Lone Wolf Posted July 1 Posted July 1 (edited) 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: Brahmos has become a lead character in India's weapon export. Hogging all the limelight. Demands across geographics and more importantly from the American backyard is an encouraging sign. Already def minister mentioned that we are on track to achieve the target of 50000 crore export way before 2030, we are at 39000 crore now in 2026. https://defence.in/threads/india-sees-new-enquiries-for-brahmos-from-gulf-latin-america-and-asia-report.18141/ Need more and more exports as its a Joint venture at the end and Brahmos Aerospace would need significant funding for further R&D. Few months old video of AD explains that while ER is closer to reality, NG's development needs more funds Edited July 1 by Lone Wolf
G_B_ Posted July 1 Posted July 1 Seems we have plans for su57e with local drdo radar to allow for integration of missiles like golden horizon. singhvivek141 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 1 Posted July 1 (edited) 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: Seems we have plans for su57e with local drdo radar to allow for integration of missiles like golden horizon. Su57 will come in for sure. And its none other than US which itself will push India towards it. Maybe once the AL51 is tested, the deal will go through. CAATSA wont be invoked, Su57 will be built under licensed production. We already have ordered 12 additional airframes. Overall, the engine fiasco hasnt gone well, IAF is somehow managing the Tejas mk1a capabilities by asking double missile pillions to carry more missiles per jet. But in the long term, its gonna hurt the relations. Edited July 1 by singhvivek141 G_B_ 1
G_B_ Posted July 2 Posted July 2 14 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: Su57 will come in for sure. And its none other than US which itself will push India towards it. Maybe once the AL51 is tested, the deal will go through. CAATSA wont be invoked, Su57 will be built under licensed production. We already have ordered 12 additional airframes. Overall, the engine fiasco hasnt gone well, IAF is somehow managing the Tejas mk1a capabilities by asking double missile pillions to carry more missiles per jet. But in the long term, its gonna hurt the relations. I think the key is , is HAL capable of integrating the uttam radar on su57?
Lone Wolf Posted July 2 Posted July 2 India's first Private orbital rocket... And we finally have a launch date. Rooting badly for them. This is so huge singhvivek141, G_B_, IndianRenegade and 1 other 4
singhvivek141 Posted July 2 Posted July 2 3 hours ago, G_B_ said: I think the key is , is HAL capable of integrating the uttam radar on su57? HAL dont lack the skill, they lack the will. Coz there is no accountability. The moment we start linking pay to performance, we will see a rise in the HAL delivery speed. Problem is the HAL employees are habituated for earning lakhs by doing bare minimum. They all realize that their promotions are fixed irrespective of whether they deliver or not. Thats one flaw which is there in every govt backed industry. If Govt park 30 or 40% salaries of all exectives to the HALs delivery. The situation will improve. Even now many IAF folks have reported that HAL's delivery picks up pace in Q4 of the year...coz then they will have to show the balance sheets and other profits/delivery. G_B_ 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 2 Posted July 2 HAMMER played a key role on Op Sindoor. I just hope we dont ignore TARA for it entirely.
G_B_ Posted July 3 Posted July 3 HAL are a listed entity. Goi owns 72%. I cant help but think this needs to be diluted to 51% with management given to a private sector cos. HAL Prachand, I am interested in it purely from the engineering pov and shakti engine. If HAL cannot deliver that then basic questionmark even on Su57e delivery. DRDO can design a lot of things. Implementation is weak then no point. Lets see if this approach works. Huge commercial operations available in Helicoptor space. https://www.manufacturingtodayindia.com/hal-taps-private-vendors-to-fast-track-156-prachand-helicopters
singhvivek141 Posted July 3 Posted July 3 38 minutes ago, G_B_ said: HAL are a listed entity. Goi owns 72%. I cant help but think this needs to be diluted to 51% with management given to a private sector cos. HAL Prachand, I am interested in it purely from the engineering pov and shakti engine. If HAL cannot deliver that then basic questionmark even on Su57e delivery. DRDO can design a lot of things. Implementation is weak then no point. Lets see if this approach works. Huge commercial operations available in Helicoptor space. https://www.manufacturingtodayindia.com/hal-taps-private-vendors-to-fast-track-156-prachand-helicopters HAL needs to be broken into multiple segments and needs to be headed by ex-IAF veterans. HSL Shipyard is now headed by another ex Navy veteran. Rudra, Dhruv, Prachand all have one or the other software or structural issues, due to which time and time again the fleets are grounded. Tejas mk1 entire fleet was grounded few months back due to a critical software patch issue.
