good to know 700 odd crores would be spent on water,power reforms in delhi. the budget was too long and elaborated,too many 100 crores program some major projects are 2000 crores for state police modernisation,road building plan via NHAI for 38000 crores,100 smart cities to be developed,50k crores for municipal debt management.

congress,rahul baba slams the budget saying its a copy of UPA budget and a laundry list of mere 100 crores project.so they are saying its a copy of their own budget and then slamming it :hysterical:

congress' date='rahul baba slams the budget saying its a copy of UPA budget and a laundry list of mere 100 crores project.so they are saying its a copy of their own budget and then slamming it :hysterical:[/quote'] Yeah :hysterical: BTW when Pappu says that the budget is copied from UPA and it is disappointing, someone should ask him what aspects are copied from UPA and what aspects are disappointing - I can bet he wouldn't know a thing about either the budgets passed during UPA nor about this budget.
Fiscal deficit would be brought down to 3.6 per cent in 2015-16 and 3 per cent by 2016-17.
jaitley has confidently said he'll bring it down to 4.1 in this FY which itself is a daunting task but 3.6,3 by 2017 is pretty unrealistic
#Yelo RT @dibang COSTLIER Ciggy Pan masala Tobacco Aerated drink CHEAPER TV/LCD Diamond Computer Footwr Sports good Soap Solar power unit
whats the point of making Diamond cheaper?better make some common commodity cheaper like Petrol
btw did Jaitley present the Budget in Rajya Sabha?:--D
No. Union Ministers are allowed to sit in both houses irrespective of whether they are members of Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha.
congress' date='rahul baba slams the budget saying its a copy of UPA budget and [b']a laundry list of mere 100 crores project.so they are saying its a copy of their own budget and then slamming it :hysterical:
29 such schemes have been introduced - kuch zyada ho gaya yeh...
No. Union Ministers are allowed to sit in both houses irrespective of whether they are members of Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha.
:two_thumbs_up:
Of course, my understanding about economics is limited but the experts aren't helping me understand either. I either get slapped with a jargon (in this case operational ratio) or an opinion - "Railways are incurring losses" or an ad hominem "go to school" (Btw, I am very excited to "go to school" and learn - I do that everyday) .
Fair enough. If you're in B-school, do check out the difference between operating ratio, operating profit, gross profit, net profit, ebitda, etc. I thought if I pointed you in the right direction (operating ratio), you'd google and figure it out yourself.
Now, the point I'm trying to make is quite simple - railways are not in a loss per se. From what I can understand from the article you posted and URBF's comments, railways makes a 6 paise surplus/profit on every Rupee. Does this imply the railways are a profit? Yes.
No. Let me try to explain. "It implies that we spend 94 paise out of every rupee earned, leaving 6 paise only as surplus. This surplus, apart from being meager, is continuously on decline due to non- revision of fare. The surplus, after paying obligatory dividend and lease charges, was Rs.11,754 crore in 2007-08 and is estimated to be Rs. 602 crore in the current financial year." This "surplus" does not mean profit. This is operational costs. Any new line, upgradation, study, repair, etc has to be done as well. Running an organization is not as easy as profit=income-outflow. The railways does require money for additional expenses, such as land acquisition, infra costs, capacity expansion, safety planning, service level improvements etc. This is deducted after the operating profit, that makes the railways a net lossmaking company. Example - If all this was not done, there would be no IRCTC.
Does this say that the railways have a good financial health? No. Absolutely not. Does this mean I am against railway fire hikes? No. Absolutely not. All that I'm saying is the ridiculous figures of RAILWAYS MAKE x crore loss per DAY ... OMG!! OMG!! OMG!! need to be given a rain check. I hope I'm making some sense.
You're making sense, but your argument of the railways being in the green does not stand.

Interesting thing about today's budget - during the speech Jaitley had back pain/cramps so the speech was halted for 5 minutes to allow him to take rest and then he was allowed to give the speech sitting down - first time it has ever happened.

hes a diabetic AFAIK. Also its tough to speak continously for so long