12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Chinese tech.

The Chinese tanks really aren't that good. The Chinese have a definite edge in airforce thanks to decades of stealing and pilfering designs etc as well as reverse engineering. But their tanks and artillery are really shoddy. 

And the worst of the ones are those lot which they hawk to other nations 

On 9/10/2026 at 10:17 PM, singhvivek141 said:

L&T has been snubbed.

They created prototype and 59 initial orders...but remaining 295 orders are won by TASL (L1) and Mahindra (L2).

Kya hi bak*di hai ye

INS Mysore, second of Delhi Class Destroyer was commissioned in 1998.

I remember, reading about how it was the most explosive destroyer that time in the entire IOR.

We need to somehow ensure Delhi Class destroyers stay relevant till early 2040s..apart from hull aging, we should be able to replace its radar systems and other equipments. Not sure if its possible to add some anti stealth coating as the decks of Delhi Class & Rajput Class arent as clear as of Kolkata or Vishakapatnam class destroyers. 

Rajput Class should start phasing out the moment we start inducting P15C. They were inducted in 1980s.

3 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Kya hi bak*di hai ye

Waste of time hai, L&T gave their major effort.

If anything, they should have been one bidder and Tata or Mahindra should have been the second bidder.

It might be cost effective temporarily, but this will demotivate private players...that even after making prototype and doing all the research around it, mass production orders can be given to other players just coz they quote cheap order.

Submarine problem is real, while our SSN program has started, it sill requires BARC to compelte the development of 190MW Nuclear Reactor before completing anything.

Which leaves us to SSKs. After completing P75 in 2025, neither P75I nor P75A have started so far...pivoting to German company for a new submarines seems now a risky decision as the steel used in P75I is very much different from P75 used for Scorpenes...

Hope we go theough order of 3 additional scorpenes (P75A) so that we dont lose the skills by the time P75I order is actually executed.

22 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Submarine problem is real, while our SSN program has started, it sill requires BARC to compelte the development of 190MW Nuclear Reactor before completing anything.

Which leaves us to SSKs. After completing P75 in 2025, neither P75I nor P75A have started so far...pivoting to German company for a new submarines seems now a risky decision as the steel used in P75I is very much different from P75 used for Scorpenes...

Hope we go theough order of 3 additional scorpenes (P75A) so that we dont lose the skills by the time P75I order is actually executed.

Admirals have started to speak on this... The capability gaps are getting bigger with each passing year.

4 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Admirals have started to speak on this... The capability gaps are getting bigger with each passing year.

Yeah, frankly speaking...I am not worried about AIPization. Yes, AIP does give longer endurance under the sea...but Chinese AIP tech is unproven and louder acoustically, so it can be detected by our ASWs and P8Is scanning a massive area.

My main concern is lack of initiative towards fixing this under sea capability. We need more shipyards to start parallel projects, right now...MDL is the only one which has exp with Submarines...HSL is still learning its traits and SSN project is awaiting reactor from BARC. We need to have one shipyard exclusively for submarines and it should have multiple decks to run 2-3 ship buildings parallely.

I know Navy will be able to tackle submarine issue with ita shipbuilding capability. But we need to keep the order book running. Agar submarines me time lagega to build new ASW Frigates, Corvettes and Destroyers.

1 hour ago, G_B_ said:

S5 is a back box...nobody knows where we are or how much its sucking down

S5 and 190MW Nuclear Reactor...there is no news about both of them.

190MW Nuclear reactor is key for our S5 SSBN as well as SSN.

Last I heard, 2 SSBNs and 2 SSNs are under construction in a secret facility in Vizag. No news after that. Although SSBN is ahead of SSN and will be completed earlier.

15 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

under construction in a secret facility in Vizag.

It's a place called Rambilli near Anakapalle. Google also is setting up one of the 3 data centres in Vizag at that place.

