Do any of you have Pakistani friends from school, college, work, social?

fineleg

I had worked with couple in last 8 years. One back in Calif in late 99. The guy was a good guy. He was very upset with the millitary coup and political condition in Pak. He was respectful towards SRT and SG/RD but very harsh on Azhar. I had a nice lunch at his home with his mom and wife. Badhiya khana....
Have many stories like that. In my stint at Gurnee Mills, Chicago, there was this Pakistani family that operated a restaurant at Devon. The elderly man was a big baithak-baaj. Anytime he would see me he would sit and regale with stories. Mast kahani ekdam! His wife would cook in the kitchen, and not the cooks themselves. Good khaana. That was my theekhana for many a Sunday. One little known aspect about Pakistan is that Pakistanis love eating paan, but paan-leaves are not grown in Pakistan. One time i brought them a pack of Magahi leaves(the best paan ka patta in the whole darn world..:D ) and I can still remember how they made paan from them only at special occassions. In the end it depends on you really. If you are mast types you will get mast person, warna you shall be by yourself. xxx

haha... paan ke dardi... I aint paan dardi..Paan, jarda, gutka etc.. weren't my things. But most of my friends, rather all of them were into Paan and all. I know especially for Pakis it must be Nawabi feel to have a paan. Yes, you gotta be easy going to get along with people. Lurk, I am easy on political choices, fav cricketeers, economic conditions, food habits. I just stay away from those who are cheap, bad mouthing girls and very egoistical ppl. Rest, I can easily manage with. So never had trouble. You wont believe when I went to their house and told them I am an indian brahmin, they cudn't believe that I am going to eat on the same table. I didnt feel like I am eating with strangers but a decent family. Only strange thing I notice was this guy must be in his early 40s married to girl barely in her 20s. But none of my business.

Paan and Makhaan mithila's special food item.. First time on this trip I got to attend some Kojagara banquet boy they make tasty makhaan-kheer..

I don't have an Pakistani friends now..not that many 'young Pakistanis of my age' i know of in Vancouver and desi folks (Indians too) are pretty retarded about age-difference in friendships. The older folks start to patronize you after a point, so most of them arnt worth my time. But for a few years (many years ago), one of my 3 best friends was a Kashmiri-Pakistani ( kashmiri who's family immigrated to Pakistan during partition). Got along fabulously with him and we still stay in occasioal email touch.

Quite a few pakistanis at my university, though almost all of them are limited to the undergraduate school (a rather telling statistic even though its legitimacy is considerably questionable: the percentage of graduate students of pakistan origin out of all the graduate students from south asia whom i have encountered in either the electrical engineering, the mathematics or the economics department is 0! though in the matter of full disclosure i suspect a good number of them in the computer science department). Quite a few others while playing cricket and almost all of them are either fast bowlers or hard hitting batsmen. that can also be read as: pace but little control, and limited to mid wicket area shot selection. However, my most significant contact with anyone of pakistani origin is one of my best friends: Raazi. Since in the undergrad years i did not learn to drive or possess a car, he gave me a ride to school everyday between 2001 and 2002. i am also indebted to him for teaching me C and saving me upto 15% on my auto insurance (his brother in law ran a automobile insurance agency). I did date a pakistani girl who was quite adorable, but rather chatty. of course it had disaster written all over it, and once my aunt (for all practical purposes equivalent to my mother) figured out what on earth was happening, she forbade it. In retrospect that was a telling moment since then i have indulged in interracial dating almost exclusively as a protest against the bigotry of my beloved parents.

are pakistani girls more reserve then their indian counter parts..? do they have any reservations or social and peer pressure when they are dealing wth indian guys..? how is the equation of indian girls with pakistani guys..? what is the mentality of pakistani guys when they befriend indian girls..? and what is the thinking of indian guys..when they befriend pakistani girls..? who is more difficult to bring around..? Pakistani or indian girl..?
i have not really noticed a difference between pakistani or indian girls in social situations. its more about individual personalities. either can be reserved and either can be rather jovial. there are a few who are brought up on an intense doze of religion but again that happens either ways. however, i have noticed that indian girls are more humorous and pakistani girls more mature. though again, sweeping generalizations that ought not to apply in all cases. most pakistani girls are quite relaxed about interracting with indian guys, there are however the few relatively new immigrant familes that urge their women to practice greater restrain. but this is not restricted to merely indian guys. as astounding as this sounds, there is only one couple that i know of where the guy is pakistani and the girl an indian (well second generation indian): Imran and Sweetie (i kid you not, that her actual name; she is punjabi so maybe that explains it a bit). They are indeed a cute couple and deserve each other. There are quite a few myths about pakistani guys targetting indian girls. quite frankly, both sides of the coin are smart enough to see through such a subvertive tactic. havent seen it much here. though again, urban legends do exist of such amulgamations with a more diabolical communal intent (and yes i do mean converting them to islam etc etc); predominantly in united kingdom. and as for who is easier to bring around, well if by that you are question the ease of achieving physical intimacy, my experience is limited to just one, and she was not pakistani so cant answer that.

