zubinpepsi Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 the funny thing is, for SRT haters now average has becum a very important criteria.. when sachin was in form n having a good average, ppl start ranting that hes a selfish player playing for his records bla bla and hasnt made India win bla bla.. these ppl will never stop they work on shifts to bash SRT, so it doesnt get stopped any minute...
Lurker Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 How many times will I mention this? ODI != Test. Now go read that thread again. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: yes keep bending the rules as usual. For now have a look at the stats where Sachin comes 7th in Indian batting list whoopeee doo!
Ram Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 Whats his average in last 15-20 tests?......emphasis on the word 'these days'. come again Dude , Do you even know what is happening in this thread ? I wont waste my time listing why Sachin should stay in the team because it has already been done by Boss/Bharat/Holy/Gambo. Go read those posts and if you still have qualms , come back and we will take it from there.
Holysmoke Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: yes keep bending the rules as usual. For now have a look at the stats where Sachin comes 7th in Indian batting list whoopeee doo! :hysterical: Actually I did just that. SRT averages more that one of his possible replacements. His other replacement(who averages more than him by a grand total of 1) has a glaring flaw in his game, and has been worked out by most bowlers. Compare that to someone who is averaging 8. Yes 8. Even Srinath, if he was brought back, would do a better batting job than what Dravid was doing.
Lurker Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 :hysterical: Actually I did just that. SRT averages more that one of his possible replacements. His other replacement(who averages more than him by a grand total of 1) has a glaring flaw in his game, and has been worked out by most bowlers. Compare that to someone who is averaging 8. Yes 8. Even Srinath, if he was brought back, would do a better batting job than what Dravid was doing. Ah there you go, another twist in the tale. How can SRT be replaced, where is the replacement and all that cr@polla. Wouldnt even bother responding to how many youngsters are in the wings who should be given a chance instead of the buddha. As for Dravid-Srinath compare yes sure go ahead..a moment back it was all about the ability, the brains, the desire, and the work ethic to work on his game :haha::haha::haha:
Holysmoke Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 Ah there you go, another twist in the tale. How can SRT be replaced, where is the replacement and all that cr@polla. Wouldnt even bother responding to how many youngsters are in the wings who should be given a chance instead of the buddha. As for Dravid-Srinath compare yes sure go ahead..a moment back it was all about the ability, the brains, the desire, and the work ethic to work on his game :haha::haha::haha: Ofcourse it was about that, it still is. Dravid has all of those qualities in abundance. He hasnt been permanently dropped. He just needs to work on his game, and he'll be back. Remember, this is ODI's. We have suitable replacements for him there. Cant say that about SRT and tests now, can we?
Lurker Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 Ofcourse it was about that' date=' it still is. Dravid has all of those qualities in abundance. He hasnt been permanently dropped. He just needs to work on his game, and he'll be back. Remember, this is ODI's. We have suitable replacements for him there. Cant say that about SRT and tests now, can we?[/quote'] Hahahaha..And how exactly do you arrive at the fact that we have replacements in LOI but not in Test cricket? I am all ears, indulge me Holy baba.
Holysmoke Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 Hahahaha..And how exactly do you arrive at the fact that we have replacements in LOI but not in Test cricket? I am all ears' date=' indulge me Holy baba.[/quote'] Toh bolo, who are his replacements?
Gambit Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 Thats selective amnaesia sorry :sad_smile: For starters SRT has been cr@pping not for 16 or 11 tests. His average in last 25 tests is 35 so thats point number 1. Point number 2. After that 16 tests Hayden responded with series of averages 89 and 53. After 11 tests Ponting responded with 83, 77, 85. And what has SRT responded with....Ghanta mera. By the way it is a little stupid to say Ponting averaged 19 in 11 tests when everyone knows that his average took a hit in India. Of the 11 mentioned test if you take away his series against India his average would be around 40 I reckon. xxx Eh? What selective amnesia? Those are consecutive tests of their worst slumps. SRT is coming out of his slump(hopefully). Nearly made 2 tons in England. Bottomline, put your money where your mouth is. I predict that he will average over 40 overall in the 7 tests against Pak and OZ. Do you think otherwise?