On 9/13/2026 at 10:19 PM, singhvivek141 said:

Yeah, frankly speaking...I am not worried about AIPization. Yes, AIP does give longer endurance under the sea...but Chinese AIP tech is unproven and louder acoustically, so it can be detected by our ASWs and P8Is scanning a massive area.

My main concern is lack of initiative towards fixing this under sea capability. We need more shipyards to start parallel projects, right now...MDL is the only one which has exp with Submarines...HSL is still learning its traits and SSN project is awaiting reactor from BARC. We need to have one shipyard exclusively for submarines and it should have multiple decks to run 2-3 ship buildings parallely.

I know Navy will be able to tackle submarine issue with ita shipbuilding capability. But we need to keep the order book running. Agar submarines me time lagega to build new ASW Frigates, Corvettes and Destroyers.

From every admiral I have listened to one thing is common that Submarine warfare is arguably toughest.

Listening the podcast the good admiral had raised many good points.

It is a fact that its AIP is supposed to be noisy. But thats still better than surface movement. It also allows tremendous enhancement of deployment options, and that's what the Admiral means.

Offensive deployments at long ranges, including off Indian ports can be undertaken. That will be a major headache. 8 subs means 4-5, maybe even 6 would be seaworthy at any time. Thats a big factor. So many subs available for long range deployments. It is a major ASW headache. 

We didn't had any such headache during Sindoor.  Their few 

older subs were in the harbours. 

This is similar to AWAC situation and lack of electronic warfare aircrafts in air domain.

49 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

This is similar to AWAC situation and lack of electronic warfare aircrafts in air domain.

In any future war , we take care of their harbour in Karachi first to keep their navy grounded. Once there's a blockade effected , those chuths can't do anything. 

53 minutes ago, Tillu said:

It's a place called Rambilli near Anakapalle. Google also is setting up one of the 3 data centres in Vizag at that place.

Thats not the construction facility, its a hardened harbour for parking the SSBNs.

Construction facility is in Ship Building Center in Vizag. 

1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

From every admiral I have listened to one thing is common that Submarine warfare is arguably toughest.

Listening the podcast the good admiral had raised many good points.

It is a fact that its AIP is supposed to be noisy. But thats still better than surface movement. It also allows tremendous enhancement of deployment options, and that's what the Admiral means.

Offensive deployments at long ranges, including off Indian ports can be undertaken. That will be a major headache. 8 subs means 4-5, maybe even 6 would be seaworthy at any time. Thats a big factor. So many subs available for long range deployments. It is a major ASW headache. 

After listening to podcast, its clear that we need a minister who can control the bureaucracy.

Our approval process is so lethargic that it never even sees the fund allocation on time.

Navy has been receiving the step child treatment in favour of Army and to some extent AirForce..which kept on buying and importing heavy weapons and Navy was forced to look inwards for capabilities.

24-28 Submarine fleet isnt gonna cut. We need a fleet of atleast 36 SSKs, 12-14 SSNs and 8-10 SSBNs if we really want to secure our maritime borders. Its like 42 Airforce squadron numbers are inadequate now and needs 55-60 squadrons.

16 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

After listening to podcast, its clear that we need a minister who can control the bureaucracy.

Our approval process is so lethargic that it never even sees the fund allocation on time.

Navy has been receiving the step child treatment in favour of Army and to some extent AirForce..which kept on buying and importing heavy weapons and Navy was forced to look inwards for capabilities.

24-28 Submarine fleet isnt gonna cut. We need a fleet of atleast 36 SSKs, 12-14 SSNs and 8-10 SSBNs if we really want to secure our maritime borders. Its like 42 Airforce squadron numbers are inadequate now and needs 55-60 squadrons.

Full spectrum sub capability is must across IOR...  While I still believe PN is merely a nuisance our babus and ministers are interested in keeping the status quo only.

They will wake up only when a serious threat is upon them (PLAN & its full spectrum Sub fleet in IOR accompanied by CBG's). As of now they do it occasionally but in next few years they will be regulars.

We don't wake up until the danda goes deeper.