Lone Wolf Posted July 3 Posted July 3 (edited) DAC clearance granted , perhaps no Russian Verba as per ANI earlier report and we are going for VSHORADs though it is unclear and Verba is a kind of vshorad itself Now we wait for CCS approval which is rarely seen these days happening Edited July 3 by Lone Wolf
rangeelaraja Posted July 3 Author Posted July 3 8 hours ago, G_B_ said: HAL are a listed entity. Goi owns 72%. I cant help but think this needs to be diluted to 51% with management given to a private sector cos. HAL Prachand, I am interested in it purely from the engineering pov and shakti engine. If HAL cannot deliver that then basic questionmark even on Su57e delivery. DRDO can design a lot of things. Implementation is weak then no point. Lets see if this approach works. Huge commercial operations available in Helicoptor space. https://www.manufacturingtodayindia.com/hal-taps-private-vendors-to-fast-track-156-prachand-helicopters That would be a disaster as GoI babus will then sit on the Board and stall important strategic decisions. It is better to fully privatize and for GoI to completely disinvest. Like Air India. Its another matter that Tatas have done a shoddy job.
singhvivek141 Posted July 4 Posted July 4 (edited) 11 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: DAC clearance granted , perhaps no Russian Verba as per ANI earlier report and we are going for VSHORADs though it is unclear and Verba is a kind of vshorad itself Now we wait for CCS approval which is rarely seen these days happening MPATGM, MRSAM & jet based kamikaze drones are I am excited about. Kamikaze drones specifically will push Seshnag150 & Divyaastra FW-HAPS will work as a low cost AWACS, so pretty useful for our Airforce. I am interested to know more about AKASH TARANG and its capabilities, have to do some research on it. Edited July 4 by singhvivek141
singhvivek141 Posted July 4 Posted July 4 12 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: That would be a disaster as GoI babus will then sit on the Board and stall important strategic decisions. It is better to fully privatize and for GoI to completely disinvest. Like Air India. Its another matter that Tatas have done a shoddy job. Bringing HAL directly under IAF is the only way to proceed. Just like our Shipyards are under Indian Navy. GRSE, Goa Shipyard, MDL and HSL are straight under the control of IN. Cochin Shipyard, is the one which is independent and is under Ministry of Ports and Shipping.
Lone Wolf Posted July 4 Posted July 4 (edited) 6 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: MPATGM, MRSAM & jet based kamikaze drones are I am excited about. Kamikaze drones specifically will push Seshnag150 & Divyaastra FW-HAPS will work as a low cost AWACS, so pretty useful for our Airforce. I am interested to know more about AKASH TARANG and its capabilities, have to do some research on it. 3rd gen MPATGM has got DAC clearance for mere 100 launchers and 2300 missiles, that's a woefully small number bro. They are supposed to replace thousands of 2nd gen Milan and Konours missile. Requirement I think was in thousands. Btw, Milan was given ~4000 piece order in 2021 Over the lifetime ~15000 konkurs & Milan have been ordered each by Indian army FW HAPS is great news but with procurement process so slow this will be round about same time as Netra Mk2. I think instead of retiring those legacy Milan missiles we should donate them to Pashtuns and Balochis Edited July 4 by Lone Wolf singhvivek141 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 4 Posted July 4 (edited) 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: 3rd gen MPATGM has got DAC clearance for mere 100 launchers and 2300 missiles, that's a woefully small number bro. They are supposed to replace thousands of 2nd gen Milan and Konours missile. Requirement I think was in thousands. Btw, Milan was given ~4000 piece order in 2021 Over the lifetime ~15000 konkurs & Milan have been ordered each by Indian army FW HAPS is great news but with procurement process so slow this will be round about same time as Netra Mk2. I think instead of retiring those legacy Milan missiles we should donate them to Pashtuns and Balochis I think funds were limited and they wanted to use it judiciously. Also, as this is the first order of MPATGM, expect more orders to follow in future once the production and assembly line are setup. AKASH Tarang is the EW jammer to neutralize the drones and also to perform GPS spoofing. Soft kill radio wave. I really hope we are sending drones to BLA and Afghan Taliban via medical and food aid (or via a third party country). Anyway they've started doing drone strikes on pak army, Pak media is suppressing the news but the leaks are coming out regarding the drone strikes. Edited July 4 by singhvivek141 Lone Wolf 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 5 Posted July 5 After buying "kabaad" to maintain Jaguar fleet, now IAF is searching the same to maintain Mirage 2000. Soon the same hunt will begin fot Mig29UPG We have around 10 squadrons of these 3 jets, and with each passing day their maintenance is becoming a headache for spares. https://defence.in/threads/extending-iaf-mirage-2000-service-to-2039-highlights-why-india-needs-tejas-mk2-and-amca-without-delay.18195/
Lone Wolf Posted July 5 Posted July 5 Chinese/European subcomponents getting assembled in Paxtan, their own screwdrivergiri process
singhvivek141 Posted July 5 Posted July 5 Vishnu is getting hatred on X for his comments regarding the failure of Tejas mk1a, mainly coz our indigenous programs are slow and we need advanced platforms. I think truth lies somewhere in between, while Tejas mk1a isn't the cutting edge fighter jet we all dreamt off. It is still a capable 2nd or 3rd strike platform which we can use in contested battle space. It's RCS is low and under guidance of AWACS data link, it can fire the Astra mk1, Derby and other glide bombs like GAURAV, GAUTAM, SAAW, HAMMER into the enemy airspace. Key is how we use it in coordination with Rafales (both comes in with inbuilt EW suites) and coverfire Su30MKI so that it can launch long range strike weapons deep into the enemy territory. Also, the knowledge and industry setup done for Tejas mk1a and mk2, will be used for AMCA as well. Engine is a concern though and that's where I'm expecting a deal between Safran and GTRE. Once that's through, all the Tejas mk2, AMCA mk1 and TEDBF will get that engine as a mid life upgrade for F414.