We need more specialists and less multi format players?

19 minutes ago, Vijy said:

by far, we we will barely qualify for WC (if cricket was indeed global), and then get knocked out in first round. we would be facing:

1. US: god-tier prep and talent scouting.

2. natural physical talent of several african and caribbean nations that either do not play or do not take it seriously enough (imagine peak WI again, but now with several such teams of pure physicality).

3. gamesmanship and prep and scouting from Europe; a diluted version of US, but still powerful

4. chinese & japanese: brutal training, strict discipline, more than sum of parts, decent skills too

5. S.American flair and creativity

That's why I said IF we pick on merit we will go far enough. Possibly semis. In test cricket I mean. If you are talking about odi I would still say there is a good chance if and only if we pick on merit. There is plenty of talent but corruption is rife in our country. 

Physicality alone won't win you shite though. Blacks can bowl but they can't bat. USA invested heaps in football, still aren't considered a top side. 

Edited by harpicP
Just now, harpicP said:

That's why I said IF we pick on merit we will go far enough. Possibly semis. In test cricket I mean. If you are talking about odi I would still say there is a good chance if and only if we pick on merit. There is plenty of talent but corruption is rife in our country. 

Yes, I meant ODI WC. hard to see WTC played across that many countries

I don't understand why people envy players earning money in IPL. Calling them IPL superstar and other nonsense.

They have earned the right to earn the money based on their talents. Most players care about doing well in Indian colors.

Idiots only keep envying their earning power.

12 hours ago, putrevus said:

I don't understand why people envy players earning money in IPL. Calling them IPL superstar and other nonsense.

They have earned the right to earn the money based on their talents. Most players care about doing well in Indian colors.

not really. they earn the money because of the 4 foreign player cap. if that was removed, there would be lots more foreigners, and only a small sample of ind players would command high salaries.

12 hours ago, putrevus said:

Yash Dayal earning 5.5 Crore is talent ? A bowler who cant even defend 25 runs in final over, while the bowler who defended 4 runs in final over is given 60 lakh.

Someone like Rinku is still stuck to 50 lakh, while the statpadders earn crores coz they bat in the top & bat slow irrespective of the target.

Someone like Unadkut earned 8.5 CR in 2017, when all he did was bowling cutters like Fizz.

In IPL, payment has no relation to a players performance.

9 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Yash Dayal earning 5.5 Crore is talent ? A bowler who cant even defend 25 runs in final over, while the bowler who defended 4 runs in final over is given 60 lakh.

Someone like Rinku is still stuck to 50 lakh, while the statpadders earn crores coz they bat in the top & bat slow irrespective of the target.

Someone like Unadkut earned 8.5 CR in 2017, when all he did was bowling cutters like Fizz.

In IPL, payment has no relation to a players performance.

If the owners are willing to pay guys like Yash Dayal or Jaidev money, why are people riled up? They saw something in them and bid for their talents , if it does not work they move on chalking up as loss just like a business.

Rinku is a very limited player with a skill set which will be used very infrequently, other than batting he does not does bring anything to the table.

Rinku Singh if he has talent will play more years in IPL and more than make up for the lost money.

I will give NFL analogy.

Below average to average Quarterbacks are being paid 20- 40 plus million dollars  range where as running backs who once were valued very high in 1940s- 1990s and getting paid more than QBs are now  so devalued are not even getting 5-7 millions dollars.

In a team good running back does more  than avg or below avg QBs.

Yash Dayal and Unadkt fall in category of fast bowlers who are valued high vs Rinku Singh who is one dimensional player who bats for very few overs.

Edited by putrevus

England replaced Wood with Anderson - basically another specialist.

Ollie Pope in an interview after 196 mentioned how he had had shoulder surgery and after that had a long time to work on his technique, sweeps and prepare for this series.

Our guys simply don't have the time to do that because they will be playing a whole lot of white ball cricket until the next Test series. 

Difficult to have expectations when that is the case.