometimes I would actually fall asleep watching the show lol. I think the first and last 2 episode were good. Also, I like a defective show where the villain is around and one is sort of supposed to look for who it is with the director. I like to be involved and think and see if I got it right. I hate detective shows where random things happen at the end.
SLICKR392 Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 ^ Same here. GOT, for me any day. BTW, what about Kevin Spacey? Is he in True Detective?
bulbul Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 ^ Desi, no wonder you didnt liked it..it is nothing to do with villain, for that matter even investigation.
bulbul Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 Spacey is not in TD , they are talkign about House of cards.
Lurker Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 Game of thrones is one of the best that I have ever seen. It might end up as the biggest KLPD if the winter is not handled as well as the rest of the series. BB was more what viewer was supposed to believe could happen to him. I think it was pretty good. Mad men, I'm not a huge fan but my wife is, so she watches it everyday and if I'm around then I'll watch with her. I don't mind it but it's been 3 seasons and NOTHING has happened. Walking dead: first 2 season were good. I don't usually like zombie genre but I liked walking dead. They ****ed up big time in season 3. True detective: it wasn't gripping. When I saw any of the above (except MM), I would want to continue watching and start the next episode even if it was 2 am. There was this interest but with TD, sometimes I would actually fall asleep watching the show lol. I think the first and last 2 episode were good. Also, I like a defective show where the villain is around and one is sort of supposed to look for who it is with the director. I like to be involved and think and see if I got it right. I hate detective shows where random things happen at the end. They are all different shows, and it basically comes down to what appeals to you. GOT is a glossy, fantasy, sexed up over the top series that appeals to a certain genre. It is easy to consume and to be appealed to. The first time it really appealed to me was when the Mother of Dragon (forgot her character's name) was shown naked, from behind :winky: TD is a writers series. You will have to spend time and really understand the dialogues. It is not something that can make sense on its own. It is Gulzar vs Anand Bakshi debate really.
Desi Cartman Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 They are all different shows, and it basically comes down to what appeals to you. GOT is a glossy, fantasy, sexed up over the top series that appeals to a certain genre. It is easy to consume and to be appealed to. The first time it really appealed to me was when the Mother of Dragon (forgot her character's name) was shown naked, from behind :winky: TD is a writers series. You will have to spend time and really understand the dialogues. It is not something that can make sense on its own. It is Gulzar vs Anand Bakshi debate really. Of course they are different, very different but the topic is if this is the best ever tv series and my point is that it's most probably not. Overall other shows are more gripping and enjoyable for me. TD ke dialogue understand kiye yaar and they put me to sleep :(
G_B_ Posted March 15, 2014 Posted March 15, 2014 Its an above average show. Thats all. I back the posters who says whats the fuss. Some of the reactions , you would thing this was on par with Breaking Bad
Sachin=GOD Posted March 16, 2014 Posted March 16, 2014 I don't understand how people like House of Cards so much - IMO it is the most overrated show in the last 8-10 years. Or maybe its just that I've seen too many fantastic political shows so I don't like it. The old version of House of Cards was much, much better than this one. There Francis Urquhart looked menacing, here they've made Francis Underwood ruthless - doesn't suit the character.