Rajiv Posted February 16, 2008 Posted February 16, 2008 This thread will merge with Watched any new movies later, IMDB shows its really grand Kindly put ur reviews in this thread
coffee_rules Posted February 16, 2008 Posted February 16, 2008 Absolutely recommend to watch this movie on the big screen. Wholesome movie..even tho a bit long, it is like viewing an epic. Grand scale. Great acting by all. I had thought Hritik was a miscast before watching the movie. But he excels in his role with towering screen presence, great voice modulation. great urdu diction. Diaglogues, direction and script is top class. AR is beautiful, okayish acting.
Rajiv Posted February 16, 2008 Author Posted February 16, 2008 great, they are playing it but in TAMIL? http://www.cineplex.com/Theatres/TheatreDetails/3ED25043/SilverCity_Riverport.aspx
PaiN_KiLLeR Posted February 16, 2008 Posted February 16, 2008 Coffee can this be classified as an epic war movie or just a royal love story.
coffee_rules Posted February 16, 2008 Posted February 16, 2008 Love story was just part of it, which was not credible as Akbar had many wives. I was impressed with the scale of production which has not been tried before. The dialogues, scale and drama makes it an epic.
Ram Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 A definite watch for sure, I will give it 4 stars. For starters, the movie is really well made, the sets, the props, the people, their costumes is very lavish and realistic. So, not once do you actually get the feeling the this is just cardboard sets and there are lots of actors milling around. Thankfully, its a not typical love-story where the two protagonists run around trees and have un-real romance. The scenes that involve Jodhaa and Akbar seem and feel very real and you really do get a sense of how royal couples lived their life before. Some of the high points, --Superb Hrithik-Ash acting -- The battle scene to begin the movie was shot very authentically -- One of the definite high points of the movie was the Hrithik fight/stunt with an elephant. I dunno how much of it was real and how much of it was done using dupes/graphics, but if it is real, have to give credit to Hrithik for doing such a daring stunt. For a moment, it really draws your attention as an audience as to what is going to happen to Hrithik -- The Hrithik-Ash sword fight, am not going to discuss too much about it here coz it will kill the suspense -- Rahman's music. Top class, he has again revelled in a period film, mixing both folk and classical music in the right proportions. My fav was the "Khwaja mere khwaja" song Some negative points, -- Ashutosh Gowariker has used many of Lagaan cast in this movie too. Having seen those guys in those sort of roles, it takes a bit of time to reconcile to their new roles in this movie. For eg, Vivek Rajesh, who plays Guran in Lagaan and the Postman in Swades, both relatively funny characters, plays a very serious role of Akbar's personal advisor/caretaker. Initially, Every time he delivered a serious dialog in this movie, I felt like laughing. -- A few elements of the plot look very artificial and thats partly because its a period movie and the director had to stay true to script/history. But seeing mostly realistic scenes throughout the movie, when these sudden twists come, you get the feeling that " Surely, that neednt have happened, they could have just talked to each other". -- The climax fight seemed a bit out of place. But overall, it was a nice movie. Even though its 3 hours and 35 mins long, I didnt feel bored for even 5 mins.
Desi Cartman Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 But overall, it was a nice movie. Even its 3 hours and 35 mins long, I didnt feel bored for even 5 mins. Thanks MM for your review but WTF its 3hrs and 35 mins ......... :omg:
Rajiv Posted February 18, 2008 Author Posted February 18, 2008 Thanks MM for your review but WTF its 3hrs and 35 mins ......... :omg: worth going all the way to the theatre
coffee_rules Posted February 18, 2008 Posted February 18, 2008 My only peeve is about history. It's hard to belive the love story as Akbar had many wives in the harem. Jodha was just one of them. They should have showed a couple more wives and why Akbar liked only Jodha. The whole love story would have fallen on its face in that case. Seeing the Moghul as a one-woman man is a bit hard to digest.
Chaos Posted February 23, 2008 Posted February 23, 2008 5/5 for the movie. What actin from Hritik and Aish. Great couple on screen, sad not in real life. Coffee can u please explain more about his wifes, what i read on wowwiki and what i saw in movie is kinda different.
