Team for the 4th Test

1 hour ago, Suhaan said:

"Seven years ago, we were quite flat, we want to create exciting an contest and exciting Test matches, so we will leave more grass, that brings the bowlers into equation. But it is still good for batting once the new ball goes off. We keep 6mm grass and we would monitor that as we get in," Page elaborated.

https://www.moneycontrol.com/sports/cricket/india-vs-australia-boxing-day-test-melbourne-weather-forecast-and-mcg-pitch-report-article-12897150.html

They are down with Hazelwood...so they are trying to negate that gap by leaving grass.

Batting wise they have more confidence on their batting...and they expect the grass to negate the bowling difference.

5 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

They are down with Hazelwood...so they are trying to negate that gap by leaving grass.

Batting wise they have more confidence on their batting...and they expect the grass to negate the bowling difference.

They're ahead in bowling too. Cummins + Starc + Boland > Bumrah + Siraj + Akash Deep

Bumrah is the best bowler around but the Aussie bowling unit is better at the moment. And with Kohli and Rohit in the team, our batting unit by default becomes worse than any other batting lineup. You can't have 2 walking wkts and expect to beat a decent team.

5 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

They're ahead in bowling too. Cummins + Starc + Boland > Bumrah + Siraj + Akash Deep

Bumrah is the best bowler around but the Aussie bowling unit is better at the moment. And with Kohli and Rohit in the team, our batting unit by default becomes worse than any other batting lineup. You can't have 2 walking wkts and expect to beat a decent team.

So far it looks like reverse of BGT 2020-21.

We lost the game badly, worked hard like a unit and fought back as a team.

Here, we won the first game courtesy of masterclass by Bumrah, celebrated over the moon, lost the next Test and were almost blown away saved by rain and Hazelwood's injury. Australia after losing first game came back stronger while we are still in "chalta hai" zone.

14 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

So far it looks like reverse of BGT 2020-21.

We lost the game badly, worked hard like a unit and fought back as a team.

Here, we won the first game courtesy of masterclass by Bumrah, celebrated over the moon, lost the next Test and were almost blown away saved by rain and Hazelwood's injury. Australia after losing first game came back stronger while we are still in "chalta hai" zone.

Our limit is one passenger. We beat Eng in India with Kohli out. Both Rohit and Kohli played and we lost to NZ at home. In the 1st Test we only had one passenger as this tome Rohit was out. With both the passengers back we lost the next two.

Problem is not celebration but too many has beens in the team. We can't carry more than one passenger. At home earlier we could cover for them with Ashwin, Jadeja, and our lower order covering for them. But Away we couldn't do that as we can't play both Jadeja and Ashwin plus their batting is not that effective away from home.

We were lucky in the previous BGT (2020-21) that one of the passengers in Kohli ran away after the 1st Test so we were able to win the series. This time round we don't have the same luxury. If by some miracle we can kick out the two leeches in Rohit and Kohli, the series would be wide open again and I wouldn't be surprised we win again. It's unfortunate that someone like Bumrah is saddled with the burden of two useless has beens who have continually dragged him down. He can't cover for them both so we're doomed to fail.

7 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Just remember . Don't look at this as a 5 day Test match. it is a 10 day test match given the minimal gap between New year test and Boxing day test. So India may need an extra seamer.  Assuming the match is played all  days that is a lot of work load in 12 or 13 days. 

We should play an extra seamer in place of "injured" Rohit.

10 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Just remember . Don't look at this as a 5 day Test match. it is a 10 day test match given the minimal gap between New year test and Boxing day test. So India may need an extra seamer.  Assuming the match is played all  days that is a lot of work load in 12 or 13 days. 

Bumrah will be toiled for both the games. Siraj too will play.

Rohit doesnt know who else to look for....third seamer is a lottery.

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

Bumrah will be toiled for both the games. Siraj too will play.

Rohit doesnt know who else to look for....third seamer is a lottery.

I tell you again be not sure that Bumrah too plays WC 27

Rohit makes sure he goes with Bumrah

Rohit Sharma is epitome of moronory,he wants Bumrah to deliver all the time right from his mi captaincy days

34 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

I tell you again be not sure that Bumrah too plays WC 27

Rohit makes sure he goes with Bumrah

Rohit Sharma is epitome of moronory,he wants Bumrah to deliver all the time right from his mi captaincy days

As I said before in another thread, Rohit's Plan A, B and C are "Throw the ball to Bumrah". Time for him to move on and let Bumrah have a decent shot at WC 2027.

2 hours ago, wanted_desi said:

Need 4 pacers - Excluding Siraj (Possibly) 

Unfortunately we don't have 4 pacers excluding Siraj. He'll play no matter what knowing Rohit. Rohit doesn't make any changes and I just hope Harshit and Akash Deep are in the team.

8 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Unfortunately we don't have 4 pacers excluding Siraj. He'll play no matter what knowing Rohit. Rohit doesn't make any changes and I just hope Harshit and Akash Deep are in the team.

Then it would be good to see all pacers playing. It will give it away that he is the least effective fast bowler out of all. He gets new ball over others. 

23 hours ago, saransh said:

Just get in Washi in place of Gill or Kohli or Rohit. When will batsmen beheld  accountable in this country?

Isn't Reddy the second highest scorer after Jaiswal so how can they drop him? :facepalm:

11 minutes ago, Sgattick10 said:

Isn't Reddy the second highest scorer after Jaiswal so how can they drop him? :facepalm:

Easily. He is the youngest member of the team and not a "brand" so is first on the chopping block.