Aditi Posted April 2, 2008 Posted April 2, 2008 actually the professor asked him to Drop the course rite away.. He will also have to face a Judiciary hearing in that case.
Rajiv Posted April 2, 2008 Posted April 2, 2008 I am not an expert on immigration or anything but since the F-1/I-20 is tied to the school you are attending' date=' one would expect that the person will go out of status if he is not enrolled full time in a school or carrying a valid I-20. In fact, international students have to maintain full time status during their courses - that's what the immigration offices at universities say.[/quote'] Unless the rules changed, IIRC..u can be out of school ( not stuyding ) for a certian period of time and you are basically on a break like situation on your F-1 Meanwhile, he can join a different school and get a new I-20
Predator_05 Posted April 2, 2008 Posted April 2, 2008 Plagiarism is a bigger deal than cheating on an exam.
Cricketics Posted April 3, 2008 Author Posted April 3, 2008 was the academic dishonesty in united states? if so' date=' there will be a hearing, if he is suspended, he will face an automatic inquiry by an independent panel. following which, if he is deemed guilty and his punishment of suspension upheld, he must enroll at a local community college or something for the period of suspension to maintain full time enrollment. such are the rules.[/quote'] actually tell u what.. he was taking that particular test in Community college only.. Hez on F1, but he is taking his classes in a local community college only for now..
Aditi Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 actually tell u what.. he was taking that particular test in Community college only.. Hez on F1' date=' but he is taking his classes in a local community college only for now..[/quote'] I doubt anything major will happen. The incidents with my friends were also in a Community College and all they got was a 0 on the test and were allowed to continue with the class.
Desi Cartman Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 actually the professor asked him to Drop the course rite away.. Ask him to meet with the professor and follow what he says ... because in the end its professors decision even if the Head of department has different view it doesn't matter. If the professor wants him out I'm sure that he will get him out. So just follow the prof. Good Luck and ask him to stop cheating
Lurker Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 i am sure that will help. did not expect that from you Lurker. Arre that was a humorous comment bhai. I had no idea that cheating is such a big deal in USA. I must say I am more than surprised. Then again never went to school here so cant say.
Cricketics Posted April 3, 2008 Author Posted April 3, 2008 Arre that was a humorous comment bhai. I had no idea that cheating is such a big deal in USA. I must say I am more than surprised. Then again never went to school here so cant say. I thought americans were the one who made big deal of the word "Plagarism" ... and got famous for it all over the world..
Cricketics Posted April 3, 2008 Author Posted April 3, 2008 Hmm DD, thats what he is doing now.. and @ Aditi, thanks for the info.. lets see what happen
cybervickey Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 nothing is gonna happen trust me, i know too many ppl that got caught cheating on the exam like that.the worst id that he is gonna get a F on the test or may be the class even.but sinc ethe prof alrdy asked him to drop the class , i think it'll stop there and no further action.......
Ram Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 Arre that was a humorous comment bhai. I had no idea that cheating is such a big deal in USA. I must say I am more than surprised. Then again never went to school here so cant say. Malpractices in exams or plagiarism in Research are considered as heinous crimes. Especially, writing a Research paper can be one of the most painstaking things ever, given all the different levels of reviews. You cant even copy paste a single line from another person's work without referencing it properly. And to top all that, all your research results will be checked and double checked. Sometimes, a paper reviewer may ask the same to be plotted with different data points, just to make sure you really do have the date and havent flicked it from somewhere in the it. And if ever you are caught for plagiarizing in your Research work, then your name will be black-listed and no further Research work from you will ever be accepted.
Ram Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 was the academic dishonesty in united states? if so' date=' there will be a hearing, if he is suspended, he will face an automatic inquiry by an independent panel. following which, if he is deemed guilty and his punishment of suspension upheld, he must enroll at a local community college or something for the period of suspension to maintain full time enrollment. such are the rules.[/quote'] It doesnt go to that level every time, and it varies from offense to offense. If it isnt trivial, then it can be as small as a grade downgrade by one level, i.e, if you get A, it will be downgraded to A- . If something a bit more serious, you will probably end up with an F.
Desi Cartman Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 @ MM , I think cheating in a exam would be considered a serious offense in every uni. I think he will be failed and if the prof is not that strict then he will just mark him absent or get him to drop the subject. From the professor's point of view, how can he pass him when he cant test what the student has been taught
THX_1138 Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 It doesnt go to that level every time, and it varies from offense to offense. If it isnt trivial, then it can be as small as a grade downgrade by one level, i.e, if you get A, it will be downgraded to A- . If something a bit more serious, you will probably end up with an F. yeah first time offenses are often punished with an F. second offenses are delt with more seriously and third or greater offense is usually punished with an arse rooting.
Desi Cartman Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 Bottomline = dont cheat! Bottomline = dont cheat! or if cheat then dont get caught ... :wink_smile:
Rajiv Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 19. Under what circumstances could I 'fall out of status'? The F-1 visa regulations require you to 'maintain status.' You may fall out of status if you: • Fail to maintain full-time enrollment (with a few approved exceptions) • Work illegally, either off-campus without authorization or on-campus more than 20 hours per week during school or more than 40 hours per week when school is not in session • Fail to request a program extension and continue to study past the degree completion date listed in your Form I-20A-B • Transfer schools without following the appropriate procedure (getting a new Form I-20A-B and having it processed by an International Student Adviser at the new school) • Do not attend the school that the USCIS authorized you to attend
fineleg Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 Bottomline = dont cheat! or if cheat then dont get caught ... :wink_smile: Academic system is not lenient. It is quite strict. So, yes, dont cheat, since you risk getting caught and facing such nasty situations.
Cricketics Posted April 3, 2008 Author Posted April 3, 2008 19. Under what circumstances could I 'fall out of status'? The F-1 visa regulations require you to 'maintain status.' You may fall out of status if you: • Fail to maintain full-time enrollment (with a few approved exceptions) • Work illegally, either off-campus without authorization or on-campus more than 20 hours per week during school or more than 40 hours per week when school is not in session • Fail to request a program extension and continue to study past the degree completion date listed in your Form I-20A-B • Transfer schools without following the appropriate procedure (getting a new Form I-20A-B and having it processed by an International Student Adviser at the new school) • Do not attend the school that the USCIS authorized you to attend this is good.. lets hope for the best..
Holysmoke Posted April 3, 2008 Posted April 3, 2008 19. Under what circumstances could I 'fall out of status'? The F-1 visa regulations require you to 'maintain status.' You may fall out of status if you: • Fail to maintain full-time enrollment (with a few approved exceptions) • Work illegally, either off-campus without authorization or on-campus more than 20 hours per week during school or more than 40 hours per week when school is not in session • Fail to request a program extension and continue to study past the degree completion date listed in your Form I-20A-B • Transfer schools without following the appropriate procedure (getting a new Form I-20A-B and having it processed by an International Student Adviser at the new school) • Do not attend the school that the USCIS authorized you to attend If he is expelled, he will fail to maintain full time enrollment.