rkt.india Posted July 15, 2014 Posted July 15, 2014 lol one has played 56 FC matches, other has 254 FC matches and you are comparing the number of overs bowled by them? The bolded part, post his retirement he bowled a grand total of 33 overs in 18 matches :--D Forgot when he was dropped from the team, he bowled a lot for Bengal after that, not retirement. :winky: Regarding first line, yes, he did play lot of matches but once he was settled as a batsman, he did not bowl much. He was considered a batsman who used to bowl. Binny is not much different, IMO. Honestly, do you think Binny is the kind of a seam bowler we need as an alrounder in test? Yaar, pehle 4th bowler ki chinta karo, 5th to baad ki baat hai. I will take Binny if he bats well like the last test, but wont consider the kind of alrounder we need. For me, BK looks better alrounder.
Straight Drive Posted July 15, 2014 Posted July 15, 2014 lol one has played 56 FC matches, other has 254 FC matches and you are comparing the number of overs bowled by them? The bolded part, post his retirement he bowled a grand total of 33 overs in 18 matches :--D They both cannot be compared as one of them was a specialist batsman, forget how many matches they played etc. One was looking for a spot as specialist and other isn't. Binny will be judged on how well he bats and bowls. In some matches he might do well with bat and in other matches he may do well with ball. In some he will do well with both bat as well as ball and in rest he will flop with both the skills.One test is far too short to select or drop a player.At the moment, he has done enough to play second test.
saneindian Posted July 15, 2014 Posted July 15, 2014 Forgot when he was dropped from the team, he bowled a lot for Bengal after that, not retirement. :winky: Regarding first line, yes, he did play lot of matches but once he was settled as a batsman, he did not bowl much. He was considered a batsman who used to bowl. Binny is not much different, IMO. Honestly, do you think Binny is the kind of a seam bowler we need as an alrounder in test? Yaar, pehle 4th bowler ki chinta karo, 5th to baad ki baat hai. I will take Binny if he bats well like the last test, but wont consider the kind of alrounder we need. For me, BK looks better alrounder. Did a quick number check on Cricketarchive Before making his debut in England Dada had a FC record of 51 matches, 3000 runs @ 44 with 7 100s and 41 wickets @ 40 55 matches, 2925 runs @ 37 with 8 100s and 82 wickets @ 32 (Binny's record) You see not much of a difference :)
rkt.india Posted July 15, 2014 Posted July 15, 2014 Did a quick number check on Cricketarchive Before making his debut in England Dada had a FC record of 51 matches, 3000 runs @ 44 with 7 100s and 41 wickets @ 40 55 matches, 2925 runs @ 37 with 8 100s and 82 wickets @ 32 (Binny's record) You see not much of a difference :) Dada bowled on flat Eden tracks. Binny on good tracks. Difference of conditions which have gotten better for seamers in recent years.
rkt.india Posted July 15, 2014 Posted July 15, 2014 They both cannot be compared as one of them was a specialist batsman, forget how many matches they played etc. One was looking for a spot as specialist and other isn't. Binny will be judged on how well he bats and bowls. In some matches he might do well with bat and in other matches he may do well with ball. In some he will do well with both bat as well as ball and in rest he will flop with both the skills.One test is far too short to select or drop a player.At the moment, he has done enough to play second test. It is not about dropping, but about identifying the right material. He is a bits and pieces player and such players have never been successful in test cricket which is a game for specialists. A test alrounder is one who can make the team at least on one aspect either batting or bowling. Like Kallis did for batting, Flintoff for bowling. Can he do that?
saneindian Posted July 15, 2014 Posted July 15, 2014 Dada bowled on flat Eden tracks. Binny on good tracks. Difference of conditions which have gotten better for seamers in recent years. Yaar Dada was bowling mostly to batsmen from Bihar, Assam, Orissa and Tripura. Binny has bowled to better set of batsmen. Also, Binny was a joke of a FC player till 3 years, has really turned it around in the last 3 season with a batting avg of 50 and bowling avg of 29, decent enough to be qualified as an all rounder.
rkt.india Posted July 15, 2014 Posted July 15, 2014 Yaar Dada was bowling mostly to batsmen from Bihar, Assam, Orissa and Tripura. Binny has bowled to better set of batsmen. Also, Binny was a joke of a FC player till 3 years, has really turned it around in the last 3 season with a batting avg of 50 and bowling avg of 29, decent enough to be qualified as an all rounder. Conditions matter more than opposition. I know his bowling was even worse. I have seen him since ICL, but still it is not good enough for test cricket. If he can bat well, he will make his place as a batsmen who can bowl a bit as a batting alrounder.