India vs Pakistan since 2003 Centurion

6 hours ago, cuttermaster said:

BH may be a great win but it was not 9ne of the ICC roster championships. I agree that it is just a game but obviously many Indians are deeply hurt by the occasion and magnitude of Pk win.

for me BH win was more emphatic crushing PAK by 8 wkts(chasing) & PAK were beaten by 6 wkts in league match too.you can assume that to 1/9 th or 1/100th but that hardly matters to me.Now w.r.t this match though the margin of defeat is by huge run margin , we have to take into account the factor that IND was chasing which is lot lot more pressure.So that 180 odd margin can't be taken in its face value.In other words, suppose India firstly itself assumed that 338  is almost impossible &  that it is most sensible to play out 50 overs  then they could easily have scored at least 275. So this 180 odd difference need to be analysed   from the view point of batting 2nd  and also against all the odds too.

That is why  i have always thought that w.r.t batting 2nd in  one dayers chasing a huge total  ,it won't make  that much difference whether the end result be by 50 runs or 150 runs.This because chasing huge scores depending on the occasion gets lot lot more  difficult than setting a target.

on the other hand, i  agrees that,  if a team losses by huge margin after setting a target,  then that loss is comparatively huge just as reflected by the end difference.

Edited by rtmohanlal
UPDATION

Let me give my perspective on this.

Firstly it's quite evident that Pakistan have historically been better than Indian. Pakistan had a superior side right from the 70s through to even the early 00s. In fact I think the 2003 Centuiron match you mentioned, even then that was a good Pakistan. India have been stronger mentally which is the most important factor, in the big matches and some of those are really memorable. 2003 was actually less memorable than 1996 for some reason.

However all of that counts for sh*t. It could be 100-0 either way and in my opinion fans shouldn't lose sleep over it. ODI cricket is meaningless. It is now and has been for a long time.

The actual record you need to look at is the H2H in tests and the test series results. Unfortunately both of these countries have historically prepared flat tracks which have produce so many draws. But from this sample we can see the series are 4-4 between them but in dividual tests Pakistan lead by 12-9. So based on this figure and not World Cups, or other mickey mouse ODI matches, it's fare to say Pakistan have been the better test side.

I don't want to see Australia vs England in an ODI series or T20 series, even Aus vs England in a WC final would do nothing to excite me. But give me a 5 test huge summer of Ashes cricket anyday.

The same should apply to you guys you should only care about the test results, a 5 match series with 5 good cricket wickets and not the usual highways they produce will give us the information we all want. Right now a 5 match test series between the two sides on good wickets would be fascinating. If it were to happen, I'd probably put my money on Pakistan, but ever so hesitantly.

On 20/06/2017 at 2:17 PM, Tendu_10 said:

In bilaterals especially we have let Pakistan get so many wins

last few years since.Pakistan.were poor esp under Misbah we could have handed out a few 5-0 thrashings but we are not playing for political reasons.

aaney do series was fluke on green.wickets n over the hill players lile viru yuvi gambhir. rohit.was trash then.

playing Pak once every 2 years makes it hard for us to ever bridge that 73-52 gap in our lifetime.

Pak.post Inzi have been a very mediocre ODI side yet we havent capitalised properly.

You're a funny poster, I've been following your posts recently and I have to say I've not seen many people post as much biased junk as you. You can't seem to assess things properly.

If India chooses not to play with Pakistan, both India and the fans can't then moan about the H2H, not that anyone should really give a sh*t about that.

Pakistan under Misbal were an awful side, I agree with you on that. But even under Misbah they still had an attack if they showed up could hurt anyone, that's part of the reason why they flourished in the format of cricket that matters.

I don't know what an aaney series is, but if you using green wickets as an excuse, lol. Go watch stick cricket highlights ffs. Green wickets are the heartbeat of this sport. If it wasn't for green wickets then this sport might only exist in India.

You're a funny poster, I've been following your posts recently and I have to say I've not seen many people post as much biased junk as you. You can't seem to assess things properly.

If India chooses not to play with Pakistan, both India and the fans can't then moan about the H2H, not that anyone should really give a sh*t about that.

Pakistan under Misbal were an awful side, I agree with you on that. But even under Misbah they still had an attack if they showed up could hurt anyone, that's part of the reason why they flourished in the format of cricket that matters.

I don't know what an aaney series is, but if you using green wickets as an excuse, lol. Go watch stick cricket highlights ffs. Green wickets are the heartbeat of this sport. If it wasn't for green wickets then this sport might only exist in India.

Misbahs team flourished in Tests on their home tracks in UAE where they could suck the life out of the opposition by batting at 2 rpo. They were an ok Test team nothing special relying on one bowler normally n one dimensional cricket. They even lost to WI and Zimbabwe in Tests under Misbah.

n this whole idea about Tests being only format that matters this is the case only for Aussies n English fans n desis cricket nerds who want to emulate them.

