Ironically, Ghatak isn't the only UCAV we're working it seems.
With help of IIT Kanpur, DRDO is also working on design for FUFA (Future Unmanned Fighter Aircraft). It will be a twin engine, supersonic fighter jet designed for Air to Air Combat and Dogfight.

Just praying that we get success with Ghatak prototype, it will bridge the capabilities gap to a large extend as then we'll get our own stealthy mini bomber which can be used to blind the enemy radars and Air Defence. Ghatak has MTOW of 13T close to Tejas mk1/mk1a and a payload capability of 1.5 T at the internal bay. Not sure if it can carry Astra mk1/mk2 though...but it can carry HAMMER glide bombs and other loitering munitions. Ghatak also carries more tank in its belly and hence can fly long range.

12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Additional missile systems for Tunguska air Defense system, mainly to protect Tanks using self propelled guns.

They are getting Advanced Missiles for existing platforms.  No one wants any more Tunguska that's why tiny 445 crore deal cleared.  We got better indigenous options.

Interestingly we ditched Pantsir looks like (not that I am complaining tbh)

Edited by Lone Wolf
1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

They are getting Advanced Missiles for existing platforms.  No one wants any more Tunguska that's why tiny 445 crore deal cleared.  We got better indigenous options.

Interestingly we ditched Pantsir looks like (not that I am complaining tbh)

Pantsir's primary job is to be defender of the defender...to protect S400 from loitering munitions and drones.

If we are able to safeguard S400 using our desi jugaada, then yeah, no need of exported variants...

In terms of Tunguska, they'll primarily be using the newer missiles which has long range guided precision. Its anyway a cheaper alternative so they went ahead.

52 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

11 months ahead of schedule...had it been any PSU, it would have been delivered 11 years delay with abnormally drop in quality.

Adani Defence delivers first batch of 2,000 'Prahar' light machine guns to Army - The Economic Times https://share.google/a34CTGBN9XJffIBGm

Peak Screwdriver giri with IP rights still with Israel including buying critical parts like fire control components.  Why don't they give such orders to Kalyani or SSS defence and give boost to indigenous IDDM?  

Edited by Lone Wolf
18 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Peak Screwdriver giri with IP rights still with Israel including buying critical parts like fire control components.  Why don't they give such orders to Kalyani or SSS defence and give boost to indigenous IDDM?  

Bro Kalyani Group has below orders already

1. CQB Carbines 

2. M4 Vehicles

3. Underwater system 

4. Unmanned Surface Vehicles, AUVs and Naval Guns (57 & 127 mm)

SSS defence also has

1. NSG Carbine 

2. 30 million contract for Ammunitions 

3. Sniper Rifles

4. Upgrade kits for Ak47

30 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Bro Kalyani Group has below orders already

1. CQB Carbines 

2. M4 Vehicles

3. Underwater system 

4. Unmanned Surface Vehicles, AUVs and Naval Guns (57 & 127 mm)

SSS defence also has

1. NSG Carbine 

2. 30 million contract for Ammunitions 

3. Sniper Rifles

4. Upgrade kits for Ak47

Nah SSS defence has only entered the bidding phase last I heard.  Armed forces haven't placed any major orders yet which is a shame really.  SSSD is one of our rare entity which has its own IP.  Not screwdriver Adani

Though smaller order from various police departments are coming as per the SSS defence founder, Delhi, UP police and even I think Meghalaya ones have placed orders.

Another optimistic thing about them is this..

Edited by Lone Wolf
9 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Nah SSS defence has only entered the bidding phase last I heard.  Armed forces haven't placed any major orders yet which is a shame really.  SSSD is one of our rare entity which has its own IP.  Not screwdriver Adani

Though smaller order from various police departments are coming as per the SSS defence founder, Delhi, UP police and even I think Meghalaya ones have placed orders.

Another optimistic thing about them is this..

https://www.thedefensenews.com/news-details/NSG-Places-First-Operational-Order-for-500-G72s-SMGs-from-SSS-Defence/

https://theprint.in/defence/bengalurus-sss-defence-beats-israeli-firm-will-be-first-from-india-to-upgrade-armys-ak-47s/759716/

Orders are already placed bro.

12 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

The NSG order hasn't been placed yet this article is day after the one you posted commercial negotiation are yet to be completed... Though being an L1 bidder makes them the front runners as of now.  Unless Adani or import Bahadurs strike once again 

Edited by Lone Wolf

SSSD CEO confirming UP STF placed an order a while back

IA meanwhile wanted phoren maal (M4 carbine) and disqualified M72 in its latest tender:facepalm:

https://www.theweek.in/news/defence/2026/03/31/indian-navy-gets-more-fierce-with-addition-of-4-new-ships-including-brahmos-frigate.html

3 ships delivered to Indian Navy by GRSE, Kolkata
1. INS Dunagiri (Nilgiri class frigate)
2. INS Sanshodhak (Survey Vessel)
3. INS Agray (Arnala Class Anti Submarine Warfare)
4. INS Malwan (Arnala Class ASW) was delivered by Cochin Shipyard

Navy is on a roll.

Edited by singhvivek141

If true sums up IAF planning all these years.. P8Is can't outmaneuver an A2A missile.  We got lucky somehow 

Lack of AWACS is clearly an issue.  They did the same in 2020 during Indo china border flare ups.

Indian Navy now doing IAF job as well for ISR missions in contested airspace :hatsoff:

Edited by Lone Wolf
7 hours ago, G_B_ said:

The question is how did the p8i get in range of p15.

P8I has large RCS, so its easily detectable by enemy radars. Its basically a commercial fighter plane.

Hence, if Navy sent this to support IAF, every chance that it may have been locked in the range of P15 as its detectable by enemy radars even from a long range.

We really need GaN based radars for Su30MKI, else it wont be able to see beyond 150-200 km for fighter jets. In that case even carrying a R37 or Astra mk3 will be of no use but a paper weight 

20 hours ago, bsriharsha said:

Get the Tejas mk2 done. Simultaneously make a pilotless version of it.

Definition of done ?

F414 deal isnt signed, just getting airframes ready isnt gonna cut. Weapon integration is another issue where HAL is laggard, havent been able to integrate weapons onto Tejas mk1a, hence IAF isnt ready to take it up.

8 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

If true sums up IAF planning all these years.. P8Is can't outmaneuver an A2A missile.  We got lucky somehow 

Lack of AWACS is clearly an issue.  They did the same in 2020 during Indo china border flare ups.

Indian Navy now doing IAF job as well for ISR missions in contested airspace :hatsoff:

Pretty sure Pooks must have fired P15 from its extended range, hence it must have lost the momentum by the time it reached near the P8I.

While P8I cant maneuver, it can actually see an incoming missile from a much longer distance.

It must have seen it incoming on its radar and have stepped back to increase the distance, and PL15 ran out of fuel.