Guest Hiten. Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 but guess who won did you winnnnn ???? :omg::omg::omg:
Rajiv Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 did you winnnnn ???? :omg::omg::omg: I Ain't Sayin Nuthin
Guest Hiten. Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 I Ain't Sayin Nuthin dude, pass some dollaz on :D
fineleg Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 rajeev wins 300K...im tempted to play as well :D
Guest Hiten. Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 WOW, Hari bhai. Iss garib ki bhi madat kar do
Rajiv Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 LOL, you guys are easy to fool Some lucky person won in Vancouver, if I would have won..u would have seen me at tomorrows match in Adelaide
Guest Hiten. Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 LOL, you guys are easy to fool Some lucky person won in Vancouver, if I would have won..u would have seen me at tomorrows match in Adelaide tune hum gareebo ki umeed bada dhi... tu narak mein jayega :angry_smile:
fineleg Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 Did Dada Rocks win? Is the Hari Sampath Lotto Mojo working? DR - do let us know :D
sgusa Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 alright i am game. Lucky Bhai ( Hari Sampath :) ) please PM me for the US mega :D :D If i win i will cut you a % of the after tax amt i get on hand !
Desi Cartman Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 alright i am game. Lucky Bhai ( Hari Sampath :) ) please PM me for the US mega :D :D If i win i will cut you a % of the after tax amt i get on hand ! yes what the hell ... I am happy to gamble $10 to test Hari's claim.
apocalypse Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 Hari sampath sabko champath laga raha hai :D
fineleg Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 I used to be a regular reader of Motely Fool.com at one point of time. Reminded me of this article: Some reader Q: How can I get my children to understand how virtually pointless it is to buy lottery tickets? Fool.com Answer. Since many states earmark some lottery proceeds to supplement public school funding, understand that your kids may be hearing their teachers and other school employees extol the virtues of buying lottery tickets "to benefit schools." What a sad state of affairs. To help your kids understand the slim odds of winning, ask them to imagine looking for someone they know in New York City. Then have them imagine picking a street in any of the five boroughs completely at random, entering a random building there, and knocking on any door. Do they think it's likely that their friend will answer the door? That's one way to convey how improbable it is that they'll win a typical lottery. They're more likely to be hit by lightning than win big money in a lottery -- not that we're suggesting sitting them outside in a thunderstorm holding a golf club in one hand and a lottery ticket in the other hand to test this theory or anything. It's also good to explain why lotteries exist -- to raise money, not distribute it. States typically keep about half of every dollar spent on a ticket. On a sheet of paper, show your kids how $1,000 spent on lottery tickets becomes (on average) $500, then $250, and very soon, nothing. Compare this with $1,000 invested in stocks. Growing at 11% for 20 years, it becomes $8,000. One final exercise might be to help them understand just how astronomic lottery odds are by helping them appreciate how big a number a million is. (The odds of winning any major lottery price are usually several million to one.) Have them take a piece of lined paper and number each row. Then have them try to make 100 small vertical marks on each row. Explain that they'd have to fill 10,000 rows with 100 marks to reach a million. If they have 20 rows on each page, they'll be cramming 2,000 little marks onto each page. At that rate, they'll have to fill 500 pages to have one million marks. You could point out that a ream of paper is 500 pages -- you might have a ream of paper at home to show them, or you could take a trip to a local office supply store or copy center. If they do fill up a page with 2,000 marks, consider making 25 photocopies of the page. Tape them on a wall and you'll be looking at 50,000 marks. Point out that you'd still need 20 times that many in order to have a million. Boggle their (and your) minds! To get your kids interested in saving and investing their money (and perhaps to ensure that you'll be treated to a first-class nursing home one day), send them to our corner of Fooldom for teens. Also, consider giving them a copy of our new book, The Motley Fool Investment Guide for Teens: 8 Steps to Having More Money Than Your Parents Ever Dreamed Of.
fineleg Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 The Big Power Ball Super Lottery, or whatever the heck it's called, recently went up to $320 million or something like that. Of course, that had everyone in a tizzy. Unfortunately, that feeling was contagious for me last week. I know what the odds of winning are -- one in a lot, and by a lot I mean a LOT. I'd have a better chance of getting hit by lightning while being worshipped by Heidi Klum because my record, "Mike Sings, Heidi Listens," went triple-platinum despite the fact I'm a worse singer than William Shatner. However, when one of my co-workers asked me if I wanted to buy into the office lottery pool for $5, I said yes. Never mind the fact that just last Friday 60 people paying $5 each had won a grand total of $18. Yup, that's $300 down to $18, which means they lost 94% of their money. Basically I threw away one day's worth of lunch money on, well, nothing, most likely. Sure, we could win the big one. Then that $5 would be worth about $5 million before taxes, provided nobody else wins. Thing is, I'm not that lucky! Then again, I have spent maybe $5 total on lottery tickets up to this point in my life, so it's not like I'm going to go broke here. I invest well over $5 in DRIPs per month. I've saved myself well over $5 in credit card interest per month by paying down my credit card debt. I'm not counting on this money to make me financially secure; I'm saving my way to financial security. So in a way I'm already ahead of the game! If any of you are playing the lotto, I wish you luck. Really, I do! I'd be very happy to see a fellow Fool win millions of dollars. However, there are better ways to become financially secure. The stock market averages a return of 12% per year as measured by the S&P 500 index. That certainly beats the socks off the 94% loss incurred by my coworkers (and myself) by playing the lottery!
Ram Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 alright i am game. Lucky Bhai ( Hari Sampath :) ) please PM me for the US mega :D :D If i win i will cut you a % of the after tax amt i get on hand ! Trust sgusa to make an entry when the alpha-numeric symbol '$' appears. :D
fineleg Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 Trust sgusa to make an entry when the alpha-numeric symbol '$' appears. :D There was a point in time when aroma of good food will make him appear :haha:, or a good banter or even Ganguly bashing :D But these dayz only the $$$ makes him appear in a forum! :(( What happened to the casual cook who used to occasionally chat cricket!
Ram Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 There was a point in time when aroma of good food will make him appear :haha:, or a good banter or even Ganguly bashing :D But these dayz only the $$$ makes him appear in a forum! :(( Yes, $ and 'Food' , I must say.
Cricketics Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 yeh dhol ki kaa harismapth sabko maamu bana rah hai.. chor hai yeh saala.. yeh sabse paise leke jama kar rah hai.. just like thet ajmeri baba and peer syed sahib do.. yeh paise ikhate karke Airtel ya Hutch ka card khareedtaa hai apne liye..