The Outsider Posted July 26, 2015 Posted July 26, 2015 Nailed it! Every religious zealot is threatened by the other religious zealots. Plus, it's fashionable to proclaim to be pro-choice, pro-gay-marriage, pro-PPACA, pro-civil-rights, and pro-illegal immigration, lest you don't fit in with the millenials in your workplace. Me: I don't support elective abortions (except in case of rape, incest and health of mother/child). Desi@party: What? You don't like woman making choice of her own body? Are you a Republican? Me: I am a pro-life, anti-PPACA Libertarian Desi@party: Not Democrat? Me: No Desi@party: You convert to Christian? Me: Umm ... no, I am an atheist Desi@party: You don't go to temple? That's not good. Sanskaar Nibhaanaa hai. Culture. Heritage. Bhagwad Gita. Thirukkural. Saffron. Swastika. Brahmin. Blacks are dangerous. Fight the Muslims. Christians are dangerous too. Me: I am going to get another drink. You want one? Well said. Only thing is that I used to be amused by such behavior earlier, but seeing how more and more of the demographic is going to fall into this segment, it's a worrying thought. In more than a few parties like this a common discussion theme is that Indian Muslims don't integrate with Indians once they are abroad. On the basis of this, they conclude that they are inherently latent traitors waiting for an opportunity to defect. I have thought (but not said it aloud now except on 1-2 occasions) that with the amount of religious garbage you guys spew against Muslims after having a couple of drinks what else do you expect. I just go more and more into the mode of avoiding these hate mongers than try rationalizing with them. Overall, has worked out pretty well for me with less of these desi parties to go to and the ones I do go to have sane people on the whole rather than punch drunk sanghis.
seedhi Posted July 27, 2015 Posted July 27, 2015 It's funny how RSS loonies start supporting libtards and the left on phoren soil because the boot of right wing majoritarianism is on the other foot there.And every libtard is dead against Uniform Civil Code in India while enjoying true secularism (equal laws and rights) in the USA.
The Outsider Posted August 6, 2015 Posted August 6, 2015 And every libtard is dead against Uniform Civil Code in India while enjoying true secularism (equal laws and rights) in the USA. I am not sure why you are quoting my post with references to libtards opposing UCC because I don't. Please elaborate.
gattaca Posted August 7, 2015 Posted August 7, 2015 Jindal wins debate according to only one analyst. Fiorina and Rubio are top though according to lot of analysts.
coffee_rules Posted August 7, 2015 Posted August 7, 2015 Nailed it! Every religious zealot is threatened by the other religious zealots. Plus, it's fashionable to proclaim to be pro-choice, pro-gay-marriage, pro-PPACA, pro-civil-rights, and pro-illegal immigration, lest you don't fit in with the millenials in your workplace. Me: I don't support elective abortions (except in case of rape, incest and health of mother/child). Desi@party: What? You don't like woman making choice of her own body? Are you a Republican? Me: I am a pro-life, anti-PPACA Libertarian Desi@party: Not Democrat? Me: No Desi@party: You convert to Christian? Me: Umm ... no, I am an atheist Desi@party: You don't go to temple? That's not good. Sanskaar Nibhaanaa hai. Culture. Heritage. Bhagwad Gita. Thirukkural. Saffron. Swastika. Brahmin. Blacks are dangerous. Fight the Muslims. Christians are dangerous too. Me: I am going to get another drink. You want one? I am kind of leaning towards pro-life over time (having kids yourself can change that opinion), starting out to be bleeding heart pro-choice. I hate the laws being taken advantage of by irresponsible couples and singles who suddenly learning they are pregnant by mistake want to get rid of their mistake. At the same time, I hate that christian evangelists support this from a pure religious (killing christian babies and lessening their population) point of view, and not for scientific reasons. It should not matter where the life is saved from, in the end. My parties in US had crowd joining together over a drink and ridiculing India! (esp Air-India!), I used to avoid such crowd. Typical Indian NRI stereo-types.
Desi Cartman Posted August 7, 2015 Posted August 7, 2015 Jindal wins debate according to only one analyst. Fiorina and Rubio are top though according to lot of analysts. Jindal didnt even qualify for the real debate :giggle:
gattaca Posted August 7, 2015 Posted August 7, 2015 Jindal didnt even qualify for the real debate :giggle: ya funny thing trump getting selected for that.
Precambrian Posted August 7, 2015 Posted August 7, 2015 Jindal wins debate according to only one analyst. Fiorina and Rubio are top though according to lot of analysts. Which analyst? :giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted August 8, 2015 Posted August 8, 2015 ya funny thing trump getting selected for that. Trump entertains at least. Jindal is phail.