This can be game changing. 
Rolls Royce makes engines for Airbus and Eurofighter Typhoon, and several others. 

Providing full tech transfer too. 

If we can’t grab this opportunity then we must be really pathetic. 

1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said:

This can be game changing. 
Rolls Royce makes engines for Airbus and Eurofighter Typhoon, and several others. 

Providing full tech transfer too. 

If we can’t grab this opportunity then we must be really pathetic. 

India will reject this as it should.  Safran deal is already going ahead.  This is another attempt to sabotage.

UK ain't trustworthy. 

Besides fund our program rather.

Edited by Lone Wolf
29 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

India will reject this as it should.  Safran deal is already going ahead.  This is another attempt to sabotage.

UK ain't trustworthy. 

Besides fund our program rather.

No reason to reject bro. Why can’t we have both and not only enhance tech know how but also hedge our bets. 

UK has never failed to fulfill defense contracts and partnerships. 

During the 1971 war, when Cold War was at its peak US sent its carrier fleet to deter India, even during that time when UK was firmly in the Western camp - it kept on supplying defense equipments per contact to India during the middle of the war. 

1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said:

No reason to reject bro. Why can’t we have both and not only enhance tech know how but also hedge our bets. 

UK has never failed to fulfill defense contracts and partnerships. 

During the 1971 war, when Cold War was at its peak US sent its carrier fleet to deter India, even during that time when UK was firmly in the Western camp - it kept on supplying defense equipments per contact to India during the middle of the war. 

Marut Engine fiasco yaad hai... Furthermore UK is a direct vassal state of US.

Already $50 BILLION worth deal with French is about to be signed.  

Just like US,UK will use is at leverage against India.  Indians rejected Rolls Royce earlier for same reason and went with Safran. 

Better pump money into Kaveri project and make AMCA Mk2 with it.

Edited by Lone Wolf
12 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said:

Follow on order of 3 more Type 214 was always the plan.

Very interesting the article does say in case of delays in P75I the additional Scorpene class is not out of the equation though they will come without AIP ofcourse.

7 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Marut Engine fiasco yaad hai... Furthermore UK is a direct vassal state of US.

Already $50 BILLION worth deal with French is about to be signed.  

Just like US,UK will use is at leverage against India.  Indians rejected Rolls Royce earlier for same reason and went with Safran. 

Better pump money into Kaveri project and make AMCA Mk2 with it.

Kaunsa fiasco Yaad hai  bhai ??  You are talking as if you lived it. Haha.

What has Marut failure got to do with UK ?  Don't quote a random twitter handle without fact checking.

IAF was entirely responsible for Marut's failure. They refused to approve funding for Marut's engine  and wanted off the shelf Russian and Bharat Karnad has repeated this in several of his interviews.

What has this got to do with UK ?  

You are incorrect in judging the UK. UK maybe a "vassal" according to you. But their relationship with India is not dictated by US at all.

Not only did UK supply arms to India during the 1971 war as per contract, UK DID NOT sanction India after the 1998 nuclear tests that India did, unlike US.

So much for a " vassal state "

https://nationalinterest.org/blog/reboot/story-indias-disappointing-marut-jet-fighter-174732

By 1959 Kurt had already produced a full-scale X-241 glider mockup of the plane, and a flying prototype followed in 1961. However, his swept-wing twin-engine design counted upon an uprated Bristol BOr.12 Orpheus afterburning turbojet that could produce 8,150 pounds of thrust. Unfortunately, New Delhi was unwilling to invest 13 million pounds for Bristol to develop the engine, so the HAL team spent years fruitlessly shopping for an alternative in the Soviet Union, Europe and the United States, only for shifting political winds to nix the deal at every turn.

1 hour ago, G_B_ said:

Where does this leave the nuclear attack subs?

Two of Nuclear Attack SSNs are already under modular fabrication at the MIDHANI as far as what I know.

Shipyard in Vizag is under preparation to start the assembly once the modular units starts to deliver. We are also waiting for 190MW Nuclear Reactor by BARC.

A400M seems to be gaining a lot of attention courtesy of its massive payload (and passive price per unit).

C130J is almost out, it cant carry Zorawar.

C390 has a chance courtesy of its cost....and its engine is also most powerful of the three. Though its capacity is alsmot 10 Tonn less than A400M.

7 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

So Kilo and Shishumar class would be done by next decade almost.

Hopefully they don't delay P76 otherwise it will be as bad as IAF situation we are going through right now.

11 hours ago, IndianRenegade said:

Whats the combination..is all 9 are of Type 214 class ?

Or it's 6 Type 214 & other 3 is additional orders of Scorpene class (with AIP).

The lead submarine of Sindhughosh class has already retired in last year...so we have 5 Sindhughosh class (Kilo) & 4 Shishumar (HDW) class submarines left. We can push them till 2035 but post thay they'll start to retire.

Anyway, even if we dont hit the submarine numbers, we should be able to cover that vulnerability through increased numbers of surface warships, ASW ships & P8Is.

I asked Gemini to tell us the projects which is key for the defence forces for this year
It came up with the cost of bloody 8.62 Lakh crore.
Our defence budget for this year is 7.85 Lakh Crore..out of which 2.20 Lakh Crore is for Capital Outlay. Which means..even the below list will take between 4 years for the full payment. And we all know that Su57 and AMCA procurement will eat up more funds. Plus the Army weaponry seems incomplete.

