beetle Posted April 24, 2014 Posted April 24, 2014 HAZARIBAGH: A woman set herself on fire allegedly due to harassment by her in-laws despite donating one of her kidneys to her husband as a part of a dowry deal about six months ago in Jharkhand's Hazaribagh district. Poonam Devi, a 28-year-old mother of two, died in a hospital here on Tuesday, a week after she set herself on fire. According to an FIR filed by the victim's family, Devi's mother-in-law had been torturing her for dowry for years. Six months ago her husband Sudama Giri fell sick after his kidneys failed. His mother gave Devi a written undertaking that they would treat her well and stop asking for another Rs 25,000 as dowry from her father if she donated one of her kidneys to Giri. Giri's family had taken Rs 1.31 lakh from Devi's father Barhan Bharati at the time of marriage in 2006. In his FIR, Bharati who is from Koderma district alleged that Giri's family kept on pestering Devi for more money. Devi agreed to donate her kidney after her in-laws promised to not torture her for dowry anymore. But they did not stop and she set herself on fire on April 16. She was admitted to a hospital in Ranchi with severe burns. Her body was brought to Hazaribagh on Wednesday. Police are yet to arrest Devi's in-laws. Hazaribagh SP Manoj Kaushik said, "I have taken up the matter and action will be taken against the guilty after investigation." http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/ranchi/Jharkhand-woman-gives-kidney-to-husband-as-dowry-kills-self-after-six-months/articleshow/34135681.cms ------------------------------------------------------------- The sad reality of women in our country.
beetle Posted April 24, 2014 Author Posted April 24, 2014 Woman burnt in acid attack by in-laws KANPUR: The in-laws of a 23-year-old woman allegedly threw acid on her after she refused to bring dowry. Parvati Gupta, mother of Renu Gupta, said the incident took place at her in-laws' residence at Marag Maitha village in Kanpur Dehat on April 5. "My daughter was assaulted by her in-laws. They threw acid on her and she sustained severe burn injuries," she said. Manju was married to Mohan Gupta on April 25, 2012. "They also forced to drink the acid", Parvati said. When she lost consciousness, they abandoned her and escaped. An FIR was lodged with Musanagar police. A case has been lodged against seven persons in this connection. No arrests were made. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/kanpur/Woman-burnt-in-acid-attack-by-in-laws/articleshow/33775683.cms?intenttarget=no
Deleted_User_1 Posted April 24, 2014 Posted April 24, 2014 India is a shyt country for women especially in the lower economic class. My blood boils when I read about this. It will be at least a couple of generations before things change. I have no hope for this miserable society.
Deleted_User_1 Posted April 24, 2014 Posted April 24, 2014 Woman burnt in acid attack by in-laws KANPUR: The in-laws of a 23-year-old woman allegedly threw acid on her after she refused to bring dowry. Parvati Gupta, mother of Renu Gupta, said the incident took place at her in-laws' residence at Marag Maitha village in Kanpur Dehat on April 5. "My daughter was assaulted by her in-laws. They threw acid on her and she sustained severe burn injuries," she said. Manju was married to Mohan Gupta on April 25, 2012. "They also forced to drink the acid", Parvati said. When she lost consciousness, they abandoned her and escaped. An FIR was lodged with Musanagar police. A case has been lodged against seven persons in this connection. No arrests were made. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/kanpur/Woman-burnt-in-acid-attack-by-in-laws/articleshow/33775683.cms?intenttarget=no Is there no more decency left in people like this? Well, it should not surprise me any more. :((
Jersey #10 Posted April 26, 2014 Posted April 26, 2014 India is a shyt country for women especially in the lower economic class. My blood boils when I read about this. It will be at least a couple of generations before things change. I have no hope for this miserable society. It's shyt country for 90% of the women at least.
Sir john Posted April 26, 2014 Posted April 26, 2014 too much pressure on women husband hopes family tradition
DomainK Posted April 26, 2014 Posted April 26, 2014 That was not dowry. It's a legal way to get an easy organ donation. They just found a girl desperate enough to give away an organ for a married life. The organ was the priority, the marriage was the license to the organ donation. Once they got the organ, the wife became a burden.
coffee_rules Posted April 26, 2014 Posted April 26, 2014 I think Indians rate marriage very high. Beti ya bete ko shaadi karani hain by hook or crook. Baradari mein naak kat jayegi nahin to!
Stuge Posted April 26, 2014 Posted April 26, 2014 That was not dowry. It's a legal way to get an easy organ donation. They just found a girl desperate enough to give away an organ for a married life. The organ was the priority' date=' the marriage was the license to the organ donation. Once they got the organ, the wife became a burden.[/quote'] That's a part pf dowry and it is how the other party manipulated the system.
Stuge Posted April 26, 2014 Posted April 26, 2014 India is a shyt country for women especially in the lower economic class. My blood boils when I read about this. It will be at least a couple of generations before things change. I have no hope for this miserable society. Its resides even in higher economic class .only hope is new generation in this country who can change these *****y customs .