bulbul Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 The most ridiculous statement made by the FM You are not running a charity Mr.Jaitley . Don't beg people to voluntarily part with subsidies if you lack the courage to eliminate them yourself. He already gave off,so he is asking whether others can follow same... Looks like you are one off those guys who wants Govt to take care of you from morning to evening even though you can do it yourself.
ravishingravi Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 No . No need to fantasize about what i would have said. Just read the opinions of Economists like Arvind panagriya or Jagdish bhagwati and you will understand the need for drastic reduction in subsidies. Very interesting. I think you should listen to leaders of party you support.
Clarke Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 ICF politics section is truly a reflection of Indian politics in the sense that there's no center/left/right in terms of opposing who you despise. I've heard it all, Modi being attacked for promoting solar energy while he was CM since it costs more per KWh to the BJP being attacked for not doing enough in terms of fiscal consolidation. Contrary to one or two dumbfeck analysts here who tried to blame Modi for 2004 NDA loss, they ought to hear the smart guys like Yashwant Sinha who have elaborated in recent times on how the economically underprivileged did not see any benefit (and maybe a level of antipathy) from grand projects like Golden Quadrilateral or the impact of a slight increase in kerosene prices on the election results. The BJP is learning well from those earlier mistakes by incorporating schemes on social security for instance.
Yoda-esque Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 ICF politics section is truly a reflection of Indian politics in the sense that there's no center/left/right in terms of opposing who you despise. I've heard it all, Modi being attacked for promoting solar energy since it costs more per KWh to the BJP being attacked for not doing enough in terms of fiscal consolidation. Contrary one or two dumbfeck analysts here who tried to blame Modi for 2004 NDA loss, they ought to hear the smart guys like Yashwant Sinha who have elaborated on how the economically underprivileged did not see any benefit (and maybe apathy) from grand projects like Golden Quadrilateral or the impact of a slight increase in kerosene prices on the election results. The BJP is learning well from those earlier mistakes by incorporating schemes on social security for instance. Who you support depends mostly on your religion and I am not talking about the non minority
bulbul Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Who you support depends mostly on your religion and I am not talking about the non minority +1. Issue based opposition is fine but nothings can be done about rigid religion based opposition.
bulbul Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 ICF politics section is truly a reflection of Indian politics in the sense that there's no center/left/right in terms of opposing who you despise. The BJP is learning well from those earlier mistakes by incorporating schemes on social security for instance. They are able to do this because Con party failed in last election despite creating few half baked social benefit schemes.
Sachin=GOD Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 A Budget With A Vision And A Heart Budget 2015 is a strong statement of intent and economic philosophy—a mix of market economics and genuine commitment to the disadvantaged. http://swarajyamag.com/economy/a-budget-with-a-vision-and-a-heart/
ravishingravi Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Middle of the road budget. I think the post budget interviews also tells a story of its own and who is being groomed as next FM
Sachin=GOD Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Middle of the road budget. I think the post budget interviews also tells a story of its own and who is being groomed as next FM ? I didn't watch any of the interviews...
Sachin=GOD Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Arun Jaitley's Budget 2015 sets the stage for a new economic order by Sourav Majumdar FM decides to plump for growth, eases fiscal deficit target to push public investment; significant reforms on black money, ease of business and entrepreneurship
seedhi Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 I don't live in delhi .I am against ALL SUBSIDIES. Subsidy bill cut by 10% to Rs 2.27 lakh crore for 2015-16 Subsidies on food, fertiliser and petroleum have been reduced by over 10% to Rs 2.27 lakh crore for 2015-16, mainly due to a sharp cut in petroleum subsidies. The subsidy bill on food, petroleum and fertilisers is estimated at Rs 2,27,387.56 crore for 2015-16, according to the Budget proposals presented by the finance minister in Parliament. The bill was Rs 2,53,913.12 crore in the for 2014-15 (revised estimates). The government has earmarked Rs 1,24,419 crore for food subsidy in the next fiscal as against Rs 1,22,675.81 crore in the revised estimate of current fiscal. Of the total food subsidy, nearly 65,000 crore is for implementation of National Food Security Act (NFSA). Fertiliser subsidy has been pegged at Rs 72,968.56 crore for the next fiscal, higher than Rs 70,967.31 crore estimated for this year. In fertiliser subsidy, the government has allocated Rs 38,200 crore for domestic urea and Rs 12,300 crore for imported urea. The remaining Rs 22,468.56 crore has been earmarked for sale of decontrolled P&K fertilisers. Petroleum subsidy has been halved to Rs 30,000 crore for 2015-16 from estimated Rs 60,270 crore in the current fiscal. Of Rs 30,000 crore for next fiscal, Rs 22,000 crore has been earmarked for LPG subsidy and the rest is for kerosene. http://www.hindustantimes.com/business-news/subsidy-bill-cut-by-10-to-rs-2-27-lakh-crore-for-2015-16/article1-1321639.aspx
ravishingravi Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 ? I didn't watch any of the interviews... Jaswant Sinha. Jaitley's health looks scarily bad.
seedhi Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Jaswant Sinha. Jaitley's health looks scarily bad.:giggle:
amiret Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Jaswant Sinha. Jaitley's health looks scarily bad. You mean Jayant Sinha. Jayant is highly qualified and suitable for the job.
Precambrian Posted February 28, 2015 Author Posted February 28, 2015 Yep, Jaitley looking really sick.
bulbul Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Jaswant Sinha. Jaitley's health looks scarily bad. Jayanth Sinha?
bulbul Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Speaker asked him to sit and read the budget..
Clarke Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Piyush Goyal is the future finance minister, not sure whether it happens in this govt but it definitely does by the next decade.
Sachin=GOD Posted February 28, 2015 Posted February 28, 2015 Yes....Jayant Sinha is the guy. He is highly qualified and Jaitley, unlike many other Cabinet Ministers in this and in previous Govts, has actually given him a lot of responsibility and is mentoring him pretty well. As for Jaitley - his health seems to have taken a turn for the worse since coming to power. Unfortunate for India.