Guest Hiten. Posted February 23, 2008 Posted February 23, 2008 How can you people love this movie ? I mean wasn't the Mughal Emperor history just more than his romance with Jodhaa bai. Where was birbal, a character most talked about in books but hardly ever mentioned on silver screen. Why didn't Ashutosh take the initiative of introducing Birbal's unmatched intelligence ? SRK's movies are there to ensure that love stories wont disappear from bollywood. Ashutosh please go back to your style and not the Yash raj's bs way of telling love 'tales'. I'd give this movie 2.5/5, purely based on the acting. Hrithik was too good, considering the fact that he is not too fluent when it comes to talking in Hindi. In this movie, he did an excellent job of communicating in Urdu.
mhr123 Posted February 23, 2008 Posted February 23, 2008 How can you people love this movie ? I mean wasn't the Mughal Emperor history just more than his romance with Jodhaa bai. Where was birbal, a character most talked about in books but hardly ever mentioned on silver screen. Why didn't Ashutosh take the initiative of introducing Birbal's unmatched intelligence ? SRK's movies are there to ensure that love stories wont disappear from bollywood. Ashutosh please go back to your style and not the Yash raj's bs way of telling love 'tales'. I'd give this movie 2.5/5, purely based on the acting. Hrithik was too good, considering the fact that he is not too fluent when it comes to talking in Hindi. In this movie, he did an excellent job of communicating in Urdu. I think birbal was a fictitious character which we have normally read in stories based on Akbar Birbal...
S.R.Tendulkar Posted February 23, 2008 Posted February 23, 2008 Yes despite all the criticism this movie faced from the states where Rajput society is dominant, it has come good in India collecting 20+ crores just in India, I heard it was also a big success in UK and USA and all that in its first week. Good to see this, because its a really good movie and it deserved it.
Guest Hiten. Posted February 23, 2008 Posted February 23, 2008 Movie was hit because of the starcast. I mean even Dhoom 2 was blockbuster, but was it really worth watching it ?
beetle Posted February 24, 2008 Posted February 24, 2008 A love story of an emperor with a harem full of wives and women sound so hollow!
Chandan Posted February 24, 2008 Posted February 24, 2008 How can you people love this movie ? I mean wasn't the Mughal Emperor history just more than his romance with Jodhaa bai. Where was birbal, a character most talked about in books but hardly ever mentioned on silver screen. Why didn't Ashutosh take the initiative of introducing Birbal's unmatched intelligence ? SRK's movies are there to ensure that love stories wont disappear from bollywood. Ashutosh please go back to your style and not the Yash raj's bs way of telling love 'tales'. I'd give this movie 2.5/5, purely based on the acting. Hrithik was too good, considering the fact that he is not too fluent when it comes to talking in Hindi. In this movie, he did an excellent job of communicating in Urdu. BB, Don't you know that Birbal is not a real character? Plus this movie is about Jodha and Akbar and the rest just revolves around them. It was not Mughale Azam where Mughal Emire's history needed to be shown. Yet the director has shown enough for us to make out how Akbar went along building the empire. I really liked the film a lot apart from the last scene--that fight! It was dragged a bit too long, I suppose. Yet this story gives us enough peek in the past to understand what difficulties these two would have faced in those times because of their different religion and culture. Hrithik and Aishwarya were just superb!:thumbs_up:
suraj Posted February 24, 2008 Posted February 24, 2008 How can you people love this movie ? I mean wasn't the Mughal Emperor history just more than his romance with Jodhaa bai. Where was birbal, a character most talked about in books but hardly ever mentioned on silver screen. Why didn't Ashutosh take the initiative of introducing Birbal's unmatched intelligence ? SRK's movies are there to ensure that love stories wont disappear from bollywood. Ashutosh please go back to your style and not the Yash raj's bs way of telling love 'tales'. I'd give this movie 2.5/5, purely based on the acting. Hrithik was too good, considering the fact that he is not too fluent when it comes to talking in Hindi. In this movie, he did an excellent job of communicating in Urdu. I agree- I will never again pay heed to reviews at ICF; I went to watch the movie after reading the rave reviews here and it was such a disappointment. The movie was BORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG -Weak and fictitious plot; story line is so thin; I agree with BB why make a movie about an episode vs about Akbar's empire which would have been a much better plot - Slow and overdrawn; the pace of the movie is so unneccesarily slow - Ashutosh completely lost his mind trying to project how good Akbar was even when it was not neccessary; arrey yaar just present facts and show shades of grey all in all very dishonest effort except for the cinematography and visual splendour which was awesome pathetic 3.25 hr effort that puts you to sleep
coffee_rules Posted February 24, 2008 Posted February 24, 2008 One will enjoy the movie for the dialogues if you appreciate good Urdu. Full marks to the director for showing the sensibilities of two characters without much obvious dialogues. Plot ko goli maro. There is no written evidence in history about Jodha, Birbal etc. Also, I am not interested in a hisotyr lesson. I want to see something what the director feels about the time of Akbar and how he shows it on screen.
umpire Posted February 24, 2008 Posted February 24, 2008 its more a work of fiction. so take it that way. Its Grand. Not sure why Rajputs are protesting.