For most India n Pak fans ODIs is their favourite format. When Pak won recent WI test series first time in WI. U didnt get huge street celebrations.

They won CT n all of Pakistan was out on the streets.

Misbahs only great achievement in Tests is the England Series draw which even then Pak won on the two subcontinental style tracks at Lords and the Oval.

in ODIs Paks so called great bowling didnt stop them from being smashed by all comers in UAE ODI series. Even when u had Afridi at his peak and Ajmal and Hafeez doing their best Michael Van Gerwen impressions.

I think the only full member teams theyve beaten in UAE ODI series since Misbahs tenure started is WI n SL.

Im complaining more about our teams inability since 03 to translate our better quality on paper to more wins vs Pakistan when we have played them. The gap should be larger is my point.

I completely support our govts diplomatic standoff against Pakistan n refusal to engage in bilateral series due to Pakistani govts funding of terror in India. n nor am i calling for a return to bilateral series.

I have no issue with green wickets i like all diff type of wickets.

its only england n nz n to a lesser extent SA that has greentops regularly.

Balanced wickets are best rather than wickets that make stuart binny look like glenn mcgrath or steven o keefe look like muralitharan.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

don't forget that PAK bowlers tampering,  with Kaptaan Khan taking the icing on the cake with his expertise in bottle top operations have always had considerable effect on the H-H records between 2 countries.

1 hour ago, Shaz1 said:

Not the first time. Head to head we have defeated you guys with bigger margins.

sd3dq8.jpg

What was the first time for both teams was facing each other in a fifty over final. And India losing the only one we had. So while you have beaten us in the twenty over final we beat you in fifty. 

B&H 1985 ka scorecard bhee check kar le yaar. 

Some of you guys are analyzing this too much..

They were just too hungry to win... no ifs or buts about it. They were destined to win and all things fell in places for them. They got heart broken several times in the past.. this was our turn.. take it on Chin and let it go.

So when is WI game starting?

2 hours ago, bones said:

Let me give my perspective on this.

Firstly it's quite evident that Pakistan have historically been better than Indian. Pakistan had a superior side right from the 70s through to even the early 00s. In fact I think the 2003 Centuiron match you mentioned, even then that was a good Pakistan. India have been stronger mentally which is the most important factor, in the big matches and some of those are really memorable. 2003 was actually less memorable than 1996 for some reason.

However all of that counts for sh*t. It could be 100-0 either way and in my opinion fans shouldn't lose sleep over it. ODI cricket is meaningless. It is now and has been for a long time.

The actual record you need to look at is the H2H in tests and the test series results. Unfortunately both of these countries have historically prepared flat tracks which have produce so many draws. But from this sample we can see the series are 4-4 between them but in dividual tests Pakistan lead by 12-9. So based on this figure and not World Cups, or other mickey mouse ODI matches, it's fare to say Pakistan have been the better test side.

I don't want to see Australia vs England in an ODI series or T20 series, even Aus vs England in a WC final would do nothing to excite me. But give me a 5 test huge summer of Ashes cricket anyday.

The same should apply to you guys you should only care about the test results, a 5 match series with 5 good cricket wickets and not the usual highways they produce will give us the information we all want. Right now a 5 match test series between the two sides on good wickets would be fascinating. If it were to happen, I'd probably put my money on Pakistan, but ever so hesitantly.

If a test match were to happen now you think Pakistan will be favorites ? Really ?

18 hours ago, cuttermaster said:

Like it or not it was the first 50 over icc event final between you 2 and they spanked you - hard. The BH cup was a one off event and not part of the ICC trophy roster. No one counts it - sorry. Yes it was a win and a cup but the ICC roster is wc, ct, t20 wc. 

This was the big game - actually for the prize and it was a hammering. Unless you beat them in a WC final they have the biggest win. 

I was cheering for India (v Pk I always do cos of 71) but must be honest, they left India gaped. 

Genius ...go say that to Shastri...He will show you his Audi and take you for a ride !!!!!!

1985 world championship of Cricket was a proper ICC event even though it wasn't formally said like that.

You don't need to tell us how hard we got spanked. The way we played we deserved it.

If I were you I would worry about my own team who are always "trying" to fit in but never really fits anywhere. 

37 minutes ago, DGBOSS said:

If a test match were to happen now you think Pakistan will be favorites ? Really ?

Not sure now that Misbah and Younus are retred, perhaps given that fact I'd pick India. But Pakistan's test side is very good, they posed far more problems for us here last year than India did on their last tour.

1 hour ago, veer said:

Some of you guys are analyzing this too much..

They were just too hungry to win... no ifs or buts about it. They were destined to win and all things fell in places for them. They got heart broken several times in the past.. this was our turn.. take it on Chin and let it go.

So when is WI game starting?

This