akshayxyz Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 I have never had time for Kallis to be honest, he isn't that good as some people make him out to be, and he has never been respected in Australia. Kallis will just be a footnote in the history of the game, while Botham, Imran, Dev, Hadlee will be up there with the likes of Sobers. For me the greatest allrounder ever would have to be Sir Gary Sobers, wish we all could have watched him play, he could do everything and anything. well of course most of us have not seen much of Kallis, as who follows every cricket match. But consider this - someone has shown that he does not have very good record in England ( and at least one more country), and yet he is neck to neck with Ponting in terms of total test runs, and neck to neck with any modern great bat - in terms of average. So - he made most of his good days - which is a commendable. Whether he got the runs by beautiful stroke play or by boring bowlers - he got them! perhaps why he is not regarded in same league as other top batsmen/all-rounders is, as he is relatively very slow, not that good to watch...and in the context of this thread, all of other four have been better at stroke making and much better bowlers.
BestVRest Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 I think Kallis is a very selfish person as well, he comes across like that and is probably one reason why I don't like him, I still would not put him in the league of Ponting, Tendulkar, Dravid etc.
Yoda-esque Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 Kapil for me... 1) Better bat 2) great fielder 3) didnt use bottle caps
Lurker Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 Kapil for me... 1) Better bat 2) great fielder 3) didnt use bottle caps Finally you and BB agree on something. (read my signature)
akshayxyz Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 Kapil for me... 1) Better bat 2) great fielder 3) didnt use bottle caps ditto. I just wished he was a bit better bowler than he was (he was a bit behind Hadlee).
Lurker Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 ditto. I just wished he was a bit better bowler than he was (he was a bit behind Hadlee). Actually that was the USP of Kapil, and to an extent Ian Botham. When the battle of all-rounders happened in England in 82/83 where both Ian Botham and Kapil played quite a few memorable innings, one of the greatest tribute placed on Kapil was by a scribe who mentioned, and I paraphrase, You can not understand Kapil Dev by modern nomenclature. He is a throwback to the good old days of amateur cricket and the gentleman he resembles are Learie Constantine and Gilbert Jessop. And really that was what Kapil was. He was always the chap who would take the bull by the horns and by the same definition he was never a professional in the true sense. Imran and Hadlee were both consumate professionals. Kapil was not. Neither was Botham (or he wouldnt throw a fit at Somerset). When Kapil played in English county cricket I would follow his exploits and tear my hair. This was the days of newspaper scorecard of course, and Kapil would have one good game in say 5-6 outings. Imran and Hadlee were consumate professionals and that showed in International cricket too. For the same reason I loved him though. It was not monontonous like Kallis today. When Kapil walked in you knew either he would be gone in the first over or India would be winning the game. Simple. Hadlee, as great as he was, was 80s Mcgrath (although I think Hadlee was better). Great bowler, always threatening to watch but not really the kind of bowler that makes you fall in love with the game. All great terrific all-rounders though. All of them. Kapil was the best. BB agrees too :hysterical::hysterical: (check my signature)
Patiala Peg Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 Chris Cairns is the closest resemblance to Kapil Dev. A poor man's Kapil Dev.
Yoda-esque Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 Finally you and BB agree on something. (read my signature) Hum bahut Conphused ho gaya hoon...Are you the original BB?
Lurker Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 Hum bahut Conphused ho gaya hoon...Are you the original BB? Arre yaar ab gaali to mat do. :facepalm: Long story short. BB did an about turn on Kapil Dev being his favorite player and traded his old bhagwan to new one SRT. I ran into this quote of his and have made it my signature. All in good humor of course..and ribbing. :--D
Lurker Posted January 2, 2012 Posted January 2, 2012 Chris Cairns is the closest resemblance to Kapil Dev. A poor man's Kapil Dev. You know what, you arent too far off on that. Of the all-rounders of 90s Cairns was my favorite and he could have easily fit alongside the other 4 AR of 80s.
Yoda-esque Posted January 3, 2012 Posted January 3, 2012 Arre yaar ab gaali to mat do. :facepalm: Long story short. BB did an about turn on Kapil Dev being his favorite player and traded his old bhagwan to new one SRT. I ran into this quote of his and have made it my signature. All in good humor of course..and ribbing. :--D Kya farak padta hai who is better than whom? Those guys we are arguing about are making money while tum log khoon jalaa rahe ho bekaar mein...
akshayxyz Posted January 3, 2012 Posted January 3, 2012 Actually that was the USP of Kapil, and to an extent Ian Botham. When the battle of all-rounders happened in England in 82/83 where both Ian Botham and Kapil played quite a few memorable innings, one of the greatest tribute placed on Kapil was by a scribe who mentioned, and I paraphrase, You can not understand Kapil Dev by modern nomenclature. He is a throwback to the good old days of amateur cricket and the gentleman he resembles are Learie Constantine and Gilbert Jessop. And really that was what Kapil was. He was always the chap who would take the bull by the horns and by the same definition he was never a professional in the true sense. Imran and Hadlee were both consumate professionals. Kapil was not. Neither was Botham (or he wouldnt throw a fit at Somerset). When Kapil played in English county cricket I would follow his exploits and tear my hair. This was the days of newspaper scorecard of course, and Kapil would have one good game in say 5-6 outings. Imran and Hadlee were consumate professionals and that showed in International cricket too. For the same reason I loved him though. It was not monontonous like Kallis today. When Kapil walked in you knew either he would be gone in the first over or India would be winning the game. Simple. Hadlee, as great as he was, was 80s Mcgrath (although I think Hadlee was better). Great bowler, always threatening to watch but not really the kind of bowler that makes you fall in love with the game. All great terrific all-rounders though. All of them. Kapil was the best. BB agrees too :hysterical::hysterical: (check my signature) I guess you should add that too in your signature.. :)..
zen Posted January 3, 2012 Posted January 3, 2012 @ Lurker See the cult following of BB. Once you put his quote in the siggy srt bhakts hv started voting for kapil :giggle:
Yoda-esque Posted January 3, 2012 Posted January 3, 2012 @ Lurker See the cult following of BB. Once you put his quote in the siggy srt bhakts hv started voting for kapil :giggle: :facepalm:
Lurker Posted January 3, 2012 Posted January 3, 2012 Kya farak padta hai who is better than whom? Those guys we are arguing about are making money while tum log khoon jalaa rahe ho bekaar mein... Ab boss tum itna Yoda-esque type baat kar diye ke main किम्कर्तव्य विमूढ़ ho gaya :desiman:
Alchemist Posted January 3, 2012 Posted January 3, 2012 Kapil for me. He was better leader and Captain.
Texan Posted January 3, 2012 Posted January 3, 2012 Lot of people saying Kapil just because he's our countryman. But if you look at it from a neutral point of view, clearly both Imran Khan and Richard Hadlee were better. The British would claim that Botham was better too, but he wasn't. Botham as a bowler was only threatening for the first 5 years of his career. After that, he relied heavily on his batting to keep him in the team and his batting was no great shakes either. Imran was a genuine all-rounder and if I were to pick a player based on equal contribution to batting and bowling, Imran would come out tops. If you look at bowling alone, Richard Hadlee was miles ahead of the rest. He carried the entire burden of NZ's bowling attack single-handed... so much so that there are 2 distinct phases in NZ's cricket history. The Hadlee era and the non-Hadlee era.
Cricket Tragic Posted January 3, 2012 Posted January 3, 2012 I started watching cric from late 80s but don't recall much except for Sidhu's 6s and SRTs 4 6s of Qadir .... Mainly from the 90s is what I remember So yeah, my opinion on these all rounders is mainly based on reading abt them, opinion exchanged and videos .... Kapil after that 92 OZ tour was mostly dishing crap, iirc. But on that 92 tour he bowled brilliantly. Border even rated him as the best he faced, if I m not wrong You said the other day that you started watching during the 1996 WC but don't remember matches in the 90s. :hmmm: