Tendulkar turns down captaincy

beetle

:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: I am simply not able to contain myself. There is only one conclusion i can draw from Anbuschelvan's post and that is there is a parallel universe in which cricket is played and has a selfish cricketer named Rahul Dravid who plays for himself. Surely, he couldnt talk about the Dravid we know. Amazing really, but heck, we need such characters to lighten up the day. I implore any Indian cricket fan who knows even a small amount of cricket to read Mr.Anbuchelvan's post without fail. You will have the laugh of your lifetime. :haha:

He was the vice captain. He was in line for captaincy . But the selectors have taken so long and also said that the they would decide only after the 2nd ODI. That is pretty rude. And may be that is also what he meant by " seniors not being respected". Even if the selectors wanted time...they could have refrained from commenting......but then some people have to make money by writing columns....

:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: I am simply not able to contain myself. There is only one conclusion i can draw from Anbuschelvan's post and that is there is a parallel universe in which cricket is played and has a selfish cricketer named Rahul Dravid who plays for himself. Surely, he couldnt talk about the Dravid we know. Amazing really, but heck, we need such characters to lighten up the day. I implore any Indian cricket fan who knows even a small amount of cricket to read Mr.Anbuchelvan's post without fail. You will have the laugh of your lifetime. :haha:
Thanks for the compliments:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

We have turned around this headline in many ways, mixed it up with stats, personal reasoning etc etc BOTTOM LINE - He knows it himself, he doesn't enjoy batting when he is captaining and he knows he will fail His batting has been of sorts so obviously he doesn't need any pressure Let's be practical, not everyone is a leader IMO - Bring back Ganguly

Gulp!:y:
Gulp!:y:
At 5 down, you expect him to make a century? He won't field well, won't run well, might bowl a few overs so why not utilize him as the captain. I know it sounds funny but we all know why he was gone from the Indian team - he's back now so lets make him captain
Guest HariSampath

What made Sachin Tendulkar back out? TNN / Bobilli Vijay Kumar November 6: Sachin Tendulkar had more or less agreed to take over as Test captain when it was informally offered to him last week. Three days back, he decided against it and conveyed his unwillingness to BCCI president Sharad Pawar and chief selector Dilip Vengsarkar. What happened in the interim for him to change his mind so dramatically? Why did he say no after evincing interest in the first place? Did the Board put pressure on him? Or is there a mysterious, even more significant reason, for his turnaround? We don't know yet. Tendulkar has simply said he was very happy with the way the Indian team was currently doing. However, it is not so much the present which must have weighed upon him; it is not the past as well. It is surely the future. After all, he has personally experienced the trials and tribulations of leading the Indian side, not once but twice; he has also seen the trauma some of his successors underwent from very close quarters. Maybe, he did not want to go through the entire exercise all over again. The last two years have anyway not been too kind on him. As he reinvented himself, a few of his fans felt disappointed; some experts concluded he was not the same batsman anymore; a few cynics even peeped into the future and didn't see too much of him there. But the little master-blaster overcame all those hurdles: he re-emerged as a strike force of a different vintage, the cog around which the wheel rotated. He silenced the last of his critics during the tour to England itself, coming up with heroic knocks. The stage was set for another great run in what ought to be the final stretch of his career. So around this time, when the captain's post fell vacant, it was only logical to turn towards him. MS Dhoni, for his all charisma and self-assurance, could have been a little too raw to take over this responsibility as well; VVS Laxman and Anil Kumble, more than anything else, were seen as just sentimental favourites. Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid would obviously not be too keen all over again. Tendulkar, for more reasons than one, was the obvious choice. Being the total team man, he would have quickly understood the predicament before the selectors too. He surely also knew he was the best candidate in the current circumstances and might have agreed... to at least consider it. Eventually, after careful thought and weighing all pros and cons, he must have seen no point in it. Why would he want to take a risk when everything is going his way? Why would he want to do something that might harm his future, hurt his value as a brand later? After all, there is a huge difference between a great player and a failed captain. bobbili Vijaykumar, who interviewed Sachin a few days back, surely has unwittingly spoken a few words of truth

Guest HariSampath
So you are saying this Vijaykumar dude is clairvoyant ...... any chance you know his number .... I need some stock tips ... facking retards ... jo bhi mann mei aaya woh bak diya ... kiska baap ka kya jaata hai .... ? :mad:
That post was not intended for you...just for those with above average intelligence:D

Vengsarkar tried to persuade Tendulkar TNN / Chandresh Narayanan MUMBAI, November 6: Tendulkar may have been India's Test vice-captain during the England series and also deputy to Dravid in the World Cup earlier this year, but his thoughts on captaincy had not really changed since the last time he led India in 1999-2000. Sources say Vengsarkar tried to persuade Tendulkar not once but twice to have a rethink on the matter considering the tough season ahead (after Pakistan, India tour Australia and then host South Africa). "He was not too keen and appeared very reluctant. There was no point pushing someone who was not enthusiastic about the job," said a source. Tendulkar's refusal is certainly a setback to the selection panel, which had made an informal offer to the master during the third ODI in Hyderabad against Australia. Tendulkar apparently had appeared keen then, but requested for a longer tenure which the selectors were ready to agreed to. So all seemed set for a Tendulkar coronation. But all that changed. Realistically since Dravid quit, selectors had just two options: Tendulkar or Dhoni. With Tendulkar turning it down, the selection panel's first choice is likely to be Dhoni. However, there is every possibility that they may look at stop-gap options in leggie Anil Kumble (37) and, batsmen VVS Laxman (33) and even Sourav Ganguly (35). This is because there are still some concerns about Dhoni being able to cope with the pressures of leading a Test side. "You needed somebody with experience in a series against Pakistan and Australia. For Dhoni, captaining, keeping and batting would be a little too much," cautioned one of the selectors. ------------- here u go.. frm the same TOI... :D contradicts wat vijaykuamr said.