Lurker Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 Except that Ponting also had a 35 inngs stretch between 99-02 where he avg 35 but scored lesser runs than SRT ... So 25 tests for Sachin is similar to Ponting's run, is that what you are suggesting? And please tell me the start date and end date so I can check some numbers. 82 and 91 Did not get this part. Sachin has scored at 82 and 91 recently? :omg_smile:
Gambit Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 82 and 91 against England in England Lurker. Bhool bhi gaye?
bharat297 Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 Look of course Pak and Aus will be a big test for him but it will be a big test for everyone. Not one player in that team would be considered a certainty to be in the side at the end of the 2 series', but the point trying to be made is that calls for him to be dropped NOW despite the fact that his form is pretty good this year and is getting better lack any credibility. In tests against Australia, it is imperative you select your best team and with Sachin in the form he is in ... and I am not talking about some meaningless stats ... I am talking about his timing, footwork, aggression, placement and technique which are all pretty good at the moment, and he is scoring runs in both forms of the game this year ... then you would be a fool to leave Sachin out of the side. Just like Australia would have been fools if they had dropped Hayden after Ashes 05, despite the fact that he was performing much worse then, and for the year before hand , than Sachin was in the period mentioned.
Lurker Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 82 and 91 against England in England Lurker. Bhool bhi gaye? Arre yaar main series ki baat karta hoon tum innings ki baat karte ho! Ponting came back with 83, 77 and 85 in a series bhai.
Bumper Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 Bumps please respond to post#94 in this thread http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=61067&page=5 :D Ok, i presume u are talking about this stats list you posted on the other thread. Player Runs Inngs No Avg R Dravid 878 25 4 41.81 SC Ganguly 871 25 2 37.87 VVS Laxman 865 25 5 43.25 MS Dhoni 780 25 1 32.50 V Sehwag 757 25 2 32.91 SR Tendulkar 762 25 1 31.75 W Jaffer 772 25 0 30.88 Yuvraj Singh 634 25 3 28.82 Based on averages, i see that Tendulkar is only better than Jaffer & Yuvraj. In this list, Ganguly, Laxman, Sehwag, Jaffer (was dropped after his 2002 nightmares), Yuvraj have all paid the price for their poor performance at some point in time, havent they ? The only three untouched in this list are: 1) Dravid - who is our captain and best bat in this time 2) Dhoni - who is playing as a wicket keeper (yet averaging better than SRT) 3) SRT - who is playing only because he is a super star. Now what ?
Lurker Posted November 7, 2007 Posted November 7, 2007 between 2000-10-31, and 2002-03-15 Ponting played 20 Tests or 32 innings and scored 1002 runs @ 37.11 (This included some easy opposition in the form of NZ and WI ) Tendulkar has 1072 runs from Last 20 Tests (33 Inngs) @ 34.58 (Minus BD ) Not nitpicking BB but I get a slightly different result. Filter: in matches that started after 2000-10-31, and ended by 2002-03-15. [FONT=MONOSPACE,COURIER NEW,COURIER]Mat Runs HS BatAv 100 50 W BB BowlAv 5w Ct St[/FONT] [FONT=MONOSPACE,COURIER NEW,COURIER]21 1149 157* 41.03 3 5 0 - - 0 37 0[/FONT] http://stats.cricinfo.com/guru?sdb=player;playerid=2230;class=testplayer;filter=advanced;team=0;opposition=0;notopposition=0;homeaway=0;continent=0;country=0;notcountry=0;groundid=0;season=0;startdefault=1995-12-08;start=2000-10-31;enddefault=2007-01-05;end=2002-03-15;tourneyid=0;finals=0;daynight=0;toss=0;scheduleddays=0;scheduledovers=0;innings=0;followon=0;result=0;seriesresult=0;captain=0;keeper=0;dnp=0;recent=;viewtype=aro_summary;runslow=;runshigh=;batposition=0;dismissal=0;bowposition=0;ballslow=;ballshigh=;bpof=0;overslow=;overshigh=;conclow=;conchigh=;wicketslow=;wicketshigh=;dismissalslow=;dismissalshigh=;caughtlow=;caughthigh=;caughttype=0;stumpedlow=;stumpedhigh=;csearch=;submit=1;.cgifields=viewtype And like I said before Ponting responded after this draught with 83, 77, 86 or something. COmpare this to Sachin who after 20 now has 25 tests@35. Sorry I am no Ponting fan but Ponting does seem to come across as the lesser of the two evils here.