3.65 Lakh Crore of our Defence budget will go to salaries and other maintenance
1.71 Lakh Crore to Pensions

Man we need to bump our Defence Budget to 10 Lakh Crore immediately. Not sure how we can do, expanding tax base, cutting the social welfare and other subsidies. They'll will kill the chance of winning election.

Air Force Rafale (114 MRFA) 325000 LoR issued (May 2026)
Air Force AMCA 15000 RFP issued (May 2026)
Navy Project 75(I) 95000 Negotiation stage
Navy Project 76 70000 Development phase
Navy Project 77 (SSN) 40000 Construction initiating
Navy Project 18 80000 Conceptual stage
Navy Project 17B 70000 Approved
Air Force ISTAR 10000 Moving toward induction
Air Force Netra Mk2 19000 Approved
Air Force MTA 100000 Long-term acquisition
Army Project Zorawar 17500 Advanced testing
Army Tactical Drones 20000 Mass induction
Joint DEWs (ADITYA/CHESS) 1000 R&D/Pilot deployments
On 6/6/2026 at 12:20 AM, singhvivek141 said:

I asked Gemini to tell us the projects which is key for the defence forces for this year
It came up with the cost of bloody 8.62 Lakh crore.
Our defence budget for this year is 7.85 Lakh Crore..out of which 2.20 Lakh Crore is for Capital Outlay. Which means..even the below list will take between 4 years for the full payment. And we all know that Su57 and AMCA procurement will eat up more funds. Plus the Army weaponry seems incomplete.

3.65 Lakh Crore of our Defence budget will go to salaries and other maintenance
1.71 Lakh Crore to Pensions

Man we need to bump our Defence Budget to 10 Lakh Crore immediately. Not sure how we can do, expanding tax base, cutting the social welfare and other subsidies. They'll will kill the chance of winning election.

Air Force Rafale (114 MRFA) 325000 LoR issued (May 2026)
Air Force AMCA 15000 RFP issued (May 2026)
Navy Project 75(I) 95000 Negotiation stage
Navy Project 76 70000 Development phase
Navy Project 77 (SSN) 40000 Construction initiating
Navy Project 18 80000 Conceptual stage
Navy Project 17B 70000 Approved
Air Force ISTAR 10000 Moving toward induction
Air Force Netra Mk2 19000 Approved
Air Force MTA 100000 Long-term acquisition
Army Project Zorawar 17500 Advanced testing
Army Tactical Drones 20000 Mass induction
Joint DEWs (ADITYA/CHESS) 1000 R&D/Pilot deployments

Bhai abhi tak Qrsam hasn't got CCS clearance.. sirf ba*chodi chal rahi.

Netra Mk2 ka mast delay hone wala as per reports

Israeli dalals must be identified and kicked out of MoD first

Budget won't increase by v much as we know.  Token procurement se kaam chal raha.  Mindset is Pook focused.  They are hoping and praying Xi doesn't gets adventurous atp.

2 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Bhai abhi tak Qrsam hasn't got CCS clearance.. sirf ba*chodi chal rahi.

Netra Mk2 ka mast delay hone wala as per reports

Israeli dalals must be identified and kicked out of MoD first

Budget won't increase by v much as we know.  Token procurement se kaam chal raha.  Mindset is Pook focused.  They are hoping and praying Xi doesn't gets adventurous atp.

Budget is the problem yar. and freebies isnt gonna go away how much we cry due to BLOODY FREAKING DEMOCRACY.

114 Rafales is a necessity coz the domestic production is in limbo and we vadly need the numbers...as Jaguars, Mig29UPG & Mirages will need to be retired in next 10 years. China doesn't have that restriction and hence can produce on demand. Once the number stabilises to around 40...then we can think of expanding the fleet with modernization. 

Su57 if happens will be an interim procurement...coz the focus is on AMCA. Though I really doubt the efficiency the Chinese 5th gen fighter jets, they do have a capacity to mass produce.

3 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

Su57 2 seater i think should be up anf running in the next 5 years

With AL51 engine...IAF wants that one...

Thats the one which will provide real supercruise to a loaded Su57.

2 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Budget is the problem yar. and freebies isnt gonna go away how much we cry due to BLOODY FREAKING DEMOCRACY.

114 Rafales is a necessity coz the domestic production is in limbo and we vadly need the numbers...as Jaguars, Mig29UPG & Mirages will need to be retired in next 10 years. China doesn't have that restriction and hence can produce on demand. Once the number stabilises to around 40...then we can think of expanding the fleet with modernization. 

Su57 if happens will be an interim procurement...coz the focus is on AMCA. Though I really doubt the efficiency the Chinese 5th gen fighter jets, they do have a capacity to mass produce.

AMCA mk1 could be dead if Su57 goes ahead... CAATSA threat+ GE414 toh bhul jao..

We should have designed our Aircrafts around AL31 or AL41 in the first place.  

The purpose of CAATSA act is to deter nations like India to purchase Russian Air defences and fighter jets.

Jet engines as of now flys under the threshold level to attact serious U.S scrutiny. Thats y i say that those dumb Baboos failed to redesign Tejas MK2  AMCA around AL31FP.

We will have to also see what kinda reaction it will get incase we place further orders of S400.

Or we wait for this US administration to get over.

Buying American Nuclear reactors is also an option but even then it is difficult to predict.

Edited by Lone Wolf