Who would you vote for irrespective of his opponent

veeru_rocks

I will always vote for Arun Shourie even if he fights against Advani jaitley Dr. JP and Modi.. Who is your candidate who gets your vote hands down no matter what..
Shourie and Jaitley have started to let me down a little bit over the past few years. Jaitley is becoming more of a politician and less of an ideologue. Shourey's interest in politics has essentially taken him away from his first love Journalism. I greatly miss his "Specials" that he would do at Indian Express from time to time. His feuds with Indira Gandhi and Rajeev is of course legendary. I wish he paid more attention towards that. Amongst the others I would support MJ Akbar. I guess I have a thing for journalists.

If he ever stands' date=' Ratan Tata.[/quote'] If he ever decides to do that,I would be willing to pitch a tent outside his office and work my backside off helping his campaign...but unfortunately ,the great man has had to deal with too much filth from politics...and he wont. .. next choice would be independent candidate Captain GR Gopinath.

If he ever stands' date=' Ratan Tata.[/quote'] Ratan Tata is an excellent choice. But I thought we were considering only those people who are connected in politics directly? If we are extending the selection criteria I have a few more choices. A couple from movie industry. Gulzar for well so many reasons that I would require a thesis. Anuragh Kashyap because of all his recent works. This could be one guy who would give any politician a bloodies nose.

Shourie and Jaitley have started to let me down a little bit over the past few years. Jaitley is becoming more of a politician and less of an ideologue. Shourey's interest in politics has essentially taken him away from his first love Journalism. I greatly miss his "Specials" that he would do at Indian Express from time to time. His feuds with Indira Gandhi and Rajeev is of course legendary. I wish he paid more attention towards that. Amongst the others I would support MJ Akbar. I guess I have a thing for journalists.
HE is iconoclast and he belives in one should not remian in one profession for long .. People don't belive unlike other journalists Arun Shourie never wanted to be journalist when Indira Gandhi brought eergency he left his high paying job in world bank and started this campiang. That legendary episode where each and every paper except Indian express under leadship of RamnatH Goenka was licking Indira Gandhi's boots , was Arun Shourie's maiden journalistic venture... HE tells his academic bent of mind helps him.. In his own words when he got naguished over Shah-Bano episode and Mr Shabuddin;s endorsement of the same he didn;t start opposing it . He wtn back read whole quran Hadded and around 23 other text on Islam before embarking on writing that.. People have called him names like Naxalaite: when he was writing agsint missing people episode under Indira Gandhi's OMship Communal" When he started writing about Shah-bano episode HE also feels intellectuals in INdia are coward coward towards intellectual fashion. For instance when socialism was in fashion everyone was socialist ( point to not Manmhan Singh was socialist stalwart before bankrupcy of India drove him to become capitalist stalwart), these days everybody is capitalist. HE calls himself hindu by birth with buddhist ideological affiliation. I too like M J akbar but he still remains just a journalist Arun Shouries otoh is everything rolled into one Journalist economist philospher ideologue you name it and he has done it all..

If he ever decides to do that,I would be willing to pitch a tent outside his office and work my backside off helping his campaign...but unfortunately ,the great man has had to deal with too much filth from politics...and he wont. .. next choice would be independent candidate Captain GR Gopinath.
Only active politicians please.. And shame on you for supporting a communal Ratan TATA( he did pick Modi for PM you see hence communal hands down)

How do u keep abreast with all Indian Politics living in Toronto? u seem so close to India' date='. why did u even leave, the knowledge and passion u have, u should be back home man and especially politics[/quote'] Internet ka jamana hai yaar itana difficult thore na hai.. Waise even I keep wondering why I am not on ground zero........

HE is iconoclast and he belives in one should not remian in one profession for long .. People don't belive unlike other journalists Arun Shourie never wanted to be journalist when Indira Gandhi brought eergency he left his high paying job in world bank and started this campiang. That legendary episode where each and every paper except Indian express under leadship of RamnatH Goenka was licking Indira Gandhi's boots , was Arun Shourie's maiden journalistic venture...
Good to see we both agree on Arun Shourie and Ramnath Goenka. Ramnath Goenka also deserves a mention specially because men like him are responsible for keeping politicians on their toes during India's darkest political moment. I do have a feeling these days that Shourie and Jaitley are feeling a bit of pressure inside BJP. It is extremely difficult to fathom the quitness that Shourie is displaying a week or two ahead of General election. Jaitley has become more belligerent but his arguments lack teeth these days. Specially his one line comebacks, quips, are completely missing. The other day he was doing a 1-on-1 debate with Sibal and I was surprised he did not simply run Sibal over. I have a feeling that with the growth of Modi leaders like Shourey and Jaitley are facing the heat and while the former has kept quiet the latter has chose to become more belligerent thus somehow sacrificing his intellect.
I too like M J akbar but he still remains just a journalist Arun Shouries otoh is everything rolled into one Journalist economist philospher ideologue you name it and he has done it all..
Fair enough. However purely as a journalist MJ Akbar's range is vastly bigger to Shourie's repertoire.

Good choice. Other industrialist who qualifies for the job is NarayanMurthi but we are talking about active politicians
No he does NOT. Ratan Tata is in a league of his own. None of the software giants can lick his boots, and yes this comes from a software guy. The software biggies have managed to do nothing but become glorified body shoppers. Infosys, for example, has been around for 25 years now. It is a billion dollar enterprise and one of the biggest software services company in the world. And it does not have one good product!! Please dont give me one of its banking software that noone uses. All companies like Infosys do is put an off-shore model and support a US companies work or put H1b at a work location in USA. Any software geek will tell you that most of the products, specially the popular freewares emanate from West Europe, Russia heck even South East Asia. India se kuch nahin aata hai. So no I am not gonna support Murthy at all. Ratan Tata is cut from a different cloth. He has the galls to make cars in India, buy prestigious foreign models(Jaguar), turn around International companies etc etc. No comparison. xxxx