In a perfect world, shouldn't numbers favour us?

Here is the medals tally of Asian games athletics http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athletics_at_the_2014_Asian_Games Indian won 13 medals. I am unable to see Pakistan's name in it can you help me how many medals Pakistan win's in athletics of Asian games :winky:
I'm only talking from personal experience. But then again, look at India's population and then look at Pakistan's. And then also look at the other problems going on in Pakistan.
I think it is pretty embarrassing. With a population of more than 1.2 Billion and all cricket crazy, you would think no one would be able to beat India. If I'm to be fully honest here, and it is my personal experience, that Indian males (generally) aren't as athletic as the Pakistanis and the Pakistanis aren't as athletic as other races. The average Indian I see here (in the UK) is more worried about their next maths exam than anything else... India produces good batsmen because it doesn't require much athleticism in my opinion. P.S: I'm not being biased here because I believe even Pakistan with it's population should produce a lot more batsmen than it recently has.
Why is your record so pathetic against Australia despite having nearly ten times bigger population? At least we produce a batting great or two every generation. But you guys still cling on to one Wasim and one Waqar for decades. Why sir?
I'm only talking from personal experience. But then again' date=' look at India's population and then look at Pakistan's. [b']And then also look at the other problems going on in Pakistan.
Who's responsible for those problems? As usual the victim card and excuses are out when confronted with cold truths. Pakistan's population is nearly 200 million dude. It's not a small set, and its ten times that of Australia.
Why is your record so pathetic against Australia despite having nearly ten times bigger population? At least we produce a batting great or two every generation. But you guys still cling on to one Wasim and one Waqar for decades. Why sir?
Why is India's record so pathetic with a population of 60 times more? But I've already said why, I clearly said that other cricketing nations outside Asia are more athletic than us. And regarding Wasim and Waqar, they are one in a generation cricketers...we still produce many good bowlers though, a lot more than India. And to be honest even we have produced a few batting greats such as Zaheer, Miandad and Inzamam.
Read up on my previous post here in this thread why mere size of population is bull ****. Whether you cultivate over acres and acres, or just behind your house, roses will be roses. And you really don't need acres of rose cultivation to produce 11 good quality roses. If you nurture properly, just one plant will do. See? The whole argument about having a bigger population to produce better cricketers is stupid from the beginning. Aha, so you admit you have just the two Ws to showboat in a history spanning decades of paki cricket? Since the retirement of the two Ws, tell me one good bowler who has "consistently" gone on to dominate the world bowling charts? We produce the likes of Miandad, Inzy, etc every generation, i.e 10 years. In the last 20 yrs alone, we have had Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid who are arguably all time greats and then the likes of Kohli, Sehwag, Laxman who are on par if not above the names you mentioned.
It's been 12 years since the 2 Ws retired. Shoaib Akhtar started playing during their careers and Mohammad Amir who started playing in 2009 should go on to dominate the 'world bowling charts' after his ban ends. Umar Gul back in 2009 was also the best death bowler in the World. I wouldn't call Laxman an all time great. Yousuf, Younis and Misbah were all better than him in my opinion, and weren't just limited to Test Cricket, apart from maybe Younis. Although, I agree that the infrastructure gives the western countries a huge advantage but surely it shouldn't affect India that badly? How do West Indies and Pakistan manage to produce good fast bowlers despite having a worse infrastructure and much much less population?
Don't confuse between formats. I am talking about test kirkut only here. Mohd Aamer is a promising one but he's not even anywhere (and shouldn't be) national consideration till he goes on to demonstrate for a season or two fully. Otherwise it's pure desperation on part of Pakistan. Umar Gul is a trundler who averaged over 34 in test cricket, and still somehow ended up being the highest pace wickettaker for Pakistan in last 12 years, not to mention all time 12th highest as well. :hysterical: Yousuf, Younis and Mizbah being better than Laxman? :hysterical: only in your la-la-land. Laxman pulverized all time greatest bowling attacks on their soil, while what has Yousuf, Younis and Misbah done? Pakistan "continuing" to produce good fast bowlers is a myth - check my seperate thread for that. Also Windies have stopped producing any good pacers of note since Curtly and Courtney left :((

Overpopulation is the biggest burden we have not the asset. We have 90% of our problems due to it. If we were 1/4 th of it I think we would have been better in Cricket and couple of other sports as well as economically.

The numbers do favor us. We were the only subcontinent team to have made it this far. South Africa made it to semi-finals but they are used to bouncy pitches. So, India did do pretty well. I think too many psychological factors led India down against Australia.

Might have discussed before but I would like to know your views 1) We have a population of 1.2 Billion. More than 50% is male. Lets not discuss the age factor here, lets just logically assume that in comparison to other cricketing nations our population is about 4-5times in size. 2) BCCI is the richest cricketing board 3) India cricketers are richest 4) There is a lot of money in cricket in India 5) Nearly every school that plays sports has cricket program. so why can't we produce an unbeatable team? Odds really favour us.[/quote this argument linking population to cricket dominance is flawed and does not have any merits..Indian families traditionally give importance to education over sports and thats why Indians are noted world wide for their acheivements in science technology management and other fields of study...New zealand with a population of 45 lacs keeps making it to semis and finals in every major cricket tourney . so the population argument is flawed... The money and rich board argument also is invalid...A simple analogy : Do Rich kids do well than middle class kids either in sports or education...
Don't confuse between formats. I am talking about test kirkut only here. Mohd Aamer is a promising one but he's not even anywhere (and shouldn't be) national consideration till he goes on to demonstrate for a season or two fully. Otherwise it's pure desperation on part of Pakistan. Umar Gul is a trundler who averaged over 34 in test cricket, and still somehow ended up being the highest pace wickettaker for Pakistan in last 12 years, not to mention all time 12th highest as well. :hysterical: Yousuf, Younis and Mizbah being better than Laxman? :hysterical: only in your la-la-land. Laxman pulverized all time greatest bowling attacks on their soil, while what has Yousuf, Younis and Misbah done? Pakistan "continuing" to produce good fast bowlers is a myth - check my seperate thread for that. Also Windies have stopped producing any good pacers of note since Curtly and Courtney left :((
Umar Gul is a trundler...wow. Being an Indian you should be familiar with trundlers and should know that a bowler who could bowl at 90mph is not a trundler.

Pakistani cricketers r worst athletes. Mostof their cricketers r overweight. Still delusional paki fans keeps talking about athletics of their cricketers. Not much different from their general population, pakistan has ppopulation over 20 crore, but in asian athletic games their medal tally is on par with srilanka,

:hysterical: If new zealand has population of 1200 millions then it could have been the poorest nation on earth Mass poverty starvation etc the country with just 8% of total area of india could have been struggling barely to survive rather than playing any sports
If New Zealand had a population of 1200 million they wouldn't lose a single game of sport ever.
Pak has a population of 200M, so going by your logic it should be beating/dominating every country except India. And BD (150M population) should be doing the same w/ every country except Ind and Pak. So what are the reasons that Pak and BD have not been able to dominate other teams in cricket despite having considerable larger population than other cricket playing countries (excluding Ind)?
Like I've said before us Asians are very unfit. Our diet is as bad as it can get plus if you look at the system it is very hard to play cricket and be educated at the same time. One main reasons why families don't let their children get into cricket. But India should beat us left right and center considering we have a similar culture. Why doesn't India? Lack of talent.

The problem is he average Indian sports fans. Whats the average attendance/viewership for Indias premier List A competition? Who was the last team to win that competition? less than one percent of the Indian sporting population probably even knows. If people followed supported criticize their state List A teams as much as they do the national team we would see a lot more depth in talent. But people act like cricket only starts at the international level and then wonder why theirs a lack of talent compared to other teams like new zealand and australia. I know the IPL is big in popularity but its still a mickey mouse tournament in terms of length and number of teams and how much the rosters change every season.

Nail on the head. Grassroots is more important than Internationals if you want to keep raising quality players. Half the posters on this forum complain why our bowling/fielding coaches aren't doing anything to fix our national players. All that should be happening in the grassroots level and above, not once you reach the international stage.