seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 lol.. money being given for aid in being compared with money given for Temple.It is money out of the tax payer's pocket at the end of the day. Money that has left Indian shores. Unless Manmohan Singh paid $5 Billion out of his own pocket. Whether for temple or other aid, this money is meant to serve only one purpose - to garner goodwill and build contacts for India on foreign soil. Same reason why foreign countries like Japan fund several Buddhist shrines in Bihar. China, USA have similar outreach as well. India too has been engaged in maintaining Buddhist monuments in places like Afghanistan.
Crookbond Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 aint that good? but why are you rattled? Don't act like with a memory of a gold fish. At least that one judge is Muslim or else secular vadi Wud start crying foul again.. I don't see most people including Muslims crying foul. Why FUD?
Precambrian Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 hajj subsidy of 100s of crores not a problem. but 4.5 crores paid to a temple is a big problem. arre wah.
Crookbond Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 hajj subsidy of 100s of crores not a problem. but 4.5 crores paid to a temple is a big problem. arre wah. Gifts to temple outside India - Not a problem Haj Subsidy given to Indians - Problem arre wah!
Raghav_12 Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 hajj subsidy of 100s of crores not a problem. but 4.5 crores paid to a temple is a big problem. arre wah. Huj subsidy is for indians. Money given for temple is for a foreign body.
seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 By the way, the Pashupatinath Temple is easily the most important Hindu shrine in Nepal and one of the most important in the world. It has a 350 year long tradition that its priests are recruited from Brahmins of South India. The former Maoist govt was against this tradition and tried to change it in favor of Nepali priests, but was forced to reverse the decision after protests. This temple visit and donation could also be a strong signal to reaffirm these historic ties India has to that temple. Its priests have always been from India for hundreds of years.
Raghav_12 Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Gifts to temple outside India - Not a problem Haj Subsidy given to Indians - Problem arre wah! Difference lies in the definition of India these people believe in.
seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Gifts to temple outside India - Not a problem Haj Subsidy given to Indians - Problem arre wah!$5 Billion gift to Africa - no problem. $5 million gift to pakistan - no problem. $200K gift to Buddhist shrine in Myanmar - no problem. Rs 25 crore gift to Pashupatinath Temple with strong historic link to India and a tradition of having only South Indian priests - big problem.
Crookbond Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Difference lies in the definition of India these people believe in. Next pit stop --> "You are NOT a representative of Indians. Read me AGAIN".
seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Super-secular India should refrain from reaffirming the linkages to Nepali Hindu heritage while China does this : Nepal to build £1.9 billion 'Buddhist Mecca' China is providing funds to Nepal to build a $3 billion (£1.9bn) 'Buddhist Mecca' to attract millions of pilgrims and spiritual tourists to the birthplace of the religion's founder Gautama, Lord Buddha. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/nepal/8582941/Nepal-to-build-1.9-billion-Buddhist-Mecca.html
Crookbond Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 $5 Billion gift to Africa - no problem. $5 million gift to pakistan - no problem. $200K gift to Buddhist shrine in Myanmar - no problem. Rs 25 crore gift to Pashupatinath Temple with strong historic link to India and a tradition of having only South Indian priests - big problem. I wasn't the one to start with that comparison. Now, you've gone back to your old ways of dog whistling and making up fact, eh? Mods - Can we please check if we're getting some users from Rajesh Jain (Niticentral) IP list? It might be worthwhile checking this.
seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 I wasn't the one to start with that comparison. Now' date=' you've gone back to your old ways of [b']dog whistling and making up fact, eh? You seem to have a keen ear for the dog whistle, whether real or imagined. Here you go: India gives $5-billion aid to Africa (2011) Read more at: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/p.../1/139212.html Mods - Can we please check if we're getting some users from Rajesh Jain (Niticentral) IP list? It might be worthwhile checking this.^^Paranoid much ?
veer Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Don't act like with a memory of a gold fish. I don't see most people including Muslims crying foul. Why FUD? Stop preaching and stop getting personal. you can bend truth according to your liking but I can't? where is Owaisi mentioned in that article? and what the hell is FUD?
Texan Posted August 8, 2014 Author Posted August 8, 2014 Amazing to see the amount of outrage at a relatively paltry donation (when you consider how much governments spend in giving out grants). Some people going to the extent of deriving actual cost of ghee also. :cantstop: Wow! And then there are people who don't even want to talk about 600 crores of Haj subsidy multiplied by number of years this subsidy has been given to satisfy the needs of one religion. Paid by tax payers belonging to different religions and they are not even allowed to visit those cities even if they wanted to. Irony at its best! By the way, if some of you guys haven't forgotten, this thread is about TMC and Congress objecting to Modi visiting a temple and in what their opinion is that not wishing people on the occasion of Eid. So, when you have some time after your daily dose of anti-Modi rhetoric, do read the OP.
Texan Posted August 8, 2014 Author Posted August 8, 2014 Mods - Can we please check if we're getting some users from Akbaruddin Owaisi's IP list? It might be worthwhile checking this.
The Outsider Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Always knew bhagwa chaddhidhaaris would consider Nepali Hindus dearer than Indian Muslims. Ample demonstration being given in this thread.
gslv Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 I wasn't the one to start with that comparison. Now, you've gone back to your old ways of dog whistling and making up fact, eh? Mods - Can we please check if we're getting some users from Rajesh Jain (Niticentral) IP list? It might be worthwhile checking this. Even if some one comes from Niticentral, doesn't he/she has the right to express their opinion, or only your opinion counts.
gslv Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Always knew bhagwa chaddhidhaaris would consider Nepali Hindus dearer than Indian Muslims. Ample demonstration being given in this thread. In same way kashmiris muslims protesting for gaza. same ppl who evicted pandits from their land. lot of peaceful ppl.
seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Always knew Khangressi circumcised reptiles will support fellow bootlicker Manmohan Singh throwing around Indian money in Africa and pakistan but object to Narendra Modi giving money to historic Hindu temple in Nepal.
asterix Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Pashupstinsth temple is a major Pilgrimage place for all Hindus... Lots of Indian Hindus visit this temple every year... I too had the good fortune to visit the Dham... :icflove: