Who was true batting MoM for India in 2011 WC final?

WC 2011 Final MoM  

51 members have voted

1. 1. WC 2011 Final MoM

• Gautam Gambhir
    • MS Dhoni

2 hours ago, Laaloo said:

If you go back to the match thread on icf that day, 99% of the icfers questioned dhonis decision as he didn't do anything the whole tournament.

Of course people didn't expect it.

But guess some people realized that years later that he did it all just to hog limelight once they started hating CSK and their supporters.

Pretty sure it wasn't the case back in 2011. Hate for a franchise and region has overshowed a WC win now.

59 minutes ago, GolGappe said:

Gambhir prevented the defeat but Dhoni took us home.

19-20 ka farq either way.

Yes, but if you go by comments here you will feel that it was 2-20 ka farq. Dhoni's effort was comparable to 15-30 cheap runs made by tailenders and he awarded himself MoM.

There's a disturbing trend on ICF to completely trash everything a player has ever done just because they have run out of favor. Forget Dhoni, even the ATG Tendulkar gets trashed here on a regular basis.

Agreed, Sachin played past his end date and MSD shouldn't be playing anymore.  However, what they did in their prime is exceptional (esp. Sachin)

In that WC final Dhoni played a fantastic innings at the time where it was most needed. India were facing potential defeat on home ground and he stepped up and hit a fantastic unbeaten 91 runs. This is what every captain dreams of and Dhoni went and did it for real. 

5 hours ago, Laaloo said:

Agree to disagree. In tougher conditions and situations against Pakistani and Australia, dhoni was hiding behind yuvraj where he could have came up the order and provided stability. Even in the final the game was won with Kohli and gambhis partnership as chasing at wankhede has always been easy in the last 10 years.if dhoni wanted to prove himself, he would have came before Kohli not when we had already stabilised our batting with gambo and Kohli partnership. Yuvi may have struggle against the spiinners but dhoni was struggling the whole tournament and there was no basis for him to promote himself especially after Kohli got out.  If you wanna disagree that's fine.

Even if someone assumes that it was an attempt to hog limelight, how doesn't decrease the value of inning? Does it shave off 50 runs from his inning? Does it make it any easier to score 160 off 170 wile chasing in final?

It could have gone to either Gambhir and Dhoni and none of those decisions would have been wrong. But don't pretend as if difference was way too big and there is some sort of discrimination.

Dhoni didn't award himself MoM. ICC panel did and it wasn't a wrong decision. Dhoni did his work and was awarded for it.

1 minute ago, JourneyMan said:

There's a disturbing trend on ICF to completely trash everything a player has ever done just because they have run out of favor. Forget Dhoni, even the ATG Tendulkar gets trashed here on a regular basis.

Agreed, Sachin played past his end date and MSD shouldn't be playing anymore.  However, what they did in their prime is exceptional (esp. Sachin)

In that WC final Dhoni played a fantastic innings at the time where it was most needed. India were facing potential defeat on home ground and he stepped up and hit a fantastic unbeaten 91 runs. This is what every captain dreams of and Dhoni went and did it for real. 

That's not the main reason for it. Main reason has been IPL and dislike it has created among different groups. Most people are able to overcome it when they see international matches, but aren't.

16 hours ago, Laaloo said:

Ghanta yuvraj would have struggled against murali. Yuvraj faced and conquered much worse conditions and bowlers before the final where dhoni laid eggs after eggs. That's bollocks. If dhoni really wanted to arrest the responsibility, he would have came after Sachin got out instead of sending a noob like Kohli. But just like the rest of his career dhoni is only promoted in easy situations.

Did you just say chasing in a WC final was a easy situation ? Lol 

1 hour ago, Bigg Brother said:

It is okay if fans credit almost 90% victory of the final or for instance our wc victory totally to MS Dhoni and can go gaga over his self promotion because fans are emotional.

But what is with Dhoni himself..Glorifying himself in movie asking Gary that He will go next and all that..Bhai itna hi tha to Sachin ke out hone ke baad bhi aa sakte the, as Kohli was very inexperienced to go into that situation and there could be valid reason for it that he wanted to protect youngster from pressure situation.

That was such a cringeworthy scene.I literally couldn't go beyond that scene while watching movie.

That's precisely the point. He came in when the situation was easier. He came in before two guys who won us two games before where situations was more difficult.  But we're not supposed to discuss that becuase of IPL we started to hate dhoni. 

Oh jolly. Why don't we get some pom poms and waive them as well like those cricbuzz idiots who take every opportunity to belittle anyone who challenges dhonis spot? 

12 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

That's not the main reason for it. Main reason has been IPL and dislike it has created among different groups. Most people are able to overcome it when they see international matches, but aren't.

You're right. Darn that pathetic meaningless tamasha league. 

Just now, Laaloo said:

That's precisely the point. He came in when the situation was easier. He came in before two guys who won us two games before where situations was more difficult.  But we're not supposed to discuss that becuase of IPL we started to hate dhoni. 

Oh jolly. Why don't we get some pom poms and waive them as well like those cricbuzz idiots who take every opportunity to belittle anyone who challenges dhonis spot? 

Easier maybe, but still difficult. What happened in other games doesn't matter. He performed in that particular match and got MoM for it. 

15 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Even if someone assumes that it was an attempt to hog limelight, how doesn't decrease the value of inning? Does it shave off 50 runs from his inning? Does it make it any easier to score 160 off 170 wile chasing in final?

It could have gone to either Gambhir and Dhoni and none of those decisions would have been wrong. But don't pretend as if difference was way too big and there is some sort of discrimination.

Dhoni didn't award himself MoM. ICC panel did and it wasn't a wrong decision. Dhoni did his work and was awarded for it.

Because we are discussing gambhirs inning vs dhonis inning. Gambhi stayed and played an anchor role when we were 2 down quickly. Now if dhoni has come in after sachin got out and made those runs, then dhoni would have been the correct choice for MoM. But there's a reason why dhoni didn't come after Sachin got out. Situation was still difficult. When have you ever seen dhoni purposely come to the crease in difficult situations?

Just becuase ICC awarded dhoni the MoM doesn't mean we can't discuss whether he deserved it or not. Once again I ask you want us to start waving pom poms in the air for thalaaiva?

9 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

Did you just say chasing in a WC final was a easy situation ? Lol 

Lol lol no that's not what I said.

Chasing at wankede after initial 10 overs was always easy. Look at the history of that pitch in the last 10 years. The pitches at mohali and and Ahmedabad was much more tougher. Oh and the game that yuvi and Raina chased was more difficult than when dhoni came in considering we had a set Batsmen in Gambhir and yuvi and Raina still to come.

6 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Yes, it was cake walk if you believe what is being in this thread. I mean it was 5.5 RPO. Even tailenders could do it.

Yuvi and Raina are no tailenders. But dhoni certainly was a tail ender in that world cup before the final.  :nice:

Just now, Trichromatic said:

It wasn't a robbery and there wasn't much difference. Could have gone to Gambhir and would have been right decision. But doesn't belittle Dhoni's gem in the match.

Agree to disagree. But it was a robbery. As I said in another post, if dhoni had come in at 31-2 and gotten those runs, his MoM was perfectly fine. But he didn't. So Gambhir has a legit case for MoM and should feel like he was robbed .

9 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

Agree to disagree. But it was a robbery. As I said in another post, if dhoni had come in at 31-2 and gotten those runs, his MoM was perfectly fine. But he didn't. So Gambhir has a legit case for MoM and should feel like he was robbed .

If it was so bad then care to explain why did ICC give it to him?

Are you suggesting that Dhoni forced them to give it to them?

Unless you're suggesting panel to biased or forced by Dhoni or to be dumb, then all this is meaningless.

5 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

If it was so bad then care to explain why did ICC give it to him?

Are you suggesting that Dhoni forced them to give it to them?

Unless you're suggesting panel to biased or forced by Dhoni or to be dumb, then all this is meaningless.

Now you're just arguing for the sake of arguing. I don't think they are biased or forced. But if they took everything into account how gauti played and the situation he was in and the situation that dhoni came in, gauti should have been the MoM.