are pakistani girls more reserve then their indian counter parts..?
Pakistani girls are a lot more reserved around here because honor killings is pretty prevalent in their society. Its rather strange, because Iranian girls are some of the strongest chicks i've come across(mentally/attitude towards life) and its so surprise, given there is hardy any honor-killings in Iranian society.
how is the equation of indian girls with pakistani guys..?
It almost invariably makes some hotheaded Indian guy mad that some Pakistani is boning an Indian chick. otherwise, its usually regular couples stuff in the desi context.
who is more difficult to bring around..? Pakistani or indian girl..?
Both and neither...women are mostly women first, pakistani,indian.american.canadian second. So it boils down to whether the girl is cool/annoying and that is purely luck of the draw.

I had few friends in one of my courses when I was doing my Masters'. In fact I rented the same apartment in which they were living. During my internship, there was a Pakistani couple in my office. My city has lot of Desi population so I happen to bump into few of them regularly

Just curious to know. Do any of you have Pakistani friends from school, college, work, social? Do you interact well with them? Respect their friendship, have a good time...etc
Yup lots from college, neighbors & friends of friends....if it matters, some are religious, some are not....as long as they're cool people, it's all good and we have a great time!

first pakistani i ever met was back in 1999, his name was faisal.. it was during my short stay in brisbane.. then next paki i met in 2002, and since then i have been meeting lot of pakiz here in states.. lot of paki friends.. though i maintain a good relationship with them.. i have to offer u all an advice.. be friendz with any paki but never really believe them or trust them like u trust any of ur INdian friend..

be friendz with any paki but never really believe them or trust them like u trust any of ur INdian friend..
Really ? why is that ? Just to tell you a personal story - last year my father had a major illness while living in the mid-east. Serious enough for me to cancel my vacation plans and head over there to take care of stuff while he was languishing in ICU. Some of his colleagues and friends helped out a lot - there are LOTS of desis ( Indians ,Pakistanis, Bangladeshis ,Nepalis & SLankans) in that particular mid-east nation. Only two genuinely came to help ( i didn't have time to get an international driver's licence, had to extend my tourist visa, etc etc) was a Pakistani colleague and a young Mallu who worked in my dad's department ( also a muslim). Our good old 'Indian' crowd showed up in the hospital with some flowers, threw a little party when he got released from hospital and thats it. But the guy who got his shift split in half, just so he could give me 4 hours of his time every day to drive me to the hospital, do the groceries, run around govt. buildings extending VISA, talk to the doctors/find out who the specialist is in my dad's illness- was a Paki and a mallu muslim. And neither of them would accept my desire to compensate them financially for their time- the Paki uncle even cussed me out for putting a 'mol' on his friendship with my father. The Mallu guy let me stay at his place , just so that his wife could keep me company and not let me 'get depressed' and what was amazing is that his wife was few days shy of nine-month pregnancyt & expecting back then, yet he not only helped me deal with the crisis emotionally, he drove me around several times while i was there ( in a situation where he could get called to the maternity ward ANY SECOND the whole time). Oh and guess what ? My parents have always been very active in the desi community back there- my dad organized the durga puja celebrations there 3 years in a row, so its not like he doesn't know indians or havn't done much for the indian community there. The ONLY tangiable help that came from our good ol Indian crowd (apart from the useless 'beta, sab theek ho jayegaa/bharosaa rakkho' cliches) was from the Indian Ambassador there, my dad's personal friend, who speeded up my VISA renewal process by nearly 3 times and another desi colleague of my dad who kept me up-to-date with his job-related developments(whether he is gonna get fired/laid off, what his recievable acct. balance is, etc etc). Just goes on to show how ridiculous your prejudice really is in the real world. This world works on one basic rule, champ- you get what you put in. You go in interacting with people with your pre-concieved notions of prejudice, you will get the same kind of prejudice directed towards you by most. You go in neutral gear and determine friends/people by THEIR nature, not their religion,race,caste,creed,nationality, etc. and you will find people even from the 'enemy nation' who will go out of their way to help you out in times of crisis. Give me a Paki like the guy above over 1 billion indians any day of the week, please!

Gotta agree with Bongo here Cricks :D ... I've found helpful people, and genuinely nice ppl from all communities. If you close your mind towards certain people based on their nationality, race, etc, who knows you might miss out on a great friend.

yaar i m not saying i disagree with bongo.. tmainly ppl around 24-28 age can be cunning and chalaak... old ppl family ppl are all good....but paki youngsters are perhapz aren't worth to trust on.. my thinking here only.. not that all pakiz..
The mallu guy i mentioned was 27 that time, less than a couple of years older than me.

Just curious to know. Do any of you have Pakistani friends from school, college, work, social? Do you interact well with them? Respect their friendship, have a good time...etc
Yes. I got many pakistani friends actually. To keep the friendship "clean" we never discuss cricket between us:giggle: